We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful landscaping, older resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Taiwan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscaping, older resort”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My 3 preteens, husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (5 in all). Two kids shared a sofa bed and one was on the floor. It was a tight, uncomfortable fit but we had a kitchen and did not have to pay for 2 rooms like at a nicer resort. Buddy at the front desk was very nice. We had free movies to watch (new DVDS too), fresh coffee at the front desk, and a really warm small pool to swim in. There were plenty of other families there too - and plenty of older adults too. The grounds were very nicely kept and many had BBQs right there on site. It is a about a block walk to the nice, private beach (private in that it is shared with a few other small resorts). You do have to pay for beach chairs & umbrellas ($24 for 2 chairs & 1 umbrella for the whole day). My kids did not want to stay on the beach - the water was too cold. They preferred the pool which had some noodles, flippers, balls, etc. The resort was also within walking distance of many restaurants and a small grocery store.
The rooms though are older and not too impressive but maintained. The bath and beach towels are all small and on the thin-side. There is no shelf space in the bathroom which is frustrating. Overall it was OK. My husband would have preferred a nicer room - I liked the price because we had 5 in all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaiwanFamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,630
    598
    109
    33
    23
See reviews for
723
1,246
70
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Great rooms with great service and hospitality combine for a fantastic experience. Located on the south end of Crescent Beach, this property is quietly one of the most enjoyable facilities we have stayed at. With a short walk to the beach or the option of using one of the two convenient and well maintained pools, this resort is staffed by some of the most friendly front desk representatives we have come across. They are knowledgeable about Key activities, restaurants and Sarasota attractions. Rooms were extremely well maintained complete with a full kitchenette and the plus of daily housekeeping created a distinct advantage over the condo rental market. With an added benefit of resort supplied beach towels and chairs we could not have asked for a better experience in Siesta Key. Only drawback was location which was away from Siesta Key Village - but that can also be viewed as an advantage as this resort was extremely quiet!

Room Tip: If staying in the Sun property, ask for the very comfortable Sandpiper room equipped with a king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraSeaResort, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for the fantastic review!! It makes us feel so good to know our guests had a great time and enjoyed all that Siesta Key has to offer! Traffic in March is always going to be pretty challenging as it's the busiest month of the year in Southwest Florida. Traffic has already dropped off significantly and typically the drive from Tampa to the resort is an hour. Many of our guests that do not fly into the Sarasota airport will fly into Tampa or Ft. Meyers. On behalf of everyone at Tropical Beach Resorts we are thrilled to receive such fabulous feedback from our recent guests and hope that we have the opportunity to help you plan your next vacation get-away on Siesta Key! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was my second visit to this hotel, having stayed there the winter of 2011. This place is the best on the Key, they have the friendliest staff and the room was as elegant as last time, and so clean and they provided a multitude of towels. One of the things I Ilked is that they respect your privacy and leave the towels and great soaps etc outside your door and promptly pick up the trash you leave outside the door. The area is so beautiful and everything they describe in their ad is the truth. you hear the chirping birds. It is so restful and peaceful, stayed for 5 nights, next year i plan on staying for 7 nights. I borrowed a laptop a few times and they have 3 of them , so I enjoyed that. I kidded Buddy, who works in the office when I left saying that the weather had been horrible and the staff so rude but he was cool enough to pick up that I was just being playful. I can't imagine anyone not being delighted with Tropical Shores. Oh they placed me next to the laundry room which was perfect for me being a light sleeper and I enjoyed the peace and quiet. I did hear the machines in the AM but the sound was so minimal that it was fine. Walk south on Midnight Pass Road to check out the gorgeous mansions, and palm trees and flowers. Smell the great odors of the flowers, Florida is a gem and so is this really fantastic hotel. I highly recommend the Sun Sandpiper King , very tasteful sheets, artwork, gorgeous stainless steel kitchen, you will feel at home. Check out Javier's, which is very close by, the best food on the Key !!! I also loved the pillowtop bed in my room, so comfortable !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked at the last minute and did not know what to expect. We were delighted and surprised with the room. It was spotless. We had a corner room. Yes, the room is small, but it does have a king bed plus kitchen and living area. It is amazing how they managed to put everything in the space... even a washer and dryer. Great location just a block from the beach and restaurants you can walk to. We loved the little balcony off the bedroom. The public sitting area on the porch was great when we had friends come by. This is a real little gem.
P.S. The staff was great.

Room Tip: Corner room has seperate living area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This seems to be a older resort that has been recently updated. Close walking distance to the beach. Don't expect a five star resort, you're paying for the location. It is quiet with a more mature crowd. Next time we come to Siesta Key, we'll probably try staying at another place. Just being honest. The bedroom is small and the bathroom could've been nicer in my opinion. This unit is large enough for two people, but no more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
4.4 km away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
689 reviews
4.0 km away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
372 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
473 reviews
3.4 km away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
7.2 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Property: Tropical Beach Resorts
Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price range (per night): $298 - $569
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing