We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar!”

Thomas German Bakery
Ranked #8 of 26 Bakeries in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 December 2015

A wonderful addition to Sarasota's expanding choice of international foods. This is a treasure chest of freshly baked savory and sweet delights from a well tended oven, from fragrant dark breads to finger-licking good cakes and pastries. Among others... sample the Raisin Strudel with sugar icing and try and keep it to one bite. Not quite likely! Thomas's output, can be enjoyed for breakfast and/or lunch at the tables inside, from where one must resist the temptation of sampling all the goodies on display at the spic and span counter. What else is there to say but "empfehlenswert," German for "recommended."

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kaibab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Owner at Thomas German Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear kaibab1,

we like to thank you for your "wunderbaren" review. We will celebrate our 1st Anniversary in March and it would be a pleasure to see you there.

All the best
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2015

Great bread especially the multi grain. The pastries are extremely good. My wife id from Germany and loves the poppy seed strudel.

Thank SteveSiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Owner at Thomas German Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear SteveSiesta,

We love tha fact you and your wife like our bread and strudel. We will celebrate our 1st anniversary from 21 of March until 26 of March. Please come by and celebrate with us.

Thank you
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I am visiting my mother in Sarasota from NYC and happen to stumble upon this charming German bakery~ what a wonderful experience! Just went in see the atmosphere, but hope to go in for their breakfast one day! I did walk out with some pastries and bread. Had them for breakfast this morning with the family and they were delicious! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Thanks for a wonderful experience!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angie3258x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Owner at Thomas German Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Angie3258x,

Thank you for your kind review, I hope we will see you again soon.

All the best
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We unexpectedly found this little family run bakery - a bright spot in the middle of a rather standard nondescript suburban strip mall in walking distance of where we were staying - and are very pleased that we did. Very clean and bright atmosphere. Our servers were cheerful and friendly, service was not slow in our experience. The food (omelets, egg salad) was good, the coffee and cappuccino excellent. We were fortunate to sample a number of their breads and pastries, and they were all excellent as well. We visited twice for breakfast, and will definitely return if we are in the area. I look forward to trying lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DandNinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

And in my opinion the best breakfast this side of Hamburg! Great Sunday morning place for the best egg omelets and their breads are off the wall great

1  Thank SRQ4576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas German Bakery also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Thomas German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing