We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (7,220)
Filter reviews
7,220 results
Traveller rating
5,704
1,033
293
100
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,704
1,033
293
100
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful beach white sand baby powder public beach powdered sugar drum circle favorite beach clear water concession stand spring break sand dollars sarasota quarry gulf shells waves concessions
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 7,220 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This beach was on our must see list and being from Minnesota it did not disappoint! Clear water, soft powdery sand. The kids absolutely loved it! We saw dolphins swimming in the distance as well! It was a lot of fun! PSA: many seagulls around trying to steal peoples food, watch out.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank michellemF883GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The Most Beautiful beach in the USA!!!!! The sand is powder white and exceptionally clean!!!!!! Water is beautiful aqua color!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank lorileah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We loved this beach. The sand stays cool, doesn’t stick, and is comfortable to walk on.

Strong suggestion: Do not try to take a car here! We didn’t have a car for this trip, as we had heard it was difficult to park and that there was a free shuttle from the hotel and anywhere up and down the beach (tips only). There are actually a few of these shuttles, and this is definitely the way to go.

Another suggestion: Instead of going to the main beach with the bathrooms and concession stand, you can go to the section nearest to town (I think it was section 5). There is a small parking lot here, though it was very busy. From here, you can easily walk to town for coffee or a meal, or even some shopping; most places are happy to let you use their facilities.

You can rent umbrellas and beach chairs by the main entrance and in a few areas north of there.

Prepare to walk for miles - and not even feel it! A beautiful beach.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This 8 mile Long Beach on Florida’s gulf coast just outside of Sarasota has the most luxurious pristine fine white sand. It offers the opportunity to stroll its length and drink in the luscious Florida sun and surf. It’s wide beach let’s one have a modicum of privacy in a normally crowded atmosphere. In April it hosts the southern volleyball championships with a large number of colleges represented. Every inch of this enticing beach offers many pleasant memories.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank lefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is a great beach, very large, great for wading in the water. But, first of all you can't find a parking spot if you get there after 10 AM. We knew that, so after we got up at 10 AM, we decided to use Uber. That worked well. You also have to determine for yourself that you must purchase a ticket for an umbrella and lounge chairs at the entrance. We passed the little vendor booth that sells beer and ice confections, which is where you have to purchase your umbrellas and chairs. By the time we learned that was where you purchase beach chairs, etc., we were down the beach and had to return to the entrance. There was only one chair left to purchase, so my wife got the chair and I had to use the beach towel under the umbrella. This beach is very very popular, and you had better be ready to get there well before 10 AM if you don't have your own equipment. The walk from the entrance/parking lot to the beach is long, very long if you are 70 years old. For that reason I don't recommend this beach for seniors unless you are in good shape.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 0906ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews