We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Reasonable tasty fare!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jimmy's Chicago Style Hot Dogs

Jimmy's Chicago Style Hot Dogs
Ranked #46 of 71 Restaurants in Helen
Cuisines: American, Fast food
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Reasonable tasty fare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

After spending many $$ in and around in tourist trap restaurants we fell into this place for quick bite of lunch. Well I be I do not care much for hotdogs but my husband is sucker for Chicago Dog. Well he was not disappointed and I was pleasently surprised. Really good hot dogs. One of the only times I did not fell "ripped off" on meal we had.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Corvette87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helen
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chicago Italian Beef in the south!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Real Vienna beef hot dogs. Family friendly.2 people can lunch for under $10.00

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakemont, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thought I was in the Windy City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

MY wife got hooked on Chicago dogs while living in Chicago. Since moving down to Georgia 13 years ago she has not had a anything close to a true Chicago dog. While tubing in Helen we same the sign, so we figured, why not.

Well, she was OH so happy we did go. Not only do they have true Chicago dogs, they also have true Chicago style beef sandwiches.

When we are back in Helen, we will go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JimA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD HOTDOGS. Reasonably priced for Helen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Found this place driving around after arriving in town looking for someplace not packed to eat Friday July 1st.
Glad we found it, hotdogs were very good, extremely reasonably priced, and my wife was able to do her facebook from her smart phone with their free Wifi.
Hope they are still there next time we visit Helen, because we definately will be back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank transitmechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Chicago dogs in the South”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

All I can say is WOW, this place is new to Helen, it's a bit at the edge of town but makes up fr it by serving a very tasty Hot Dog with genuine Chicago accompaniments, we had a great meal for 4 at a very reasonable price. Jimmy and the staff are so friendly and welcoming and kept us entertained. GOOD JOB JIMMY !

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank brianc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy's Chicago Style Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Chicago Style Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing