We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HYATT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 February 2012

TWO STAR HOTEL even tough is classified as a four star

Room Tip: CLEAN ROOM same in all rooms north or southsides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,848 - 1,852 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Booked a room package via hotels.com 'park and serf' (valet parking anf wi-fi included) on check in the receptionist had no idea about the package stating that non of the packages included free valet parking. Not a cheap hotel and for the money I would expect a rooming, turndown service, bathrobes and slippers in the room. The bathroom was so small the door only just cleared the toilet. On departure it was difficult to find a porter. When I was departing there was a group checking in but surely the hotel shoud staff accordingly.
Had lunch around the pool but a basic request to have a side of coleslaw served with my burger was refused. Likewise, the waitress said she could not serve coffee around the pool as she did not have a machine at the pool bar.
The chairs on my balcony were so dirty I could not use them. On the positive side the rest of the room was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myhotellife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyattsrq, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. The Park and Surf package is a new package however not an excuse for the Front desk agent to not be familiar. We will use this review as a source of training. We hope that you give us another try on a future visit to Sarasota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Not a cheap hotel. Booked a 'park and surf' (valet parking and wi-fi included) package via hotels.com, at check in the receptionist had no idea about the package booked. There was a lack of services at the hotel, no rooming, no turndown services, no bathrobes or slippers in the room. The bathroom was so small the door only just cleared the toilet.
Had lunch around the pool, a basic request to have coleslaw with my burger was refused, likewise the waitress would not serve coffee around the pool, as she said she did not have a machine at the pool bar.
Porters were not around much but I think I checked out at a busy time (does that make it acceptable for the lack of porters on duty?)
On the positive side, the room was clean

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myhotellife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The staff in the hotel is very friendly and above and beyond. There have been some issues about the timing in the restaurant, but it only seemed to be one time in my stay that it really reached ridiculous proportions. Overall, I think the menu could involve larger portions and a little less pretentiousness in order to be a hit. But I do love the atmosphere and the seating of the entire lobby and restaurant area. The bar is also great. It's usually very busy there at night, but don't be shy with getting the attention of the bartenders. I notice a lot of people are waiting around and get overlooked. It's not rude to give a little hand-wave at a bar to get attention if you aren't being noticed. I love their Key Lime martinis, and I love three of them more than one! The prices are on par with a Hyatt, and the rooms are generally immaculately clean. I also like this area of Sarasota because it's very close to downtown and in walking distance to Whole Foods.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had a lot of guests coming in from out of town for my wedding and recommended the Hyatt as the place to stay. Hyatt offered a great room block rate, kept me up to date frequently in regard to the status of availability and was super responsive any time I had a question.

My bridesmaids and I stayed there the night before the wedding and my husband and I the night of the wedding and the hotel sent complimentary bottles of wine and chocolate covered strawberries. It was a nice gesture.

The rooms are great and have awesome views of the city and bay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jovanitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
951 reviews
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.5 km away
The Westin Sarasota
The Westin Sarasota
#33 of 51 in Sarasota
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
260 reviews
4.7 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
9.5 km away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $276 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing