We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice home in small town Belgium”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of De Rode Beuk

the entire house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the entire house
the holiday house living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
the entire house
the holiday house
living room
congo room
bathroom congoroom
brazilroom
shared bathroom (asia and brazilroom)
terrace
garden in Summer
garden in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Haaltert, East Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Kathy K
Outlook, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice home in small town Belgium”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We traveled to Belgium with two of our children (a teenager and a young adult) for a family vacation during March 2016. Haaltert is a very nice small town in Belguim, close to Aalst, between Ghent & Brussels. It is convenient for visiting many places including WW1 sites, the seaside, historic Abbeys & castles, a marvelous car museum and a botanical garden to name a few. The house is comfortable with 3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, dining room and spacious living room. Roos is very helpful, even checking that we were feeling safe and comfortable after the terrorist bombing at the Brussels airport, which we appreciated. Despite the terrorist activity and heightened security concerns while we were in the country, we had a good vacation and were able to reach home with a minimum of disruption. Our thoughts and prayers are with the Belgium people in this difficult time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thanks for the nice review and sympathize with the Belgian people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Met our expectations and exceeded many
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thanks for the nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lawrence...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommadation and location for exploring Belgium”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The facilities in the house were excellent and all to a very high standard, the owners were very welcoming and friendly. It was great to see fresh flowers and chocolates on the table after a long journey. The kids loved the free WIFI, so did we as it helped to plan day trips etc. The gardens of the property offered a relaxing location in the evenings, and we saw our first Green Woodpecker on the lawn. We found the property and idea location to explore Belgium with easy access to Bruges, Gent and Brussels by nearby train stations. Also great food restaurants and takeaway's are all within easy walking distance. Would love to visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, stylish and comfortable accommodation
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
db059070
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location,good host”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

just returned from a weeks stay here. where to start? traveled with my son and family (six + baby unplanned) Roos found and supplied a cot, beer and home made cake on arrival.
5 mins to super market chip shop across road 15 mins to railway station. Eating out great choice on your door step use of a large garden, if i was to nit pick only con steep stairs for kids. but honestly this is the best park your car and use the train can't praise this place enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: every thing
Liked least: stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WooWoolWo...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and restful break away in Belgium”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely break in Roos house. It was absolutely beautiful town house. My family and I stayed a week and went on a mix of sight seeing, battlefield & WW1 commemoration and shopping. Haaltert is a lovely town with easy access to Ghent, Brussels, Brugge via car or rail. The house was peaceful, our host was very friendly. The Easter eggs and beer were a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house character
Liked least: stairs were steep for younger kids I guess - but bring a stairgate and no issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing