We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,464)
Filter reviews
1,464 results
Traveller rating
649
516
175
77
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
516
175
77
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews periwinkle building beach hut paddle boards pool bar resort fee beach staff new york times fridge and microwave chairs and umbrellas screened in porch gulf view second floor coffee maker pool side free bikes ocean front on site restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 1,464 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at a gulf front suite on the top floor of the inn and we booked the "fall escape" deal, which gave us 3 nights with the 4th free. Here's our report:
- we arrived the week after Irma and found minimal storm damage, mostly downed trees and broken limbs.
- Irma brought a lot of shells into the beach, much more than usual.
- Irma stirred the water up a lot so that the water looked like tea rather than aquamarine.
- sanibel inn's pool was closed for maintenance but we were able to use the pool at the sister site - Song of the Sea, a smaller pool.
- other maintenance was going on, such as installation of pavers on all the walkways.
- the on site restaurant was closed for maintenance but food could be had at the outdoor tiki bar.

We learned that a lot of shops and restaurants on Sanibel close up during the month of September and re open in October.

We really like Sanibel Inn but we were surprised by how extensive their maintenance work was. At times it felt like we were staying in a construction zone.

The room was nice and it appeared tired. Some of the seat cushions were worn and stained and the furniture was worn.

Those are the facts. Draw your own conclusions. As I said, we enjoyed our stay and the Fall Escape was a good deal in a beautiful, serene location.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rambomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Rambomania,

Thank you so much for the detailed review of your stay with us. While I'm glad you had a great time overall and enjoyed the beauty and serenity of the property, I'm sorry that a few issues diminished your experience a bit. Please know that what you experienced is highly unusual and based primarily on the delays and complications the storm brought to our property-enhancement projects. That said, although we strive to ensure that our projects minimize any inconvenience to our guests, the items that are entirely under our control - including the items you mentioned pertaining to the furniture in your room - are absolutely in need of our attention. If you would be so kind as to let us know what room you stayed in so we can address these, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again for the very objective review of Sanibel Inn. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to hosting you again soon! By all means, please know that when you return, our property will be better than ever before!

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when we entered the condo we rented at Sanibel Inn for our September shelling vacation. Unit 3435 was clean, comfortable, and attractive. There was a full kitchen with coffee maker, ice maker, and blender, a stacked washer & dryer, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. There was a good-sized screened-in ocean view porch with comfortable seating for 4. The front bedroom was really a really lovely Sanibel
Room with king bed and view of the ocean. The back bedroom had two twin beds, not as comfy, but adequate. The couches in the living room were very comfy, there was a "take a book, leave a book" library, and the TV had all the channels. Decent cell phone service.

The last time we stayed in an "inn" room rather than a condo - no elevator, no in-house washer & dryer, basic adequate room. The condo is nicer. We will rent condos in the future. Hopefully this one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Karen,

I'm so glad you had such a great visit. Indeed, our condo units are the nicest and most well-appointed units we offer at the Inns of Sanibel and I'm glad you had an opportunity to experience one this time.

Please let us know what we can do to make your next stay a perfect one. We appreciate your taking the time to share your impressions and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com
239-472-3181

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Sanibel Inn, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean, and smelled amazing. We had a gulf view which was beautiful. The staff we encountered were all very friendly. If there weren't any umbrellas available on the beach one of their staff would happily to bring one out for us. There were plenty of bikes available to take out on a ride. The island itself is so beautiful and relaxing. Would definitely come back again and stay at the Sanibel Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tsue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We booked a beachfront second floor room with two queen beds (#3126). I'd book again. The view from the window looked over the dunes and out to the beach and gulf. The hotel is older but had been renovated. I'm sure our room is a preferred room and as such is kept to a higher standard (some may not be as recently renovated). We thoroughly enjoyed our say. There are cheaper places but this room has as nice a view as there is on Sanibel! Relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: second floor beach view is probably better as you can see the water over the dunes.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wernolabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Wernolabound,

I appreciate your taking the time to send such a great review and I'm glad your impressions of the resort and your overall experience we so wonderful.

Your impressions of our renovations are appreciated and please know that all of our rooms at the Sanibel Inn were renovated at the same time and are just as lovely as yours.

We appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to welcoming you back for another worthwhile "splurge"!

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com
239-472-3181

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

More than fine for the price, the room is Ok and clean, however the bathroom is not too big. TV was Ok and we could watch movies via HDMI as I had my laptop handy. Key features: air conditioning, huge parking, swimming pool, pool bar, terraces with anti-mosquitos protection net, a few steps away from the beach.
Room for improvement: small kitchen, small bathroom, no elevators. Staff was nice but still waiting for a reply about a lost object after 10 days...

Room Tip: view to the pool, second floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Freebird_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Freebird,

Thank you for the very nice review - I'm glad you had a great time and found so much to enjoy at Sanibel Inn.

Your suggestions for improvement are very much appreciated and will be taken into account as we continually update the inn in the future. That said, I'm very sorry that you are still awaiting information on a missing item - if you will kindly contact me directing (information below), I will help track it down.

Thank you again, we enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com
239-472-3181

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews