We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
417
234
121
63
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
234
121
63
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis programgolf coursetennis camphoward mooregreat tennistennis courtsfull kitchensports barbedroom suitetennis experiencearnold palmerbeautiful groundsbit datedvideo analysislarge poolwait staffgolf weekend
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Spent one nite at Saddlebrook in a hotel room in Cluster 2. The buildings are from the late 70s/early 80s. From the carpet in my room (and what I heard from others in our group as well) the carpets are all quite worn so be aware and furnishings a bit tired.. Bath was ok, nice shower, bedding was good, TV is OK. Only odd thing is that if you are on first floor you hear EVERY creak in the floor as someone walks upstairs. Ate at Dempseys, food was very good. All parking is Valet for the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobSaddlebrook, Manager at Saddlebrook Resort Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello WorldTravelRod, thank you for your review. You are correct, the buildings were originally built in the 80's, although the interiors have been refurbished since then. They were done in a classic Florida feel. But we are in the process of renovating them again now. Both the interior and exterior. The new look keeps some of the Florida vibe but with a much more contemporary look. We hope you will come back and see the new result!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Went with a group of women to play tennis. Enjoyed our long weekend very much and would highly recommend. We shared a 2-bedroom condo. Here is a quick recap on what's available and some tips :

In the room : fully equipped kitchen, hair dryers and toiletries (shampoo, lotion, body wash), Keurig coffee machine with coffee and tea pods, towels

Food: sports bar, pool bar and a more upscale restaurant open most of the time; food was pretty good; there is a Publix 5 minutes down the street

Tennis: got 3 hours in the morning 8am-11am, and 2 hours in the afternoon 1pm-3pm. Got rained out one afternoon but asked for a 1/2 hour make up the following day. However, you may want to check, they should give credit or refund if you miss too much.

Great instruction all 3 days with Coach Will - very useful tips and he make it really fun!

TIP:
* bring additional Keurig pods if you like certain kind of coffee
* get drinks and snacks at a grocery store, resort is pretty expensive
* book room on the 2nd floor; 1st floor gets all the noise from the top (there are only 2 floors)
* for tennis ask to be in cluster 1 or 3 within walking distance of the courts
* no need to bring towel or water, they provide both on the courts
* renting a car from the airport (Tampa or St Pete) is more economical even if you don't plan to go anywhere... resort charges $15 parking fee

Room Tip: 2nd floor is more quiet; for tennis cluster 1 or 3
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank OlgasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobSaddlebrook, Manager at Saddlebrook Resort Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello OlgasTravels,

Thank you for that review and your tips! Those are all great suggestions for groups coming to play tennis like yourself. May I also add, don't forget your sunscreen! We're very glad you enjoyed the tennis and hope you and your group will come back and work on your game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Saddlebrook gets a solid B. Not great, not awful. Tennis was good ... accommodations ok...on site restaurants ... boring. The grounds ... if you like palm trees... are lovely. What else is there to say? While I was there very quiet, few guests,

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Susanagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobSaddlebrook, Manager at Saddlebrook Resort Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello Susanagogo, thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed the tennis. We hope you'll come back and play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

I host an annual meeting at Saddlebrook every year and each year our guests are excited to come again. The food is great, the staff is SO friendly and you can tell its a family operated property from the attention to detail that you receive from everyone working on property. We host an evening event on the fairway and poolside and the attendees just love it. Alexis Dempsey is by far the best CSM I have ever worked with. The only downside to the property are the guest rooms as they could really use an upgrade. The meeting space has been completely redone and is modern and clean.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closest to the pool and clubhouse.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paigestoveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobSaddlebrook, Manager at Saddlebrook Resort Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello Paigestoveld,

Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear how much you like coming back to our property. Also, thank you for pointing out the family aspect of the resort. We believe its what truly sets us apart from big chains. Seeing the value in that really means a lot to us. Alexis is great! She is a super hard worker and we are lucky to have her. We are also glad you like the new meeting space. We are designing the rooms in the same style. Hopefully they will be finished in time for your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

"My wife and I showed up for 4 nights and 3 days - including 3 days of adult tennis camp. First time visit. Could not have been happier with the tennis and the instruction. Larger numbers of players each day. We had the same instructor (Will Rhame) for 5 of the six "sessions". We were both very happy with him and he added much to our games(me a 3.5, wife a 4.0). In fact for the first 3 sessions, it was just the 2 of us on a single court with Will. He kept his suggestions simple and did not try to make major changes. "Racquet back, watch the ball". Simple, but easily forgotten. On our last day, we had one player on our court who was not at the same level as other 3, which made it awkard, but was not horrible. The morning stretch with Larry is awesome an something that many adults ignore. Mostly, this was FUN. The entire staff was terrific. A much better experience than some resorts offer with a menu of clinics to sign up for. The tennis was everything we had hoped for and we will return. Howard Moore (the director) even bought us all drinks at the pool one afternoon!! We also were offered a (free) individual video analysis. As for the resort, it is a little tired and in serious need of a face lift. But the room was comfortable, the pool inviting, and the food adequate. Also, there are plenty of options off site for food and night life if one is interested. The poolside bartender was overwhelmed and a second person would be a huge upgrade. We ate breakfast and lunch in our room which saved time, energy, and $. A welcome break in the middle of 5 hours of tennis daily. It is too easy to dwell on the negatives, but our trip was fun, relaxing, and added to our tennis games and enjoyment. If one wants to ensure equal caliber of players for your level, bring a group for even more fun."—J.B., Int., May 2018

Room Tip: If there for tennis, request room near courts.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobSaddlebrook, Manager at Saddlebrook Resort Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Hello John B, thank you for such a kind review. We're thrilled you and your wife enjoyed the program so much. Our pros try everyday to make the lessons insightful and demanding, while at the same time remembering, tennis is about having fun! Howard has built a great team over the last 30 years and we believe our pros do just that. Though, is always great to hear feedback that our approach is being executed. We're glad that you will be back and we're looking forward to improving your game further!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews