We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who needs a passport?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Who needs a passport?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Just got back from a wonderful, late winter break at Waterside Inn. It was perfect, in every way that mattered. Who needs a passport when there is such a beautiful island right here in the good old USA. The cottages are adorable, but the Pineapple "lodge" is perfect for a beach getaway. It is not the Ritz, by any means, but it was very clean and inviting and the beds were comfy. If you prefer a bit more room, reserve the units with the full kitchen. The folks in the office were very helpful. The beach is just steps away. They have lounge chairs that you can pull down to the water's edge. The beach was perfect for long walks, swimming, sunning, the best shelling, and memorable sunsets. Our favorite restaurants were Over Easy, Lighthouse Cafe, Island Pizza, and Cheeburger Cheeburger. What a great late-winter break!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank thehaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, General Manager at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about Waterside Inn on the Beach. We're so glad you had a great Winter break, relaxed, and are now ready to face whatever comes your way. I like your comment about not needing a passport. We have so many great places in the good ole USA that traveling far is not needed to find that "special getaway". Sanibel is such a beautiful island with so much to do and so much to see. We're so happy you found it and even happier that you choose us to spend it with. No matter how long your stay, we have a variety of accommodations that can work for you and your family. Our staff is quick to answer any questions or help you out in any way possible. Our goal is to provide great customer service in a hometown way. We sincerely appreciate your review and hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    153
    38
    27
    13
See reviews for
237
189
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We brought our four children to the Waterside Inn for Spring Break. Although we really wanted to stay in one of the cottages, we opted for one of the Breakers West condos (on the Waterside Inn property and managed by Waterside) because it was bigger - and with six of us, it was just a better fit. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here. The location is perfect, being right on the ocean is priceless. We really enjoyed the morning beach walks and shell hunting, not too mention the sunsets! It is a cozy place that feels like home. The staff was very friendly and helpful - especially Lynn. It was the just the type of place we were looking for - not too big or pretentious. The grounds and beach are very well kept and clean . . . just overall a great place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stillwatergirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Ahh, Spring Break with the kids. Hopefully you took home some great memories of Waterside Inn on the Beach. I'm glad that the Breakers West Condo worked out for you and your four kids. That's what's nice about Waterside Inn; we have lots of choices of accommodations to choose from. We're so blessed to have a great friendly and attentive staff. Both Lynn and Eric are wonderful as well as Joyce our General Manager. Thanks again for the kind review and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is not a place for those who want Ritz Carton accomodations. It IS a place for anyone who wants to escape all that, and walk only yards to a sandy beach with a variety of sea shells that seems infinite after almost every receding tide, while living in spotlessly clean cottages with a little bit of wear here and tear there. Just enough to make you feel as if you stepped out of a novel by Hemingway or a Bogart movie but with hi-def TV, internet, and a wonderful, warm cozy pool in case you got tired of the beach. This is a little paradise for people who are tired of the five star hotel routine.
Oh yes, and did I mention pet friendly? And, with a leash, or in the early morning cheating a bit without a leash but with a ball to throw, the beach is also dog welcoming. Can it get any better? My wife and I (and our two small dogs) did not think so. We are already trying to organize our schedule for a return.

Do try to book one of the beachward cottages. They are simply wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jbcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
I just read your review and you hit the nail on the head. This is just what we try to convey to all our guests. No, we might not be the Ritz, but we're just as comfortable, just as friendly (if not more), and have a beautiful piece of property that rivals "the big guys". We're very quaint, quiet, yes a bit older, but clean and perfect for the family getaway. As a dog owner myself, it's an added plus that you can bring that special "family member" that might not be accepted at most establishments. I appreciate your imput and the time it took to write this review and look forward to having you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Someone finally figured out how to run a business right! First class service, a perfect location, pet friendly, and well decorated, comfy, rooms. My wife and I spent 7 days just taking in the Gulf, perfect weather, the tropical landscaping, riding bike trails, the pool, and pointing out the abundant wildlife. This is exactly why we came, and why we will return.

The Friday night beach party was an unexpected treat. Light hors d'oevres, beer and wine, and a chance to talk with other guests from distant parts of the world, was a true pleasure. Debbie, one of the owners, gave us more information than we could use, regarding restaurants, points of interest, and the history of Sanibel. Her first question was, "How are you enjoying your stay, and is there anything I need to be made aware of, that is not right?" What a shock! In so many places we've vacationed, it's "take it or leave it." We did mention that someone had emptied a big pail of sand and sea shells on the walkway, and she said she would see that it was cleaned up ASAP (which it was.)

I don't know what else to say, except that we definitely will be back soon....counting the days already. By the way, Sanibel is one of the best shelling beaches in the world. We had to make a tough decision on whether to bring back the souvenirs we bought, or sea shells. We compromised, and ending up mailing some things back home.

Room Tip: The cottages are more expensive than the Pineapple building, but well worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Hi David ! I remember you and sincerely thank you for such a fine review of Waterside Inn on the Beach! I'm sure many would love to have your problem whether to take souvenirs or sea shells home. Such decisions are what vacations are made for. I'm so appreciative that one of your decisions was to stay with us while you were vacationing in Florida. We try to be unique by offering the Friday Night Beach Sunset parties during our busy season. It's one of the ways we feel we can give back to the wonderful guests that stay here. I'm so glad you liked it and were able to enjoy one of our many "free" sunsets from your gulf-front cottage. It doesn't get much better than that!! We'll be looking forward to your next visit with us, and again, thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
283 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 days on the beach and loved every minute of it. Rooms were nice and very close to the beach. For a tropical getaway, you couldn't ask for more at such a price. The rates were good for the time of year and you can't put a price on sitting on your balcony--looking out over the ocean. What a wonderfully relaxing time and a time to renew my relationship with my wife. We'll be back--and bring the kids next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank slas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to not only write a kind review, but also to post pictures from your vacation to Waterside Inn. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
4.3 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
4.9 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
7.0 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
5.9 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Property: Waterside Inn on the Beach
Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price range (per night): $262 - $436
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing