We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A two night stay with half board”

La Capannina di Cassettari Maria Gemma
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Roggio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The only place to stay in the small village of Roggio in the Garfagnana north of Lucca (one of my ancestral villages). The new lodging and restaurant can serve many people. Gemma is a great cook and I've appreciate her sharing of some recipes. A large covered area for outside dining as well as inside dining.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Today we (three couples) had a really fantastic lunch. The freshly made pasta was excellent and the meat dish delicious. Together with the good wine and excellent service this was a memorable lunch for us for a very good price. Thanks.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank beng591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

My parents came from this small village of Roggio so we try to go back every now and then to visit old friends and relations. Our family of 12 had a fabulous lunch here on 24th August 2017, the village's patron saints day, along with many other villagers and friends getting together. The staff were attentive and nothing was too much for them. Gemma and Andrea, her son work very hard to make everyone leave happy and the food is so good and well priced.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank eve1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Went to Roggio for brothers wedding to a lady who come from Roggio, we had the pleasure of staying here and also eating here , the service and welcome our party receivers was second to none. Especially as on Friday our party was 76 persons , Gemma and her team produce some mouthwatering food and plenty of it. Would highly recommend staying her. Rooms are basic but totally functional .

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

This place is lovely. We arrived on a very busy evening but they managed to fit us onto a table outside. They were very helpful and the owner was charming.
The food was delicious - I would highly recommend getting the starter and the sausage and leak pasta as they were both delicious. There is no menu and it changes every night which gives a very authentic feel. The choice of different Italian wines was excellent and we had a particularly good red called 'Cum Laude' ( highly recommended).
The place itself is not too difficult to find as it's in the centre of town - about a 10 minute drive from Vagli Sotto where we were staying. Parking is also very simple. It is probably a good idea to bring a jacket as it can get a little cold in the evening.
We were expecting to pay €100 for a few bottles of wine and a three course meal but were pleasantly surprised by the bill we got in the end.
Overall was a lovely place with great staff and a lovely atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2017
2  Thank McleodGanjconnoiseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Capannina di Cassettari Maria Gemma also viewed

Camporgiano, Province of Lucca
Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
 
Fivizzano, Province of Massa Carrara
Careggine, Province of Lucca
 
Careggine, Province of Lucca
Pieve Fosciana, Province of Lucca
 

Been to La Capannina di Cassettari Maria Gemma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing