We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this hotel!”
Review of Golden Host Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Host Resort
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Crystal River, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I don't know what other people's problem was with this hotel, but we had a great time. A friend and I came to Sarasota to site see not to spend all of our time in the hotel. While we were at the hotel, our room was extremely clean and smelled fresh I didn't even need Febreeze! It was also the very first hotel that I've ever stayed in that didn't have that moldy smell to it. Even the beds were comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bartenders made THE best drinks. This hotel is located between Ringling and the Jungle Gardens. Everything else was in driving distance within 10 min with traffic. I completely walk the streets of this neighborhood at night without worry. It's FAR from being a ghetto. I even plan to rebook at this hotel in a few month when I return to Sarasota for another visit. Thank you Golden Host Resort for making my Birthday weekend the best!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalyqo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    25
    21
    60
See reviews for
45
43
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

For the price this was a really great stay. The place is a little older so there was some wear in the room, but it was also clean. Quiet community. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Located so close to the beach, and downtown Sarasota.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Chose this resort due to the low price and close to the airport. We stayed just one night. But BEWARE! This is not a resort!! It is in a bad area of Sarasota. The pictures on the website must have been taken when they first built it long ago. The rooms are very worn down and smelled moldy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gapeach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The place is definitely NOT first class, but for the low price they charge I have to say this motel is surprisingly decent and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The place is a total dump...plus they gave our room away then moved us to the next crappy hotel next door that they also owned...and wouldn't even change the rate to the "not so Super 8 hotel" rate that they made us stay at...wi-fi and door key didn't work the whole time we where there... even if all this wouldn't have happen...the place is terrible, dirty, unsave feeling, and the people that own it are unhelpful...

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toddrollison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
0.4 km away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#31 of 48 in Sarasota
386 reviews
0.8 km away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#38 of 48 in Sarasota
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#29 of 48 in Sarasota
216 reviews
4.7 km away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Sarasota
128 reviews
4.9 km away
Ramada Sarasota
Ramada Sarasota
#36 of 48 in Sarasota
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Host Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Host Resort

Property: Golden Host Resort
Address: 4675 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3895
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price range (per night): $80 - $128
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Host Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Host Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Host Hotel Sarasota
Golden Host Sarasota
Golden Host Resort Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing