We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Benning ”

National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Infantry Museum emphasizes the values that define the Infantryman, as well as the nation he protects: Loyalty, Duty, Respect, Selfless Service, Honor, Integrity, and Personal Courage. It preserves and displays one of the greatest collections of military artifacts in the world, but it is a museum of people, not things. As a visitor, you will meet the Infantryman face to face and join him on his journey. You will come to understand why an Infantryman does what he does, why he puts himself in harm’s way in defense of an idea and you will leave transformed, just as the Infantry transforms the man into the Soldier. The 190,000-square-foot museum opened in June 2009 on a 200-acre tract of hardwoods and pines just outside the gates of the Fort Benning Maneuver Center of Excellence.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place. I wish I had more time to experience the museum. Went after my son’s graduation ceremony. Two floors, imax, gift shop, concession and many great exhibits. Excellent place to learn about our country and the men and women that defend it.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank phillipm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"imax theater"
in 69 reviews
"fort benning"
in 160 reviews
"men and women"
in 48 reviews
"basic training"
in 60 reviews
"national infantry museum"
in 126 reviews
"fife and drum"
in 28 reviews
"an american"
in 27 reviews
"graduation ceremony"
in 25 reviews
"medal of honor"
in 23 reviews
"suggested donation"
in 41 reviews
"united states"
in 40 reviews
"several hours"
in 23 reviews
"snack bar"
in 21 reviews
"gift shop"
in 70 reviews
"my son"
in 85 reviews
"great displays"
in 21 reviews
"history buff"
in 42 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

This museum is quite amazing. It is divided into sections of our military history. It has two floors. It’s not on post so it’s open to public they ask for a donation.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank mrj853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

What a well thought out museum. The flow for visitors is excellent from the entrance up, and then the lower level exhibits are quite extensive. So glad we were able to visit. We will have to return again to see the sections we missed due tired .

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank momof2greatcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This has to be one of the finest museums dedicated to the military. We were totally impressed with the whole museum and the way it is laid out and presented to the public. We are a military family and were very proud to have visited here. It is a highly recommended way to spend some time learning about the infantry.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank harryh409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

I was completely blown away by the scale and attention to detail at this museum. We spent about 2.5 hours there and could easily have spent at least that much more time there. Definitely worth the time.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank O4085PNmattl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center also viewed

 

Been to National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing