We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
203
109
29
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
109
29
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screened in porch sandbar restaurant second floor adirondack chairs small kitchenette literally steps the kitchen old florida daily maid service top floor beach location gulf view beach front the past years your feet nice pool grocery store
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Have been staying here for about five years and love it. We stay in the motel section so don’t know about the cottages.. The rooms are comfortable and there is a patio with lovely views of the beach and coastline.

It is in a quiet area and we love it that you can just walk on to the beach without having to find a parking space. The motel provide beach chairs to take on the beach.

there is also a swimming pool which is great to relax in.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor suffer from noise of other guests walking overhead.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, General Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank You for this great review! Thank you for sharing your experience and letting other travelers know about what we have to offer!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

This place is great and very relaxing, we stayed in a cottage and it was very quiet and a clean cottage. My only negative is the beach at the moment with the red tide, seems no one pitches in to help clean the shore of dead animals that wash up. There are plenty of shells but unfortunately we couldn’t stay out for to long as our sinuses really gave us fits, but that is the only negative. Would be a five star rating if it wasn’t for the red tide!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank levydawg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank You for this great review! Thank you for sharing your experience and letting other travelers know about what we have to offer!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

If you are looking for relaxation on the beach, this is the place for you. We stayed in the motel part of the property, each room faces the beach. We were on the second floor and had the most beautiful view every morning. Plenty of room, comfortable accommodations. Kitchenette was stocked with basic needs. You are not only close to the beach, you were on the beach. We were down the stairs and right there on the beach. Beach is quiet and clean, lots of shells. Facility is older and it shows it's age, but has exactly what we were looking for. If we are back in Sanibel, it will be our go to hotel. Would highly recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing vacation spot with direct beach access.

Room Tip: All motel rooms have view of the beach and gulf. Second floor rooms are quieter due to first floor having noise from the rooms above.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithann60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank You for this great review! Thank you for sharing your experience and letting other travelers know about what we have to offer!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Very friendly & accommodating staff! Great location on the beach and near to everything!
However, do not plan on using their WiFi - it is non-existent on a good day! Stayed 8 days and struggled constantly to get internet! Also, the couch/sleeper in the cottage is not good for sleeping - very hard and uncomfortable! Bring your own pillows too - the ones provided are hard as rocks! The cottage was very clean and the grounds immaculate! I will return!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, General Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank You for this great review! Thank you for sharing your experience and letting other travelers know about what we have to offer!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

If you stay in the Motel on the bottom, get ready for a lot of noise. Every foot step made from your neighbors above will feel like they are going to fall into your room. I don’t know if all the rooms on the bottom are like this but number 7 is. At first glance the room looked pretty clean, but you could tell the bathroom needed a deep clean, which doesn’t look like it ever gets one. The reason for 3 stars is the beach brought it up from 1 star.

Stayed: July 2018
3  Thank smittykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews