We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best restaurant in PMB”

Taste of Thai Restaurant and Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Hilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Great food, service and ambience. No corkage fee is also a huge drawcard!! I would wholeheartedly recommend the Crispy Chicken with noodles. No better value in the country :)

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Warwick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreggCornell, Guest Relations Manager at Taste of Thai Restaurant and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi Warwick
Thank you for your awesome review, we are thrilled you experienced all Witts hard work and passion, we are delighted to tell you that We have just receive our 2nd American Express Dining Award, for 2018/2019.
In this Recession, I'm delighted that our No licence policy and no corkage has paid off.
We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2018

We have enjoyed our dinners there many times. Their food is delicious but slightly more expensive than other restaurants in the area. The do not serve alcohol but you can carry your own and enjoy it with your meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MschanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreggCornell, Guest Relations Manager at Taste of Thai Restaurant and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi Mschana
Thank you for your kind review.
Our prices are in fact far too cheap for what you get, and please remember the following points of Taste of Thai:
1; We use all spices, mixes, rice, noodles that are fully imported, and only available 200+Km away. As the rand weakens so the imported food increases.
2.Thai Staff cost more due to poor Rand/Baht and are given all meals, accommodation and transport.
3. We don't serve alcohol for a reason, we loose most income by not selling booze, but this saves you over 50% of your normal bill, and by bringing from home, and no corkage fee your bill will be more than halved especially with larger parties!
4. Taste of Thai has just Won the American Express Dining awards 2 years in a Row, There are Less than 100 who are good enough for this award of over 10 000 restaurants in SA!!

I hope this clarifies exactly why We are a real Gem, and also helps you understand how we work behind the scenes.

We look forward to hosting you again one day. Have a super weekend.
Thanks again for your Kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Great service! Good food! Awesome atmosphere... highly recommend it. Prices are really good... take your own wine... no extra charge...

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Tanura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreggCornell, Guest Relations Manager at Taste of Thai Restaurant and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi Tanura.
Thank you for your awesome review, we are trilled you experienced all Witts hard work and passion, we are delighted to tell you that We have just receive our 2nd American Express Dining Award, for 2018/2019.
We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Great restaurant all around very well appointed, great service, and very good food. We had an excellent dinner, would highly recommend it if you are in Hilton.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank WayneH968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreggCornell, Guest Relations Manager at Taste of Thai Restaurant and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi Wayne.
Thank you so much for your magic report, we have since, just won our second American Express Dining award, for 2018/2019.
We look forward to seeing you again for another spoil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We were visiting Hilton with cousins when we saw this restaurant for dinner. What a fantastic stroke of luck it turned out to be:
Service was excellent. The restaurant is beautifully set out with tasteful decor. Menu selection was great with good variety. I chose duck noodle bowl which was really great. Service was with a smile and swift. All of us found our food (regardless of choice) to be very tasty and well presented. It was warm when it arrived which is always important. Prices were fair too. And the ambience was difficult to beat. A genuine winner that won’t disappoint at all. Can’t wait to be back!

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank cbwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreggCornell, Guest Relations Manager at Taste of Thai Restaurant and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Mr Winter
Thank you for your stunning review, Witt is delighted that his hard work and efforts were seen and appreciated by you,
We look forward to welcoming you back for another Winner experience. Have a Great Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Thai Restaurant and Spa also viewed

Hilton, KwaZulu-Natal
Hilton, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hilton, KwaZulu-Natal
Hilton, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hilton, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Taste of Thai Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing