We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanibel Inn
Nearby Hotels
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 405*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 243*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
USD 332*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tarpon Tale Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 178*
USD 172*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
USD 286*
USD 207*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 324*
USD 265*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 191*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 281*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 133*
USD 116*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,405)
Filter reviews
1,405 results
Traveller rating
620
498
168
74
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
498
168
74
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperiwinkle buildingbeach hutpaddle boardsbeachfront suitepool barresort feenew york timesbutterfly gardenfridge and microwavegulf viewchairs and umbrellassecond floorpool sidescreened in porchfree bikescoffee makerthe island cow
Filter
Updating list...
1,138 - 1,143 of 1,405 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sanibel Inn for 5 nights beginning on February 13, 2009. I thank everyone who took the time to write reviews of the Sanibel hotels--it was helpful to us in choosing the Sanibel Inn and we had a terrific stay. The hotel is split up in several (7?) medium size buildings that gave us the feel of being in a small-medium hotel. The landscaping really added to its charm. Our oceanfront room really did have beautiful and close-up view of the beach and the screened porch. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the waves was very relaxing. The staff in the office, in the cleaning crew and on the beach really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and to make our stay as enjoyable as possble. The room was clean and just as pictured on Sanibel-Inn's website. The water pressure and shower head were unusually good. My only complaint about the room is that the mattresses should be replaced and upgraded. While not terrible, they were too soft and unsupportive to be comfortable. The drawers in the TV cabinet and the large drawers in the bathroom vanity were a welcome surprise. The pool was in fact heated (important one night when the air got chilly) and clean. The location of the hotel worked out well. It is very close to but not on the main road (Periwinkle Way) and very close to the causeway bridge (helpful to avoid the traffic on Periwinkle). Sanibel Inn is also right on the bike paths, which we used extensively. Along the beach it is 1+ miles east to the lighthouse and there are many miles of beach directly to the west. The tennis courts were very nice. Based on reviews, we opted to skip the on-site restaurants, but we do highly recommend Over-Easy Cafe (even better breakfast and lunch than the more well-known Lighthouse Cafe and an excellent value for the high quality of the food) and for dinner The Mad Hatter (expensive, but one of the best meals we've ever had anywhere) and Sweet Melissas (also excellent food at a new restaurant by a creative chef) and Timbers (popular, large fish restaurant). Lastly, we really appreciated the staff's willingness to cheerfully and promptly help out with any request we made.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adonisamurensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We just got back from a wonderful week at the Sanibel Inn. We stayed in a beachfront suite in the Periwinkle building. When you enter the unit, there is a decent sized bedroom with a king-sized bed, flat-screen TV and an armoire , followed by a nice bathroom with granite counters and a window. Then you enter a nice living area with a pull-out couch, closet, kitchenette with a small fridge, microwave and coffee-maker, another TV in a unit with more drawer space, a small table with 2 chairs, and a lovely screened-in balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. Although the resort was full (being vacation week for many schools), it was quiet and peaceful. My son loved the pool, and I took many long walks on the gorgeous beach. We did have to contend with a sick child for a few days; my son got sick in the middle of the night, of course all over his mattress. Within a few minutes of our call to the front desk, we were supplied with clean sheets, tons of towels and an air mattress (which was actually more comfortable for my son than the mattress on the sofabed- that is actually our only complaint...they need new sofabeds!). We found the staff very friendly and helpful. They even called the day after my son got sick to see if everything was okay and did we need anything. We loved the Sanibel Inn and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZBmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

If you are going to Sanibel to walk the beach and enjoy the great restaurants, this is a perfect location. The suite was spacious enough, great view with a screened porch that was hard to leave- except to get out on the beach. Lots of great restaurants close by, free bikes provided by the hotel. If you are looking for clean, updated, and a great view, this will work nicely.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My family and i just returned from 5 nights at the Sanibel Inn and found it very pleasant.We were located at the furthest building from the beach,and at first thought this would be a problem,but it turned out to be a non issue as the distance is very near . We were in an end unit " Pool and Palm "suite,with a good view of the pool from our screened porch.We played tennis on the 2 courts right beside the room(never mentioned in any info on the resort,which is a mistake) and though they were hard surface courts they were in good repair.I also played at the Dunes Golf and Tennis Club,which are har-tru clay courts,which I prefer.the Dunes is a short 10 minute bike ride away-bicycles provided by the resort-nice touch.
The island is very nice,with a marvellous nature preserve-take the tram tour,and an awesome bay -Tarpon Bay ,where you can kayak through a mangrove swamp,which was the highlight of our holiday.The Island Cow,Over Easy Cafe and the Mucky Duck restaurant in nearby Captiva,should not be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We had a reservation at one of the Inns on Sanibel Island and on arrival we found the facilities unsuitable.
It was six PM. How does one find an acceptable Hotel at the last moment?
I was told Sanibel Inn may have a room, I drove there to inquire..
The receptionist was Jennifer, she told me that they are fully booked but she may accomodate us for six days rather than the eleven days of our projected stay.To say that she was helpful it would be an understatement. Jennifer is an extraordinary young woman. She juggled on hand reservations for about 45 minutes to fit us in. Finally Jennifer found a way to give us an elegant condominium for the eleven days, she saved our vacation, we will be forever grateful. Sanibel Inn is beatiful, every one is helpful,
we were lucky to find it and meet Jennifer.
Minel Kupferberg
Montreal

Stayed: January 2009
Thank CooperMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews