We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 25.00*
and up
Admission to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
Ranked #3 of 97 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sprawling botanical garden.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I've visited Botanical Gardens before, but these took our breath away. From walls of orchids in the Conservatory, Twisted Fig and Banyon Trees, a Garden of Aloe Plants, a Path along the water with appropriate plantings, places to have your photo taken, hundreds of varieties of plantings, event spaces and more - it was lovely.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BJBRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"koi pond"
in 112 reviews
"tropical plants"
in 89 reviews
"orchid house"
in 79 reviews
"sarasota bay"
in 280 reviews
"marc chagall"
in 42 reviews
"children's area"
in 50 reviews
"payne mansion"
in 29 reviews
"rainforest garden"
in 27 reviews
"air plants"
in 36 reviews
"banyan trees"
in 101 reviews
"gift shop"
in 123 reviews
"plant life"
in 28 reviews
"special events"
in 36 reviews
"for sale"
in 39 reviews
"few hours"
in 74 reviews
"take your time"
in 29 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 40 reviews
Filter

194 - 198 of 2,722 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Don't miss this place! Not inexpensive but worth every penny. Standouts are the orchids, the asian pool and the childrens tree house area. Views of the bay are quite nice and there are benches and other seating situated throughout the grounds. Lots of shady places out of the sun to take a break and soak in the surroundings.

The banyan tree(s) and bamboo forest are magical.

There are picnic tables outside the gardens and adjacent to parking and the estuary. We took our lunch there, spent over 4 hours on our visit.

The overall facility is well maintained and well-run. The volunteers we spoke with are very informative and enthusiastic.

We signed up for a family membership right off the bat, and will definitely be bringing family and friends so enjoy this gem of a place in the near future.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This is a wonderful botanical garden to visit for anyone, but I would especially highlight that the children's play area was just incredible. My daughter is a teen now, but we just stood there in awe of it! Definitely bring your family here for a few hours out.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

What a treasure this place is. It’s pricy for a day admission $25. but we thoroughly enjoyed the orchid exhibit and all the rare trees and plants. Several water displays and places to rest and take in all the beauty.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Darleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Oh the orchids! Fabulous displays, great collection of so many varieties. You will not be disappointed. Very educational.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank DMarshall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marie Selby Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing