We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, but occasional uncomfortable situations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cavender Creek Cabins Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great property, but occasional uncomfortable situations”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at The Gilmore Estate for my husband's 40th birthday. The waterfalls beyond the house are gorgeous and secluded and we had a good weekend. However, the management's behavior was odd and I would not necessarily come again. While I was treated fine, my in-laws were treated rudely and it was a bit embarrassing. I asked by email if they could come early to surprise my husband and decorate the cabin and he said that was fine. However, when they did not return the key immediately (which neither they nor I were told to do) the owner called and lectured them that they were lucky that he was so "tactful" as the owner of the house would not have been and he would have to charge them if there were any damages to the house. It was very strange. When I came to pick up our key, he said that they didn't like loud parties on their property. I explained that my in-laws were (obviously) in their sixties, that my father-in-law was a priest and that we did not plan on doing any heavy partying. I also reminded him that we had emailed and he knew they were planning on coming to the house.

While my parents- in-law were there, they aired out the place and sprayed to get the musty smell out. The hot tub was not heated well enough to use it until the next morning. Although the house itself was large and luxurious, they did not prepare well for incoming guests. It is a large house, but the mattress in the guest room was of poor quality and there were certain amenities that were missing, such as extra blankets, a proper broom and decent vacuum cleaner to clean, and enough bowls and serving utensils. The chocolates were a lovely touch. It was also odd to have the owner within site of the house in what looked like a trailer, especially considering management's comments that he wasn't very friendly. Not too private! There were also no instructions at the house on what they expected done when you left.

Other things were odd, too. The first time I called, I was given the wrong price, double what the internet price was, by someone who was not the owner. The second time I called, I literally had to repeat my name six names and the woman on the phone did not seem aware of what email was. I do not have an accent and spoke very clearly. When my in-laws called, a woman said that she did not have us on the reservation list, which threw us in a panic. The owner was also very unclear about whether the lodge was free for paying guests or not. He said it was a grey area and if you were not a guest, you would have to pay. Of course, we were paying guests so I didn't understand the statement. I was also told they don't give email confirmations. Finally, my initial inquiry explained that we would be having multiple famiies stay at Cavender Creek as part of the birthday celebration and asked whether he could possibly give any group discount. He emailed back, "What do you mean?" It was odd and not very diplomatic. Group discounts are not unheard of when you're bringing in a lot of business, but he acted as if he'd never heard of such a thing. Also, be aware that, although we weren't told this, you can be charged a good deal of money (I can't recall whether it was 15 or 20) if you return your key past check- in time.

All in all, I might come back and stay one weekend but be aware that the the behavior of the owners can be odd, untactful and basically unprofessional. We had a great time because we rose above these things. I apologized to all the people who stayed with us who had uncomfortable dealings with the management. The cabins themselves are adorable and I don't think the owner meant any harm, he could just do with a few lessons in his dealings with guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GeorgiaJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
88
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A small group of friends and I stayed here this weekend in cabin 10. The cabin offers everything you need, but do not be expecting tons of space or five star accommodations. The cabin was very clean and well stocked with kitchen supplies. Also, the hot tub was very nice and overlooked the fishing pond. On Saturday night we walked down to the creek behind the pond and built a really nice bond fire. The property is very relaxing and quite. Be sure to bring a fishing pole and hiking boots for the beautiful trail

Pros:
- location
- price
- clean
- quiet
- beautiful grounds
- full kitchen
- hot tub
- game room

Cons:
- the use of heavy fabric softener on all sheets, towels, etc.- two people in my group are very sensitive to these things. If you are sensitive, I would suggest you bring your own linens and towels.
- the decor and some things could use a little updating. (for our taste)

Overall, I think it is a good place to stay and a family would have a great time here.

Room Tip: Be sure to go for a unit with a hot tub. Also, I would recommend renting a cabin larger than you act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were only able to stay 1 night. Had great time, cant wait to go back and stay a few days

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry and Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I visited Cavender Creek in late summer. The weather had been extremely hot and miserable and we thought a trip to the mountains would be much better than a trip to the beach. We were correct. The cool breezes and cool evenings were a welcomed relief. We could have not found a better place to relax. The owners were very helpful in reccomending near by places of interest, such as the gold mines. They also told us about several good food establishmemts. Cavender Creek is nestled in the north Ga. Mountains, however it is only 4 miles away from town. The cabins were comfortable and clean with all the amenities anyone would need. Can not wait to return and enjoy again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyfye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Cavender Creek Cabins is one of the best places we have ever had the pleasure to stay. The cabin was neat and clean, the bed was comfortable and offered all the amenities of home - with none of the stress! Check out their nature trail, too!

After a day of hiking on the Appalachian Trail we soaked in the hot tub on the back porch while waiting for our steaks (and freshly picked Georgia corn from the Dahlonega Farmer's Market) to finish cooking. Sheer heaven!

In the morning we awoke, took our cups of coffee out to the porch and watched turkey and deer make their way through the woods and along the bank of the softly running creek that winds its way along the lower portion of the cabins.

Cavender Creek Cabins is centrally located to just about everything including downtown Dahlonega, several Appalachian hiking trails, a grocery store and the nearby town of Dawsonville boasts a great outlet mall for those who love to shop!

Do yourself a favor and stay here. I cannot express enough how wonderful this place is.
We cannot wait to return next year. We'll be counting the days!!

Room Tip: The cabins each have their own unique properties. Call Paul (the innkeeper) and he can point you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
23.4 km away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
5.3 km away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
464 reviews
29.2 km away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
155 reviews
5.7 km away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
156 reviews
24.4 km away
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavender Creek Cabins Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavender Creek Cabins Resort

Property: Cavender Creek Cabins Resort
Address: 200 Beaver Dam Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Dahlonega
Price range (per night): $132 - $265
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavender Creek's quality cabins are set in the breathtaking natural beauty of the North Georgia Mountains and blend a rustic setting with luxurious accommodations to create a variety of unique atmospheres that will please even the most demanding guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cavender Creek Cabins Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing