We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grits & fried green tomatoes -- amazing!”

Great Southern Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Grand Champion Executive Chef Jim Shirley opened Great Southern Cafe in 2006 in Seaside, FL. This casual restaurant fuses international cuisines with southern cooking using local produce from nearby farms and fresh seafood from the Gulf of Mexico. Here you will find great seafood, steaks, local vegetables, handmade burgers, southern-style breakfast, specialty drinks and so much more. Dine outside on the deck or inside for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Our friends recommended Great Southern, and it totally lived up to their recommendation! Great, friendly service in the midst of a soggy morning in Seaside. Our family had the perfect fried green tomatoes & crab cakes, balsamic salmon and the Grits A YaYa. It was all amazing. Great coffee too! Highly recommend.

Thank zulu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill T, Public Relations Manager at Great Southern Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Awesome! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

In the heart of Seaside, this restaurant is consistently good. I like to get a vegetable plate of okra, peas, slaw and mashed potatoes. Good breakfast, too!

Thank sandi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill T, Public Relations Manager at Great Southern Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Many thanks! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

I cannot say enough great things about this restaurant. My family and I have been visiting Grayton Beach/Seaside over the last 25 years. This was our first time at Great Southern and it was fabulous. It is definitely our new favorite. For 8 people, at 5pm, we only waited about 20 minutes. That was just an added bonus. All of our meals were great but the Grouper Ya Ya is out of this world. I don't think there is a bad thing on the menu. Worth the wait for this fabulous meal!!

Thank KCYoung78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill T, Public Relations Manager at Great Southern Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Excellent review! Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

My friends dragged me out to Great Southern claiming they have "good food". Although that may somewhat be true, the hour wait for a burger and fries is ridiculous. If you go on a vacation to Santa Rosa beach, I advise you to stop by a McDonald's and skip Great Southern Cafe.

Thank rqwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill T, Public Relations Manager at Great Southern Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We thank you for your feedback. We hope our future guests know that we are a bit different from McDonald's. We use grass fed beef for our burgers, we are located in Seaside's Central Square perfect for shopping while you wait, and we have a full bar and great service. But we understand if you would prefer fast food. Hopefully "rqwilliams" will give us another chance sometime! It really is a fun place place to hang and relax! In the summer it can get quite busy and there is a wait. We do our best to keep guests happy! We have a great text system so you can go shop or walk on to the beach and we text you when your table is ready. Hopefully next time you will have a little more time so you don't feel rushed. Come from 4-6 for happy hour for half off cocktails and wine by the glass, $1 off beer and $10 [dozen] oysters! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We decided to try it for a late lunch on a rainy day. The food was fantastic! I have had shrimp and grits in lots of places but their "Grits a ya ya" were the best. My daughter had a shrimp po boy and there were tons of shrimp on the sandwich. Our service was excellent. He knew the menu and was very personable. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 682leighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill T, Public Relations Manager at Great Southern Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you!!! We LOVE hearing from our guests! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Southern Cafe also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Great Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing