We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Whiteland, IN
Level Contributor
202 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Secluded Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Nice hotel with great pool area. There were a few problems. They did not have room that I had reserved 5 months earlier instead I received a less desirable room that happened to be handicapped. They did lower the rate by $20 but we had book this room for a week stay so needless to say we were not happy. Hotel was sold out and they seem to have difficulty handling large crowds. They would run out of towels at pool and had a hard time replacing them, put a few cookies out for guests but not near enough for a sold out hotel, one person working bar and food orders during happy hour, breakfast was very crowded and hard to move around. Hotel was quiet even though filled with kids and great walkway to the beach. All in all for the rate it was a decent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    447
    121
    54
    25
See reviews for
616
697
42
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Full disclosure: we didn't stay here. My family lives nearby and we were riding bikes around the island when my daughter became ill and needed a little food and water. We ducked into the hotel and I handed over my credit card to pay for something from the little shop at the front desk. Turns out a brand-new policy meant I couldn't use my credit card and I had no cash. After hearing our situation, Lynn and Justin at the front desk jumped to our rescue with a little trail mix and a bottle of water for my child. They continued to check on her as we sat in the lobby for about 15 minutes. I'll be honest: I was upset because my child didn't feel well and the situation was a little rough. Huge kudos from this frequent traveler and Hilton Honors member for Lynn knowing the exact right thing to do to diffuse the situation and make everything right. If they were this kind to a non-guest, think how wonderful they must be to those staying in their hotel! Given the chance, my family and I would stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My best friend and I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn on Jekyll Island for 3 nights. I had picked the hotel based on the excellent ratings on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and in one of the best locations on the island in my opinion. It was right across from the inner island bike trail which was a 10 minute ride to the historic district. A beautifully landscaped (and amazingly lit at night) boardwalk takes you through the trees to a pristine beach that had no more than 10 people on the whole stretch when we were there. The pool area was also beautiful with a full pool and hot tub as well as a fire pit, all open to 10 pm. We had brought a dog which led to the only problem we had. While I said we had a dog when we checked in, the woman at the desk forgot and put us on a floor that apparently no dogs were allowed. Later after complaints were received, we were told we needed to change rooms and they somewhat reluctantly agreed we did not have to move that night but that the dog could not be left alone for the rest of the trip. Luckily we were able to leave the dog at a friend's house in nearby Brunswick and we were able to keep our 4th floor room. So if you are bringing a dog, make sure to be very, very clear about it and be warned you will get the somewhat less private first floor and may be told you cannot leave the dog at all during your stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Its a great view and you can hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is my second stay at this top-flight Hampton property. What a treat it is to stay here, and amazingly pet-friendly too. Wonderful staff, very eager to please. Nestled just behind the dunes, a short boardwalk away from the wide-open beach. Surpasses our expectations in every respect. A definite must-stay for those visiting Jekyll overnight.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool/dunes have outdoor patios and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is amazing! The pool is WONDERFUL, with a beautiful hot tub right next to it. Breakfast is complimentary, with many good options. The beach is just a short walk away, on a oak lined board walk, where you might catch a glimpse of a small lizard! The rooms are big with a flat screen T.V, mini fridge, microwave,and easily controllable temperature. The service is great, and there are many fun things to do around the island. We booked three nights here at the Hampton Inn and Sweets, and on the last day, we decided we just couldn't leave, so we decided to stay one more night! Overall, a FANTASTIC experience :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.7 km away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
2.9 km away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
14.3 km away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price range (per night): $152 - $279
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels, Wotif.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing