We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Our 2nd visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Holiday Inn. It’s not great to look at, the rooms are dated and it’s not that cheap. So why come back? Because of the location and the great view from the gulf view rooms. It’s just minutes’ walk from restaurants and shops in St Armand’s Circle and you can spend hours on that beach.

You don’t have to look far to realise that the hotel is old-fashioned but there’s nothing basically wrong with it. Everything works and the reason you are there is because of the great beach. Maybe they should actively market it as “retro-chic” to avoid people being disappointed?

On our first visit, we were in an end room, which was smaller than the rest, so I was pleased to be in a more spacious room this time with a bigger bathroom too. The bathroom was functional but with a good shower head, spraying in one direction instead of all over the place. And I was pleased to see they still stock Bath & Body Works toiletries which smell very tropical.

Check in and out were both quick and easy. The free wifi was rather slow most of the time, but at least it was free unlike many hotels. Beds were comfortable with a choice of pillows and it was great to wake up and see the moon fading into the sea and the sun lighting up the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We are thrilled that you came back to stay with us! And thank you for the candid comments about our condition. Retro-chic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    395
    196
    80
    42
See reviews for
298
429
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a Large room overlooking the Gulf, The views were great and the Sun Sets magnificent.
The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The staff were pleasant and very helpful..
A short walk to the Armand Circle with excellent restaurants and shops.The glorious beach
was lovely for sitting (chairs provided by hotel) or enjoying long walks.
WE drove a few miles to Anna Maria Island which is a MUST real old Florida.
WE would return to This Holiday Inn with pleasure.

Room Tip: Gulf View room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us! And we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Quiet location across the street from Lido Beach. The building is somewhat dated and our room was quite small. The ocean view from the 5th floor was spectacular. We had breakfast at the top floor restaurant overlooking the Gulf....very good service and food. Within walking distance to some really nice local stores and shops is a bonus. Overall a good value considering very reasonable room rates.

Room Tip: Request ocean view and highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HowsBark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
That you for the kind words - our location can't be beat! Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel in January visiting from the U.K. The location is good. A pleasant walk to St Armands excellent restaurants and shops. We had a room with a great view overlooking the beach.
Our room needed urgent updating and the bathroom was awful. The air-con was so noisy we could not have it on during the night. The public areas looked ancient and when we came back from town at 10.15 in the evenings the bar was closed. On check in receptionist were fine but after that, should you dare ask for any assistance from them, they were most unhelpful.
The complimentary car parking is a bonus as we found that a lot of hotels in the U.S. charge up to 30 dollars a night to park. Would I stay at this Holiday Inn again - definitely no.
Holiday Inns in the U.K. are of a much better standard.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
We appreciate your candid remarks. While many find our property age difficult, we do take pride in keeping it clean. And are disappointed that you did not find it to be so. We have high standards for service, and I do regret you did not receive that from a member of our staff. We have a lot to offer, and are always working to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherd, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at the Lido Beach Holiday Inn using reward points. When we registered there was an extra cost for a Gulf view room. Being frugal (i.e. cheap), we settled for the non-gulf view. I can't begin to tell you of my delight in discovering that we were booked in a fifth-floor gulf side room! The view was incredible. We sat out on the balcony to watch the sunset over the gulf and in the morning caught sight of dolphins frolicking a short distance from shore. Walking into the shopping/eating district is a piece of cake. It's really a short jaunt and there are many options; though few that are inexpensive. We found Lido Beach to be just as beautiful (for our purposes) as Siesta Key but far less crowded with people. In fact, we returned to spend a day at this beach later in our trip. The staff at the hotel were both professional and welcoming. Our room was in order and clean. The only criticism I would level is that this hotel is showing signs of deferred maintenance. There were stains on the ceiling along what appeared to be the drywall joints. The waste basket in the bathroom was corroded inside and gross. Paint was peeling from the exterior piping that ran up through the balcony. The front entry awning was in need of sprucing up and was separated and rusty. Did these things really matter? Not to us, but if you’re really fussy about that kind of thing, be advised. If you intent is to go, relax, and enjoy at a reasonable price with a gulf view – hey, this is the place. We will return again the next time we’re in Florida.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
We appreciate your candid remarks. We have a special place, and are pleased that you found the view of the gulf a treat. New trashcans on order! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.4 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
4.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
8.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
8.6 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
8.2 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price range (per night): $320 - $570
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing