We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seahorse Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 331
USD 316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tarpon Tale Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 293
USD 280
Seaside Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
USD 354
USD 332
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 199
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
93
33
12
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
33
12
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottageshort walkbeach chairsperfect sizecomplimentary bikespeace and quiettiny antspool furnituresized kitchenperfect staycleaning stationhome away from homelocation is greatexplore the islandlaundry roompeggywagon
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had a one-bedroom unit complete with kitchen, living room, large screen television and extra TV in the bedroom. The WiFi worked great. Lots of bikes were available for use of guests along with wagons to cart all the beach equipment (also provided by Seahorse) to the shore. I don't think we could have made a better choice for our week on Sanibel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We arrived at our unit and it seemed a little warm in there. So we turned the temp. down and left to go check things out around the island. When we got back it was 80 degrees in the rooms and the fan was blowing, but it wasn't cool air. So we called and called and finally got someone to call us back. We waited around for a while and I think Shauna called us and said to go do what we needed to do and she would be sure and get it taken care of. So we left to go eat. Thank goodness it was fixed when we got back. She was very nice about it all. The pool is more than small. More the size of a large hot tub. It wasn't really clean, so it was a very quick dip in and out. The cottage was very small, but ok. Not really close to the water and for shelling?????? We live on Longboat Key and Lido Beach has tons bigger shells than down there. Maybe we just didn't go to the right place. It was a nice getaway, but we sure appreciate home a little more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Silvercat34228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed over a long weekend at Seahorse Cottages in the deluxe 1 bedroom and had a spectacular time. It's a great little getaway to have peace and quiet and enjoy the beautiful surroundings Sanibel Island has to offer (the beaches, the solitude, the island "feel"). We had friends stay in all of the cottages. This made it feel so private and cozy. If you'd like a getaway that can accommodate your family and friends, I HIGHLY recommend renting out the entire location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TheDigiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

All my life I had dreamed of going to Sanibel Island and go shelling, as I am a recovering shell-a-holic. For my 2nd Anniversary, Sept. 9-13 2011 that dream came true. We chose to stay at Seahorse Cottages, owned by Peggy Richardson. We couldn't have made a better choice. Everything was delightfully perfect! When we arrived at the cottage we knew we were in heaven. Actually I could tell that as soon as we left Fort Myers for Sanibel Island. The area was even more breathtaking than I imagined. There was beauty everywhere we looked, the gorgeous beaches, amazing trees, great sunny weather, fluffy clouds, pretty tropical plants & flowers, interesting native Florida wildlife, beautiful seashells, eye-catching art for sale in the shops, cute & cozy cottage, we were blown away. We stayed in #2, a one bedroom cottage, which was very cute, cozy, warm & inviting, full of beach decor and well stocked with all the comforts of home. No need to bring: dishes, cups, pots/pans, towels, TP, paper towels, dish soap, bath soap, detergent (there is even a washer/dryer to use- not in each cottage but on the premises), bath soap, just bring food and drinks and what you would bring to a nice hotel. There is a TV and phone in the cottages. THere is also a refridgerator, microwave and coffee maker. The innkeeper (Peggy) is very nice, friendly & helpful. She does her best to accommodate your every need. There is also a perfect sized heated outdoor pool with green lights on at night. Also they provide bicycles and wagons to take on the beach. The pool is wonderful, small and cute, just the kind we like. In the off season you may get it all to yourself like we did. It was very refreshing, we spent lots of time in it. We rode the bikes to the beach at sunset and got some awesome pics. It was like God rolled out the red carpet just for us! The scenery was spectacular. Sunset on the beach at low tide took our breath away. Shells were everywhere. We got to see many live Florida fighting Conchs out looking for food. That was fun! We even found a newly hatched lobster (put him back in the water so he wouldn't dry out). Our first day on the beach there were many box jellyfish (they pack a wallop), so we didn't go in the water. But after that day they were gone and we played in the water. Also there are these adorable little lizards all over the place (green and black anoles). They were fun to play with too. I made a set of earrings with them (just long enough to take a few pics). The babies are only an inch long. Overall, we had an exquisite time and can't wait to return. Words cannot describe the extreme beauty and awesome scenery of South Florida, Sanibel Island in particular. If you want the experience of a lifetime, this is the place to go, and Seahorse Cottages is the place to stay! Affordable too. :)

Room Tip: Efficiency is good for one person, 1 bedroom for couples, and 2 bedroom for families.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank tolbunt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage and it had everything we needed. Loved the availability of bicycles and beach umbrellas. The beach was an easy 5 miniute walk and a great place for the guys to practice their fly fishing skills while the girls cruised for shells. Although the pool is small--it was refreshing and just what we needed after a hot day cruisng through town on the bikes. Also loved having the porches/sitting areas to relax with a glas of wine after a hard day of R & R :)
The only negative for us was that there was only one bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews