We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun n the Sun”
Review of Adventure Island

Adventure Island
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 56.99*
and up
Adventure Island Water Park
Ranked #49 of 203 things to do in Tampa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located right across the street from Busch Gardens® Tampa Bay, Adventure Island® is 30 acres of water-drenched fun in the sun featuring the ultimate combination of high-speed thrills and tropical, tranquil surroundings for guests of all ages. Within a soothing Key West atmosphere await slides, corkscrews, water falls, a wave pool, children’s water playground and other family attractions. Choose to race down rapids, dig your toes into the sand or relax all day in a private cabana. Hurtle high and experience a feeling of weightlessness on Colossal Curl™, Adventure Island’s newest family thrill slide.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My kids love AI and I must admit I love it just as much as they do. Rides and slides are fun, but I love relaxing in the sun by the wave pool. We're pass holders so we go as often as possible. It's
definitely the place to be on a hot day in Florida.

1  Thank Kena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts concerning your visit. The comments of our guests are always welcome and greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wave pool"
in 111 reviews
"colossal curl"
in 36 reviews
"great water park"
in 24 reviews
"all ages"
in 75 reviews
"busch gardens"
in 105 reviews
"water shoes"
in 13 reviews
"water fun"
in 11 reviews
"shaded areas"
in 12 reviews
"both parks"
in 9 reviews
"park opens"
in 10 reviews
"cool off"
in 12 reviews
"season pass"
in 13 reviews
"whole family"
in 24 reviews
"older kids"
in 11 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 19 reviews
"all day dining"
in 10 reviews
"theme park"
in 20 reviews
Filter

84 - 88 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Kids went around the lazy river seven times while I napped under a palm tree. Very relaxing place in the middle of the city. A bargain if you get the Florida resident yearly pass. \f

2  Thank rmarti17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts concerning your visit. The comments of our guests are always welcome and greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I am a Tampa native and have always loved Adventure Island. We renewed our annual passes this year but found out that food is no longer allowed. Our youngest cannot eat the park food nor can she go all day on water alone. The ability to do a picnic in the park was a huge selling point for us. Now we can only go for a short time and then leave so the kids can eat. The picnic pavilion couldn't be a bigger inconvenience as you go all the way back to your car to get your cooler that has been warming up in your hot car. Even Disney water parks let you bring a small cooler.
Then we have the Cabana rules.... We used to rent these every year for one of our kids' birthdays. Now you are limited to 4 or 6 people depending on the cabana. You can add two more people for a fee (of course). So our group of 10 is out. We will be doing our May and June birthdays somewhere else this year.

3  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts concerning your recent visit to Adventure Island. The experiences and comments of our guests are always welcome and greatly appreciated. We regret to hear about your experience. Could you contact us directly at AIGuestServices@seaworld.com so we may assist you further? Please include a copy of your review for reference. Thank you for reaching out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great time with family. The lines moved very fast and everyone is very helpful. I love adventure Islands!!

2  Thank terriasmith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We bought season passes for Busch gardens and adventure island since we live nearby. My son is 12 and many of his friends have passes too. It is a great place to spend a few hours or a day. The park is great with several slides, water play areas, a lazy river, wave pool and plenty to do. We have always enjoyed the park and the convenient location close to home. The only reason for my 3 star review is because of some changes adventure island has made which made our recent trip not so convenient and as a result, not as enjoyable. To start off, traffic on Busch boulevard to get onto the street for both parks was insane! The light at Busch and McKinney was only long enough to allow about three cars to turn before turning red. This resulted in an insane back up on Busch blvd. No joke, our wait at this light was 40 minutes. Then, we arrive at the park.. due to traffic, we got to the park about 10:50, 50 minutes after opening hours. We had to park at the far end of parking lot. We had purchased tickets online so we were directed to “zone a” self serve ticket kiosk to retrieve tickets. There was only ONE kiosk and a mile long line of people. That resulted in another 30-40minute wait. Once inside the park, it was nearly impossible to find any open chairs or benches available to put down our towels and stuff. We finally were able to convince a family to “share” their bench with us for us to keep our towels and shoes at. The lines for the slides were well over an hour long for most attractions. It was very difficult to obtain a tube for the lazy river. We did one ride before lunch. Since we eat very healthy and in order to keep down cost, we left a cooler with food in our car to eat at the “picnic pavilion” outside of the park. We had to give up our spot within the park and make the very long treck back to our car across the hot parking lot, then all of the way back up to picnic pavilion (which is still quite a hike from main entrance) and then back out to the car to put cooler away, and then back to the entrance. Adventure island used to allow small coolers which was convenient for packing a small lunch, snacks and beverages for the family. THEY DO NOT ALLOW THIS ANYMORE. No drinks, no snacks, no food. Being able to bring our own food was one of our favorite parts about adventure island. It allowed us to stay for most of the day and not spend a fortune on disgusting, fried, over priced theme park food which I do not let my family eat anyways. They claim they do not allow coolers anymore due to “safety”, which is complete bull. I’ve never heard of a soft sided cooler causing “harm” to anyone. The real reason they did this was to make money from selling their own food. The least they could do is offer some healthy options or at least allow small items to be brought into park.When we arrived back in the park after lunch, we could not find a space for our belongings. We had to place it in the grass with the ants. After all of this wasted time, we only had time for one more ride and a lazy river before leaving the park at 4:30. I wouldn’t say this was a relaxing or enjoyable day at all. I was very disappointed with the changes adventure island has made. After speaking with other local residents who have season passes, I think the new no food rule may definitely interfere with people wanting to buy season passes again next year.

1  Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuschGardensTPA, Guest Relations Manager at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Bridget! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts concerning your recent visit to Adventure Island. The experiences and comments of our guests are always welcome and greatly appreciated. We regret to hear about your experience. Could you contact us directly at AIGuestServices@seaworld.com so we may assist you further? Please include a copy of your review for reference. Thank you for reaching out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Adventure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing