We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flooding bathtub” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Host Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Host Resort
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Naples
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Flooding bathtub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We booked it because of low pricing and appealing pics. We stayed one night. First impression was horrible, room mold smelling, inner part of toilet cover with dry urine. We decided to return to hotel late, just to take a shower and sleep, hopefully, checking out earlier next morning and leaving that "Hell" behind. However, the bathtub started flooding as soon as we openned the foucet. The hair dryer was broken. We called front desk, the clerk asked our cellular phone number (because the room phone was broken) and let us know somebody would come to fix it. We spent the whole night waiting and nobody showed up. If you don't want to mess your vacation up, go some place else, please !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Golden-Host, General Manager at Golden Host Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We deeply regret that your room had some maintenance issues. Unfortunately, with very high occupancy during the season, our maintenance staff must have overlooked blocking the room for maintenance. The room should have never been open for occupancy. This is not acceptable and not only do we want to sincerely apologize but have instructed for total refund of the charges. In addition, we would like to offer a complimentary stay if your travels bring you again to this area. Again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    21
    21
    58
See reviews for
40
39
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Room was clean and property seemed reasonably well maintained but old and very dated. Complimentary breakfast was no more than coffee, juice, toast, or cereal. No refrigerators or microwaves in room. If on trip with wife or family, you probably will want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBethel_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Golden-Host, General Manager at Golden Host Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Golden Host Resort. We appreciate all feed back and have noted your recommendations regarding the continental breakfast. Please note that not all of our rooms are equipped with Microwaves & Refrigerators. Our rooms’ descriptions do make a note of this when you are booking one of our standard rooms at Golden Host Resort. For our customers who are traveling with their families we do recommend purchasing our deluxe rooms that are larger units, with private patios & balconies as well as Microwaves & Refrigerators.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel was too expensive for what you got even considering it was prime Spring Break season and whatever you do don't venture in to the Bahi Bar at the front of the hotel yikes. Oh and did I mention the prostitute across the street turning tricks, be carefull with this place. On a positive note the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Golden-Host, General Manager at Golden Host Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your review in regards to your stay at the Golden Host Resort. We appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for your compliments for our staff. Bahi Hut, is a Sarasota iconic bar. It just celebrated 56 years of continuous operations. It has been written in many magazines, newspapers, books as one of the 10 places to visit in Sarasota. We have tour buses stop for the famous Mai Tai. If you noticed a prostitute, unfortunately, the popularity of the cocktail lounge and large number of tourists attract people we can not control. Our hotel is situated 2 miles north of downtown Sarasota and only minutes drive to our city’s beautiful beaches. We are walking distance from the Ringling Museum of Art.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Melbourne, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Iesha, (hotel manager) blocked out 11 rooms for my baseball team 2 weeks prior to our first tournament in Sarasota. Upon arrival we had discovered that the hotel manager decided to sell our hotel rooms to Spring Breakers and left us with 2 small rooms for the entire 11 player baseball team + their families! After driving from across the coast, we found out our players wouldn't have rooms for the rest of the tournament...you guessed it all the other hotels in the area were booked up for the tournament! Thanks alot for the warm welcome! We won't be using this hotel every again and believe me; I am going to spread the word to every travel baseball team we play. I'll be sure to make the anouncement over the stadium speakers tomorrow during opening ceremonies at the Cal Ripkin Sports Complex. Worst hotel management team, we have every dealt with. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Stay at the Holiday Inn Express!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seniorja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Golden-Host, General Manager at Golden Host Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your response in regards to the lack of reservations for your group. Please note that it was advised to you that due to our busy season our group policy does release rooms in group reservations two weeks prior to the date of arrival that have no credit card confirmations. Your group failed to do so even though they had a two week window to confirm and guarantee their rooms. Five of your group members and their families did stay at our hotel who had booked in a timely manner (in our large double units that have private patios & balconies). As we started getting calls from the rest of the group members one day prior to the date of arrival, we were unfortunately sold out. Also please note that your reservations for the group were made one month prior to the scheduled date of arrival. Lack of preparation on the part of the group is unfortunately out of our staff’s control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My friend and I purchased a 2 nite stay online at one of the travel sites for 175. including taxes which was a good deal. The room was clean and fairly good size, but there were no refrigerators or microwaves in the room. The beds weren't that comfortable, but I have slept in worse ones, the pillows were bad though. The bathroom had a sink inside the bath and one outside which was good for my friend and me. We didn't use the pool,. but we did get breakfast the last day and it was mostly danish buns, juice and coffee. Internet service was good and was always able to get on it.

For the cleanliness of the room and size I would stay there again for this price. It sits right on Rte 41 and close to I75.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, it will be a lot quieter. Our room was in the back and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
4.7 km away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#27 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#31 of 49 in Sarasota
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#22 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
15.3 km away
Days Inn Sarasota - Siesta Key
6.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Host Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Host Resort

Property: Golden Host Resort
Address: 4675 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3895
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price range (per night): $79 - $170
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Host Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Host Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Host Hotel Sarasota
Golden Host Sarasota
Golden Host Resort Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing