We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older But in Great Shape”
Review of Sunshine Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Motel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We stayed here because of location, price, and reviews and we weren't disappointed. I do like motels over hotels but it's hard to find one in good shape. Well i can tell you this was in great shape! The couple that own's and runs it were very nice, polite and accommodating. They were both out everyday working hard and it shows. The place is an older block building but very clean in and out. It was all painted up nice, the parking lot was freshly sealed, and a nice outdoor pool. We were down for a wedding and took up four rooms, we all had a great time and loved the motel. Not sure if we'll get to this area again but would definately stay here again if we did.

Room Tip: There's a smoking area at each end of the motel so for smoker that might be good and if not you...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANDRAKANT P, Manager at Sunshine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you for choosing Sunshine Motel as your destination. We are always happy to receive comments from our guests following their recent stay. It is always a true pleasure to know our guests had a memorable experience with us. Our location along with our amenities and attentive staff make our property so unique and we are glad you thought so too! If your travel plans bring you back to Venice, FL we look forward to welcoming you again at Sunshine Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

We stayed here after reading good reviews online, as we like to stay at local businesses. The owners were so nice, the rooms VERY clean (seriously the cleanest room I've ever stayed in), and it was a delight to have a kettle, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. Just a few minutes from the beaches. Will stay here again if we return to the area and recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANDRAKANT P, Manager at Sunshine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are always happy to hear our guests enjoyed our Motel. Our location along with our amenities and friendly staff make our hotel very special. On your next visit to Venice, FL we look forward to welcoming you again at Sunshine Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

The young couple that run this Motel are a breath of fresh air in customer service and sincerity. In a business world where everyone has become just another number that is not true at this place and you will feel it. We stayed here because of the reviews and I'm glad we did.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank walstib777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANDRAKANT P, Manager at Sunshine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you so much for selecting Sunshine Motel for your visit to Venice, FL! and Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed our Motel with clean and fresh rooms. All of us are very grateful for your kind words that “breath of fresh air in customer service and sincerity”, and Thank you for your kind comments , We appreciate your stay with us and If your travel plans bring you back to Venice hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again at Sunshine Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We wanted to check out a different beach and decided on Venice. Found the Sunshine Motel via TripAdvisor and read reviews. We made our decision because of the good reviews and wanted to pay it forward. Excellent, very clean and you can tell the owners take pride in their motel. It wasn't on the beach, but was very close. After the beach we came back and enjoyed the pool. The price was very affordable. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWENDOLYNH723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANDRAKANT P, Manager at Sunshine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and All of us thank you for selecting The Sunshine Motel while visiting Venice. Out team at The Sunshine Motel is very pleased you had such a wonderful time with us, and enjoyed all our town has to offer. . We appreciate your stay with us and If your travel plans bring you back to Venice We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

The price of the room was a great value. It's an older motel that has been overhauled and is meticulously maintained. The room was clean as a whistle and you can tell the owners take pride in the grounds of the property, too. Owners were very welcoming and offered that we should let them know if we needed anything. We were able to walk across the street to dine at a well-known chain restaurant.

We were in town for just one night to attend a bicycling event. The motel is only about two miles from the starting point for our event. The location may not suit everyone, as it is on a busy road. The grounds are entirely fenced in, which helps with sound and view. Our room had a view of the pool, which was nice. I think all rooms face the pool. The pool is heat d, as advertised, and is very clean. Pool area is tidy and the furniture in great condition.

We love having a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in our room. We chose a room with two queen beds because we like to spread things out on the second bed. With table and chairs, fridge, TV stand, etc, the room did feel a bit cramped. Had we chosen one king bed, it might've felt more spacious. I would rather have all those things in my room, though, than sacrifice any of them for a little more open space.

We would definitely stay at the Sunshine Motel again. In fact I already have another reservation!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANDRAKANT P, Manager at Sunshine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at The Sunshine Motel. We are glad you enjoyed our "Motel. Thank you for your great review and for the kind comments of our property and staff providing you with a “great customer service”. It will be our pleasure welcome you back anytime you are ready for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
2.3 km away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
156 reviews
3.6 km away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
4.3 km away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
5.6 km away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
5.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Motel

Address: 1602 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34293-1633 (Formerly Oza Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $72 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSHINE MOTEL is newly renovated motel featuring European style decor with immaculate, quiet guestrooms and suites. Enjoy our heated pool, WI-FI, HD/TV and gazebo areas. SUNSHINE MOTEL is proud to serve our customers across all cultures. We pledge to serve our customers with respect, honesty and our main purpose is to create a warm and relaxing atmosphere where you will relax and enjoy your stay. SUNSHINE MOTEL is located just 7 minute's drive from popular Venice beaches Caspersen beach the longest beach in Sarasota County. Venice Municipal beach is excellent place to find sharks teeth and other fossilized material and attracts divers to its coral reef about one quarter mile offshore. Sharky's On the Pier Restaurant is a Venice landmark located just 5 minute's drive from SUNSHINE MOTEL. Warm Springs in North Port are located just 15 minute's drive from SUNSHINE MOTEL. SUNSHINE MOTEL IS PET AND SMOKE FREE ENTITY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sunshine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing