We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachview Cottages(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mitchell's Sandcastles(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
365
176
44
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
176
44
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineapple lodgethe cottagesthe kitchenold floridashuffleboard courtlounge chairspalm treesliterally stepsrent bikesshort drivelaid backsmall poolwest gulf drivesecond floorair conditionerstaff was very friendly and helpfulbug spray
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We brought our four children to the Waterside Inn for Spring Break. Although we really wanted to stay in one of the cottages, we opted for one of the Breakers West condos (on the Waterside Inn property and managed by Waterside) because it was bigger - and with six of us, it was just a better fit. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here. The location is perfect, being right on the ocean is priceless. We really enjoyed the morning beach walks and shell hunting, not too mention the sunsets! It is a cozy place that feels like home. The staff was very friendly and helpful - especially Lynn. It was the just the type of place we were looking for - not too big or pretentious. The grounds and beach are very well kept and clean . . . just overall a great place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stillwatergirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Ahh, Spring Break with the kids. Hopefully you took home some great memories of Waterside Inn on the Beach. I'm glad that the Breakers West Condo worked out for you and your four kids. That's what's nice about Waterside Inn; we have lots of choices of accommodations to choose from. We're so blessed to have a great friendly and attentive staff. Both Lynn and Eric are wonderful as well as Joyce our General Manager. Thanks again for the kind review and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is not a place for those who want Ritz Carton accomodations. It IS a place for anyone who wants to escape all that, and walk only yards to a sandy beach with a variety of sea shells that seems infinite after almost every receding tide, while living in spotlessly clean cottages with a little bit of wear here and tear there. Just enough to make you feel as if you stepped out of a novel by Hemingway or a Bogart movie but with hi-def TV, internet, and a wonderful, warm cozy pool in case you got tired of the beach. This is a little paradise for people who are tired of the five star hotel routine.
Oh yes, and did I mention pet friendly? And, with a leash, or in the early morning cheating a bit without a leash but with a ball to throw, the beach is also dog welcoming. Can it get any better? My wife and I (and our two small dogs) did not think so. We are already trying to organize our schedule for a return.

Do try to book one of the beachward cottages. They are simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jbcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

I just read your review and you hit the nail on the head. This is just what we try to convey to all our guests. No, we might not be the Ritz, but we're just as comfortable, just as friendly (if not more), and have a beautiful piece of property that rivals "the big guys". We're very quaint, quiet, yes a bit older, but clean and perfect for the family getaway. As a dog owner myself, it's an added plus that you can bring that special "family member" that might not be accepted at most establishments. I appreciate your imput and the time it took to write this review and look forward to having you back again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Someone finally figured out how to run a business right! First class service, a perfect location, pet friendly, and well decorated, comfy, rooms. My wife and I spent 7 days just taking in the Gulf, perfect weather, the tropical landscaping, riding bike trails, the pool, and pointing out the abundant wildlife. This is exactly why we came, and why we will return.

The Friday night beach party was an unexpected treat. Light hors d'oevres, beer and wine, and a chance to talk with other guests from distant parts of the world, was a true pleasure. Debbie, one of the owners, gave us more information than we could use, regarding restaurants, points of interest, and the history of Sanibel. Her first question was, "How are you enjoying your stay, and is there anything I need to be made aware of, that is not right?" What a shock! In so many places we've vacationed, it's "take it or leave it." We did mention that someone had emptied a big pail of sand and sea shells on the walkway, and she said she would see that it was cleaned up ASAP (which it was.)

I don't know what else to say, except that we definitely will be back soon....counting the days already. By the way, Sanibel is one of the best shelling beaches in the world. We had to make a tough decision on whether to bring back the souvenirs we bought, or sea shells. We compromised, and ending up mailing some things back home.

Room Tip: The cottages are more expensive than the Pineapple building, but well worth the extra bucks.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Hi David ! I remember you and sincerely thank you for such a fine review of Waterside Inn on the Beach! I'm sure many would love to have your problem whether to take souvenirs or sea shells home. Such decisions are what vacations are made for. I'm so appreciative that one of your decisions was to stay with us while you were vacationing in Florida. We try to be unique by offering the Friday Night Beach Sunset parties during our busy season. It's one of the ways we feel we can give back to the wonderful guests that stay here. I'm so glad you liked it and were able to enjoy one of our many "free" sunsets from your gulf-front cottage. It doesn't get much better than that!! We'll be looking forward to your next visit with us, and again, thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 days on the beach and loved every minute of it. Rooms were nice and very close to the beach. For a tropical getaway, you couldn't ask for more at such a price. The rates were good for the time of year and you can't put a price on sitting on your balcony--looking out over the ocean. What a wonderfully relaxing time and a time to renew my relationship with my wife. We'll be back--and bring the kids next time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank slas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to not only write a kind review, but also to post pictures from your vacation to Waterside Inn. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This property is so charming. Exactly what we wanted for our tropical getaway. Quiet and the beach wasn't over run with people. Steps to the beach, clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank -you, thank-you, thank-you for taking the time to comment on Waterside Inn on the Beach. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay here. I remember you and it was such a delight getting to know you. Hope your "battle scars" are healing! If you ever need a relaxing place for some rest and relaxation, we're always here for you! And don't forget to use "No Noseeum Spray"....it's the only spray we reccomment to our guests!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews