We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the traditional Eggs Benedict”
Review of Blue Dolphin Cafe

Blue Dolphin Cafe
Ranked #44 of 1,181 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 10 July 2017

So you thought retirees slept late and passed up breakfast? Not in Sarasota. There are many outstanding breakfast places in the area, some that serve all-day breakfast and some that serve only breakfast and lunch. Yes, breakfast is a popular activity in this town. And Blue Dolphin Cafe is one of the best breakfast spots of all. Located at 470 John Ringling Boulevard on St. Armands Circle, it attracts people before they begin shopping at one of the nation's glitziest shopping districts. Open from 7 to 2, early birds can enjoy the Blue Dolphin Special--two eggs, two pancakes, two strips of bacon and home fries--before starting out on a busy day. I'm partial to the traditional Eggs Benedict, a toasted English muffin topped with Canadian bacon, poached eggs and Blue Dolphin's own hollandaise sauce with home fries and fresh fruit and a big glass of fresh squeezed orange juice. My wife opts for a Belgian waffle or French Toast with fresh fruit. On other occasions, I choose the home-made corned beef hash topped with two scrambled eggs or oatmeal or the raw smoked salmon platter with capers, cream cheese, red onion, sliced tomato and bagel. The Blue Dolphin Cafe also has a location at 5370 Gulf of Mexico Drive on nearby Longboat Key.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a local hometown place in the center of a big tourist attraction.
We have been coming for years now and love the service, food and most of all love that it has a local feel.
Omelets are excellent because they mix the ingredients throughout rather than just plop them inside. Get the home fries well done. They have a great BLT which is mostly bacon.
Enjoy a good breakfast or lunch at a reasonable price on St. Armand's Circle.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sileydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We can always count on a great breakfast at the Blue Dolphin! It's a tradition to eat here at least once when visiting.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Someone from our hotel recommended this as a great breakfast place and it was. Come with a big appetite. Husbands' omelet was huge and my "2 eggs" were more like 4! Good food and an old diner atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrendaNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

One of my hipster, nyc-minded dreams has always been to visit a real diner. Well Blue Dolphin Cafe was exactly what I needed. This place is really low-key (looks family run) and with really nice staff, great food, and tasteful music (I heard one of my favorite U2 songs). The portions are large and very filling. The prices are cheap and the food is fresh. If you want a quick cheap breakfast, this is the place to go.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank thepersianwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Dolphin Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blue Dolphin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing