We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”

Island Kayak Tours, LLC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come explore Shell Key Preserve with us. We offer three guided kayak adventures, each for just $25 per person. Choose the Sunset tour for the perfect ending to a Florida day, the Back Country Nature tour for views of the mangrove keys you can't get from any motorized vessel, or choose the 50/50 tour for guaranteed time on the island of Shell Key to swim, shell hunt, or relax. Visit our website for more information, or call or text to schedule your tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was a great experience. We usually kayak on rivers or lakes and do it on our own. Getting around the keys we thought we should have a guide. It turned out to be a great choice. Scott who is the owner and the guide along with his family was awesome. He grew up in the area and you can tell he loves the Shell Key Preserve and cares about the place. He was funny and knowledgeable about the Preserve, local animals and plants and even local restaurants. 2.5 hour trip ended up being a 3 hours of fun and great conversations. The nature part of the tour is great too. Open water is shallow and warm and easy to navigate. Mangrove tunnels are awesome experience and different type of ecosystem than open water. We took 50/50 tour that gave us the opportunity to spend an hour on Shell Key beach. We walked and collected some beautiful shells. It got better once we put snorkel masks and ventured few yards into the surf. We came back with many large shells. I would highly recommend this trip for variety of activities and places you will see and great service and friendliness of Scott and his family. 5 stars all the way!

Thank PETER_O_5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Kayak T, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Peter we enjoyed having you and your daughter out kayaking and conversing around Shell Key with us. We are so happy that you both had a great time! The crowned whelk shell you found was impressive! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about us. We look forward to seeing you both in the future. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mangrove tunnels"
in 18 reviews
"sand dollars"
in 5 reviews
"nature tour"
in 3 reviews
"open water"
in 3 reviews
"great stories"
in 3 reviews
"knowledgeable guides"
in 2 reviews
"florida vacation"
in 2 reviews
"mullet"
in 2 reviews
"collect shells"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 3 reviews
"in great shape"
in 2 reviews
"high tide"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 3 reviews
"super fun"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 2 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 2 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I did this tour and had an amazing time! We have very little experience and are not in great shape but Scott and Karissa made us feel comfortable. They are knowledgeable of the area, great to talk to, fun people and had great stories! We will definitely go back next year and bring our kids. You paddle out about two miles through the bay and go through mangrove tunnels, which is a great experience in itself! Once you get to Shell Key, you have about a hour to wade in the warmer water, collect shells and sand dollars and watch the boats at the sand bar. It was gorgeous, could have stayed all day. Thank you Scott and Karissa!! We will see you again!

Thank phl2azo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Kayak T, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

What a wonderful time we had out kayaking around Shell Key Preserve with you and your husband. Thank you very much for choosing us to go kayaking with. We look forward to seeing you and the kids in the future. Feel free to call us anytime. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! See you next time. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My husband has always loved kayaking and I have never tried. Based on the reviews we decided to give this tour a try. We are seniors and I was very apprehensive. Scott gave me a quick tutorial and we were soon settled in our tandem kayak. It didn't take long before we were well separated from the group. While I felt comfortable, my husband soon realized he didn't have the strength or stamina to keep up. That's when I noticed Karissa. She stayed back with us and was always encouraging. I was relieved to know we wouldn't hold back the group. We saw fabulous wildlife and loved the mangrove tunnels. We finally made it to Shell Key with some time to explore.Scott made sure we got safely back to dock. We highly recommend Island Kayak Tours. It is a bargain compared to other tours without sacrificing quality. We had a fabulous time. Thanks Scott and Karissa!

Thank watermusic2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Kayak T, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Penny, it was nice to be able to spend some one on one time with you both. I really enjoyed talking with you as we paddled. You both did a great job, and I'm glad you enjoyed your trip. Perhaps now you can paddle around the lake together! Stay safe and come see us anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

This tour was fantastic and the guides were great with kids. I have a child on the autism spectrum and they were very patient and helpful. The mangrove tunnels were super cool.

Thank Starr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Kayak T, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Starr we had a great time with you and your family. You and the kids did a wonderful job kayaking. Thanks so much for the great review. We appreciate you and your family for coming out on a kayak adventure with us. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Scott and Karissa were wonderful guides and had so many stories to tell. They knew so much about the area. There were seabirds that swam with us the entire way and would pop up next to our kayaks. The tunnels were so gorgeous. They were like what you would see in a travel magazine! The sunset was beautiful over the bay. I highly recommend this tour to anybody looking to have a unique adventure while in the Clearwater/Tampa/St. Petersburg area!

Thank Kaitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Kayak T, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Kaitlin, we are so happy we could be a part of your vacation. The cormorants are so fun to watch as they dive around our kayaks. Thank you so much for all the kind words you said about myself and Karissa. We truly appreciate you all coming out and spending some time with us kayaking around Shell Key Preserve. We couldn't do it without you all. Safe travels, we'll see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Kayak Tours, LLC also viewed

 

Been to Island Kayak Tours, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing