We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FANTASTIC !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Moon Antigua

Upper villa deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper villa deck
Galleon Beach upper villa dining and living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Upper villa deck
Galleon Beach
upper villa dining and living room
kitchen/living room
upper villa kitchen
outdoor garden shower
lower villa bathroom
upper villa living room
walk to beach
sunset from villas
Galleon Beach (villas on left) from Middle Ground
Jacuzzi
morning rainbow from villa deck
steps to villas
Jacuzzi and BBQ area between villas
lower villa bedroom
Galleon Beach dock
hike to Shirley's Heights from villa
view from Shirley's Heights with Galleon Beach and villas
classic yacht racing from villa deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint Paul Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
justwanna...
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC !”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We don't usually do sun & beach vacations, but after staying at "Blue Moon Antigua", we may make it an annual event. We were looking for something a bit different from a resort holiday, and certainly found it by staying at Shonnie & Mike's rental villa.
We took advantage of Shonnie's airport pick-up, as well as having her arrange the car rental, both of which I would recommend. It just made arriving & leaving the island care-free & relaxing.
The villa (we stayed in the upper villa) was fantastic! It was clean and spacious, both inside & out, with all the amenities you would want. At the risk of sounding like "Goldilocks & the 3 Bears", the bed was very comfortable....not too firm, not too soft, but just right! The private outdoor shower was great, and the huge deck made it hard to leave each day.
The view from the villa was amazing...a very tranquil caribbean harbour scene, with Montserrat on the horizon.
The beach was a short walk downhill...uphill upon return, but that only meant you could indulge in one more blended fruit drink, guilt-free! The water was calm throughout our stay...perfect for swimming/snorkelling (although Antigua is better known for it's offshore snorkelling, you can swim with turtles from this beach).
A car will definitely add to your experience, especially if you like to explore the island, as we do, but the area around BLUE MOON ANTIGUA (English Harbour, Falmouth Harbour) is accessible via water & land taxi, and offers an amazing choice of great restaurants.
I think equally important, is Shonnie & Mike's invaluable information & recommendations regarding where to eat & things to do while in Antigua. For us, this gave us the amazing island experience we were looking for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcc2013_1...
Keene Valley, New York
1 review
“Hard to come home”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We just got back to the Adirondacks from a week at Blue Moon to celebrate my 60th birthday. What a wonderful trip. Whenever I go some place new it usually takes me a day or two to adjust. Not at Blue Moon. We settled in so fast it was scary. Shonnie and Mike, as everyone has previously said, make the experience. From taking us up to Shirley’s for the sunset and bottle of Prosecco on my birthday to Shonnie coming to save us from a long day of hiking, just at the right time. It was hard to leave.
Our routine started every morning with a swim amid the boats and turtles. Then it usually went to a hike or snorkeling right out the front door (snorkels provided by Mike). We never rented a car and really never needed one. Sometimes after a hike we would catch a boat to Nelson’s Dockyard and eat lunch at the Hot Hot Spot and watch the boats being repaired. Other times we would swim and catch a quick bite at Pigeon Beach, or take a picnic to Rendezvous Beach and climb Signal Hill to be greeted by goats at the top. We met so many interesting and fun people of all ages and nationalities just around English and Falmouth Harbours, many of them either working on the boats or going to college in Antigua. The restaurants are excellent. The owners, who know Shonnie and Mike well, made you feel right at home. The villas are the best part. For people who like to be active, we relished just sitting watching the activity below us (boats) or the ever changing volcano on Montserrat, which seemed to be quite active while we were there. It is a very peaceful spot. The villas are everything you could want and more. They are beautifully built and exquisitely furnished.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful place, exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We've just returned from almost a week in the lower villa. It exceeded all of our expectations. Immaculately clean and airy, it had everything we needed, in the kitchen area (including an ice-maker), in the living area with comfortable chairs and space for a PC (and WiFi), in the bedroom with a bed protected by mosquito netting, and in the bath, especially the outdoor shower. We had breakfast each day on the veranda overlooking the harbor, marveling at the view. The villa was open with large screens in the front and on the sides so that it stayed comfortably cool during the day. Shonnie could not have been more helpful, and we greatly enjoyed the good company of her friendly (and polite) dog Chloe. Situated above the Galleon Beach resort villas, we had privacy and a superior view, but we were still close enough to the beach to walk there in less than five minutes. Although the walk in the other direction, up from the beach, requires more energy, it provides an excellent way to get exercise. Shonnie provided food and beverages in the refrigerator to get us started; we had a rented car and bought additional supplies as needed from a grocery store (Bailey's) about 15 minutes distant. We look forward to our next stay there, and to seeing Shonnie, Michael, and Chloe again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O
Chattaroy, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We had a wonderful couple of days staying here. It was nice to have our own private accomodations, but the owners made us feel like we were family, even having us for Thanksgiving dinner! We feel like we made lifelong friends.
They had plenty of gear to borrow (snorkles, flippers, dvd's etc.) and many great ideas about what to see and do on the island.
Would love to go back someday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry B
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“like living in a beer commercial”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The views and setting were so perfect that it seemed like it had been staged. This is the archetype of a Caribbean sojourn. Shonnie and Michael are connected and know the ins and outs of the island. Follow their lead or explore on your own. Did I mention fly fishing for giant tarpon or sporting clays shooting? Both available and the guides supply all essentials. If you have never had a 40lb tarpon on the end of a 9 wt. fly rod, you haven't been fishing. The only down side is that we had to come home. Loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing