We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded location, easy access to Hiawassee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henson Cove Place B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Henson Cove Place B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Hiawassee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Secluded location, easy access to Hiawassee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed in the cabin at the B&B and had a fantastic time. The cabin itself was a little tight (Queen beds only) but was removed from the main B&B so was perfectly secluded. The gas fireplace was the main source of warmth for the lower floor (3 beds total - 1 downstairs in the living room, 2 upstairs, one of which couldn't be made private) and kept the living/bedroom cozy but the bath & kitchen were a little chilly. The bathrooms were very small with a full downstairs (shower only) and half upstairs. The hammock outside was perfect - my husband & I took an afternoon nap with a blanket and it was wonderful. The owners Dave & Mariah were fabulous - very helpful regarding attractions and so very friendly. They were definitely one of the highlights of trip - funny, warm, and inviting. The happy hour on Saturday was nice - large array of wines and some homemade delicious cheese dip and fresh grapes. We had fun chatting with the other guests as well - during the happy hour & at breakfast. Breakfast was very good both days (frittata one day, baked pancake with berries the next) with a wide array of teas, coffee, and juice as well. The cabin would be great for a family with kids (the upstairs was like a 'loft') but not for multiple couples. We will probably be back with our two kids during a summer for some fun on the lake and hiking. Hiawassee itself was nice, though we were disappointed to find we couldn't have wine/beer with our dinner at the Chophouse on Sunday due to local restrictions - keep an eye on the alcohol laws up there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank januaryanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    12
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were in the mountain view room an the only down side was that our private bathroom was down the hall 20 feet. The breakfast was wonderful and the owners were welcoming and helpful. The location is out of the way, but we were able to go on a day trip to the Biltmore Estate. All in all, we loved it and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladysusan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
490 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We had a great stay at Henson Cove Place, and can't express enough quite how peaceful and relaxing this place is. We stayed in the Garden Suite, and would recommend that - it's comfortable, well-equipped and the B&B is well cared for and clean.

Mariah and Dave are wonderful hosts, and the food was really great - fresh home-cooked breakfasts, and they went out of their way to accommodate a food allergy, and we just had to ask for the recipe to try and recreate at home! Much fun to be had at happy hour with wine, cheese and fruit nibbles - and, if you're lucky, you might get to meet Dave's mother Angie. What a wonderful woman, great company and a wealth of interesting knowledge and experience.

We were lucky that the other guests were a lot of fun too, and just like us - there for some peace and quiet, and to enjoy the area. There was no enforced social event (luckily, since we generally dislike that) but the other guests were such great people to meet at breakfast time that we really enjoyed meeting them.

We can't wait to go back. The local area is friendly and full of great hikes, a beautiful lake and some wonderful areas to get to know.

Room Tip: Garden Suite overlooks the garden - Mountain Suite overlooks the mountain. Sounds obvious but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. We were in Rainey's room which gave us plenty of privacy. Dave and Mariah, the owners were friendly and outgoing. They made us feel welcome. The home was built in the 1940's and is filled with pine paneling and pine furniture. I loved all the wood. Look for the stain glass and hand painted details throughout the house. There is also a cabin available for rent.

Lovely mountain views from the front porch rockers or swing. You may see horses amble by in the pasture across the street. Sit out at night and listen to the crickets and watch the lightening bugs and simply enjoy the peace and quite.

The breakfasts were delicious. Vegetable frittatas, French omelets, peach and blueberry French toast, fresh fruit, fruit butters, orange juice and chocolate velvet coffee. What a great way to start the day.

The Saturday evening wine and appetizers were wonderful: assorted cheeses, fruits, hummus, crackers, summer sausage, homemade cookies and more.

The black and white cats were a joy. Look at faces closely. They have white whiskers on one side and black on the other.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms and a cabin. We liked Rainey's room the best for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our first experience at a B&B and it felt like going to visit a long lost friend. The food was wonderful. The best was so comfortable the first day we didn't want to leave it. The view was spectacular what a great mountain view! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloJoe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
8.1 km away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
12.6 km away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
25.8 km away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 20 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
26.1 km away
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
13.9 km away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henson Cove Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henson Cove Place B&B

Property: Henson Cove Place B&B
Address: 1137 Car Miles Rd., Hiawassee, GA 30546
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hiawassee
Price range (per night): $218 - $262
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Henson Cove Place B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B is a circa 1940s mountain farmhouse style home. The inn is reminiscent of more laid back days, featuring stunning pasture and mountain views, porch swings and rockers. All 4 guest rooms have private baths. One bedrooms are suites. The Cove Cabin comfortably sleeps up to 6 and has 3 bedrooms, 1 & 1/2 baths and is child and small pet friendly. Located just 1/2 mile off US 76 and five minutes from downtown Hiawassee, GA, Henson Cove Place is a retreat set in a private and quiet "holler". Hiawassee is a North Georgia Mountain community that still has that small town feel. Located just minutes from Helen and Clayton, GA, NC, SC, TN and just 15 minutes from Georgia's highest point - Brasstown Bald (4,784 feet). Nature abounds! Convenient to many great attractions with a variety of things to do... or nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Henson Cove Place B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing