We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
Ranked #74 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Midland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have stayed in alot of hotels over the last 2 weeks, & this is by far the most enjoyable stay. The staff is exceptionally helpful & friendly. The manager is in the breakfast lounge in the mornings greating everyone and the kitchen staff as well ask how you are. the rooms have everything you need and are spotless. It is in an excellent location with a gas/convenience store next door and two restaurants within walking distance. They also have a free shuttle to the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino. If we are in the area again we will definitely stay here again. The Fairgrounds are directly across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Wendy,
Thanks for staying with us. We certainly do enjoy spending time with our guests. And for me, being visible in the breakfast area gives me a chance to get to know and understand our guests needs better. I hope you stay with us again so we can talk in person while enjoying one of those great cinnamon rolls in the morning. I'll also pass your nice words along to the team.

Thank you,
Theresa White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    74
    23
    7
    13
See reviews for
50
62
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hr1487
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Despite the problems other people had I found the staff to be polite and friendly. The Wi-Fi worked fine for me and the hotel was nice looking inside and out. I will say though that the second floor, which we stayed on, smelled like mold. The source? The laundry room. I didn't check to see if each floor had a laundry room or not but this one stunk. I first noticed it when we walked into our hotel room. Later on during our stay I tracked the source. But for one night I'll put up with just about anything.

The hotel is about a five-ten minute drive from Ybor City and down town Tampa. It is easily accessible from the highway as well.

Breakfast in the morning was the standard HIE fare.

I didn't catch her name but the early morning desk clerk (about 0500) was very helpful. I woke up feeling very ill after eating at a nearby restaurant (Ker's Winghouse) and she pointed me to the antacids they had on site since the gas station wasn't open. Big thanks to her!

P.S. - If you're down there to visit the Casino or plan on going there the hotel offers a free shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hr1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit. Due to your comments, we are testing different cleaning solutions that can be used in the public laundry area to help with the smell that you encountered. It is a work in progress and we are hoping to find a solution soon.
And I do appreciate your other kind words as our staff typically is one of the friendliest around. Please visit us again!

Thank you,
Theresa White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Holiday Inn looks great inside and out. Their breakfast is delicious and free. I'm still amazed with their perfect pancake machine. The rooms are clean and modern. The flat screen TV was a little small but was pleasantly surprised to find HD available.

The only 2 disappointments were the after hours front desk attendant. She was nasty. As Stephon (SNL city correspondent) would say "...don't bother her cause she's on BREAK. The second disappointment was the extreme slow WiFi connection. I appreciate the free Internet, but dial up is faster than the WiFi at this HIExpress.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Hello Alex,

First of all, I would like to apologize for the reception that you received when you arrived at our hotel. Please be assured that I have addressed this with our front desk staff, in particular with the person who I believe you encountered. I feel badly that this affected your experience, since we strive to make all of our guests feel welcome.

As far as the WIFI goes, I am not certain why it was so slow for you and I am doing some additional investigation and tests to see if we can determine the actual cause of the problem so that we can fix it.

I appreciate your comments and hope that we will see you again.

Thank you,
Theresa White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Recently booked Holiday Inn Express Casino because of the close proximity to the Hard Rock Casino. What a nightmare when arriving at the hotel I booked 2 double beds and got into my room and it was one single bed. Spoke to the so called "manager" he said they were sold out for the night and that was the last room they had which I did not believe. Than he gave me a very very hard time when asking for a refund when I checked into the room 2 mins ago and once I saw the single bed I could not stay there anymore. Once inside the room, there was an awful smell to the room. The bathroom was also old and the elevator was as fast as a turtle. I was very disappointed because from the outside the hotel looks nice but once inside it was a nightmare. The Manager was very rude and demanding and not nice at all. Buyer beware the Comfort Suites down the road or the Fairfield Inn is way better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Hello JJJ Tampa,

I appreciate the time you have spent in posting your comments and would like to address a few things that you mention that actually affect a few of our bookings.

There are many ways to make room reservations and the issue you experienced with expecting a specific room type is fairly frequent. When our hotel is at a near sell-out, or if you utilize an online travel agency, our computer system allows guests to reserve a room, but not a specific room type. The only way to guarantee a specific room type is to pay a premium/non-discounted rate for the room type you desire and select that specific type on the reservation screen. It appears, by looking at the history and codes on your reservation that your booking was for a General room, not a specific type. I certainly apologize for the lack of clarity in the reservation system and will bring that to the attention of our national product manager.

I also investigated the refund for your room and our manager on duty did immediately post a refund, however had to reverse that action due to luggage still remaining in the room and our inability to re-sell it. I am sorry if his insistence that you remove those items in order to obtain a refund appeared rude; I’ve already discussed this with that manager so that we will be better prepared to address this in the future. Your refund was processed as soon as the room was totally vacated.

In addition, because the room you booked was a General room and we were sold out, you were situated on our Smoking floor. I agree that this location of the building can at times smell stale. We are considering the elimination of the smoking option, however in the past have received many responses in support of it. Your feedback will help us as we make our decision moving forward.

Thank you again for taking time to share.

Theresa White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

A girlfriend and I stayed three nights at the Holiday Inn Express in December. Our room was a nice size, clean and comfortable with a microwave and refrigerator. We used the shuttle service twice and it was nice. We also used the pool and enjoyed that, although at 2:00 p.m. the sun was behind the building and that was it for the day. The morning breakfast was nice while reading the free newspaper. The menu varied as one morning it was eggs and bacon and the next eggs and sausages or SOS etc.. and the usual items accompanying it. No complaints and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It was a quiet week and I would imagine any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Hello Appleton WI Visitors!
Thank you for taking time to submit a review. It looks like you had a great stay and enjoyed our services. I see that you gave us a 4 out of 5 and I would love to hear from you as to what we could do to earn a 5 from you. We are always striving to be better and I think you could help. Could you please call me at the hotel so that I can get more info? I’d appreciate your partnership in this and look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you, Theresa White General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
2.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
2.3 km away
Residence Inn Tampa Sabal Park/Brandon
2.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
Address: 8610 Elm Fair Blvd, Tampa, FL 33610-7361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
#47 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price range (per night): $132 - $238
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairgrounds/Casino is located across from the entrance of both the Florida State Fairgrounds and the Mid-Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre. We are also only a half mile from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino and offer complimentary shuttle service to guests visiting there. We are conveniently located off I-4, less than 5 minutes away from I-75. If shopping is your pleasure, we are easily accessible to Brandon Town Center mall (7 miles), Westshore Mall (12 miles) and International Plaza (12 miles). With easy access to I-75, I-4, I-275, US 41 and US 301, our guests are minutes away from all area attractions and points of interests. Our rooms either feature one King Bed or two Queen beds. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, business center, and great breakfast with signature cinnamon rolls. We also have a few rooms with special jacuzzi tub for some extra relaxation after a great day in the Bay area. So whether you are in the area for the Fairgrounds, Raymond James Stadium, the area Beaches, Busch Gardens, or taking in an event at the Ford Amphitheater, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the Fairgrounds is the STAY SMART location to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa/Fairgrounds/ Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing