We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an old fashioned resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“an old fashioned resort”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in an efficiency suite. great location friendly check-in but terrible housekeeping. They just replaced the towels. did not clean countertops, table dirty, bathroom counters with soap scum( the women love to talk though as we heard them going on and on next door). funny that there is always an envelope requesting tips!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,630
    598
    109
    33
    23
See reviews for
723
1,246
70
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sellersburg, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was my second time back to Tropical Shores and won't be my last, they have been comepletely remodeled! I can't say anything but good. The resort is very tropical, the condo very clean, and staff very nice. I could only stay four nights becaused they were booked solid, that was the only down side!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie Rae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraSeaResort, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
It's always great to receive such great feedback from our guests! We have been very busy this winter but season is over and we have a lot of wonderful openings and specials running through the summer. The beaches have never looked better and we are looking forward to the best summer yet on SIesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Two friends and I had the pleasure of staying five nights in the Sara Seas section. Check in was a breeze and, while our room was smaller than it appeared on the web site, it was lovely and totally adequate for our needs. There is a pool shared among several of the sections and it's heated and very refreshing after a day at the beach. The private beach itself is the most beautiful I've seen in the state of Florida, the water is crystal clear and the beach sand is like silk. There are a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance and Siesta Key Village is 3 miles away with a huge variety of eating and shopping venues. I am a travel agent and plan to recommend Tropical Beach Resorts to anyone looking for a relaxing beach vacation in Florida!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraSeaResort, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
What a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review! We always encourage all our guests to make sure they are refering back to our website for room descriptions and specific photos of rooms and call us directly to make reservations. Pictures are very accurate for the individual room options. We could not agree with our recent guest describing the beach with crystal clean water and sand that is like silk! We hope that everyone has a chance to walk barefoot on Siesta Key this summer! Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here last yr, last minute trip and only stayed 2 nights, couldn't wait to come back this year with the folks in tow for a longer stay. Reservations a breeze with Tiffany, check in wonderful with Buddy--he continued to be helpful thru out stay with advice on where and what to see.
However, on check out my mother wanted to let them know that the housekeeping was subpar in their room (my families room was fine). She came back in tears after being dressed down by the manager, stating "yes, we heard about the housekeeping 'incident' with your dog. She was afraid and wanted to get out of there".
First of all, they brought a 15 yr old <10 lb dog. Second of all, and more importantly, we knew this was entirely false as we made appt times with housekeeping to bring the dog out of the room so they didn't have to clean around a dog as a courtesy--responsible dog owners understand not everybody is a dog person.
Thinking there had must have been a simple misunderstanding, I went to check out to speak with them to clear it up---clearly the housekeeper just doesn't want to be around dogs of any kind, and it's probably best she be assigned to rooms without them. Well, I found out what had my mom in tears!!! I never had the displeasure of dealing with someone in the hospitality industry be so flip, rude and condescending---what a jerk!!
Instead of leaving happily planning our next stay, we left disheartened and angry.
We will not return here as we will not take the risk that if something comes up awry, it will obviously be the customers fault. Book at your own risk--as long as all is ok you'll be fine--but if there is even the tiniest issue that you think needs addressed absolutely no efforts will be made towards service recovery.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rjmmkitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We appreciate all of the reviews that are sent in and want to thank all of our guests for sharing their vacation time with us at Tropical Beach Resorts. We do not feel the comments stated in this review reflect an accurate representation of the situation that occurred. Tropical Beach Resorts strives on exceptional customer service and genuinely cares about each guest and their experience.In this rare occurrence, management was dealing with the reports of a guest in this party grabbing a housekeepers arm and a growling dog that was left unattended in a room posing a threat to the staff. We will do everything possible to ensure our guests are happy, well taken care of, and have an exceptional stay. However, management does enforce a zero tolerance for physical or verbal abuse towards the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Tropical Sun at the Tropical Shores Resort is a beautiful, clean and friendly boutique hotel. We stayed at Tropical Sun and there is also Tropical Shores and SaraSea.The grounds are lush and very well kept. Our room was very comfortable, clean and large. The staff is very helpful and friendly, even printed our boarding passes. They have free beach towels and beach chairs at the office to sign out and take to the best beach ever...Crescent Beach on Siesta Key! The beach is less than 5 mins. from the hotel down a path. This beach is the best I've ever been too! The Gulf was warm and the sunsets truly amazing. Don't hesitate to stay at one of the properties at Tropical Shores Resort. Don't forget to tip housekeeping!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamabarb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalSunResort, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your vacation experience with us! We are so pleased to find that you found the resort to be beautiful, clean, and friendly! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
4.4 km away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
689 reviews
4.0 km away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
372 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
473 reviews
3.4 km away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
7.2 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Property: Tropical Beach Resorts
Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price range (per night): $294 - $573
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing