We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real jem in hiding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a real jem in hiding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

what a wonderful place !!!! we stayed for mothers day weekend. rooms were great, big flat screen tv. clean, micro, fridge, and chairs and umbrellas on the beach daily for guests. my wife is 7 months prego. and she was as comfortable as could be. the grounds are kept perfect as can be. if your looking for the perfect little island hideaway this is it for the $$$. we had room 124 pool side 2nd floor and had a great view of the ocean from our porch. it was so nice to sit out there during the day and was so quite and peacful at night... LOVED IT AND WILL RETURN !!!

Room Tip: 124 poolside- 2nd floor ocean view for cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyandjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    216
    53
    29
    18
See reviews for
252
287
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We loved the Seaside Inn. It was nice, quiet and just a few steps from the beach. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_and_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

This was our third time at the Seaside Inn and yet again we had a lovely stay. As we on previous trips we had a Gulf front room we gives great views across the beach and out towards Fort Myers Beach and the coast heading towards the Keys.

If you want a large sophisticated resort then the Seaside Inn is not for you, but if you want a small, friendly, traditional gulf side hotel then this is the place possibly for you. The beach is natural, local laws don't allow the beach to be raked, so there is fair amount of sea debris, but that just adds to the charm. There is plenty of bird life to see, plovers, osprey, pelican, egret etc and if you are lucky the daily swim by of dolphins.

Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided daily on the beach, more than enough for the guests, as well as more by the pool. The room had been updated since our previous visit with new large TV and carpet.

The hotel provides a daily breakfast basket, but over a few days this does become a bit samish, so we just supplement with cereal and toast from the local shops.

Will we return, I hope so.

Room Tip: The Gulf Front rooms are worth the upgrade to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProudCestrian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We only stayed for one night with our 9 year old son. We chose this hotel because we had family vacationing at the property next door. We were given room 112 -- the 2nd floor of the small building nearest the office. We shared a balcony with just one other room (we each had a small table and 2 chairs.) The room was small but more than adequate -- 2 queen beds, table and 2 chairs, closet, large flat screen tv, small kitchenette (coffeemaker, toaster, microwave, sink, and basic dishes), and nice size bathroom. We were surprised by the breakfast basket in the room. Nothing fancy -- bagels & cream cheese, danish, fruit, juice, hard boiled eggs, coffee & tea -- but so nice not to have to worry about breakfast! We headed out to the pool on Saturday afternoon, and were greeted by ice cream, sangria, and lemonade -- they do this twice a week. There is a nice area to clean shells. They have beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach. We were surprised at how close it is to the Sanibel lighthouse -- we ran down there on Sunday morning, but you could easily walk there from the beach if you don't mind a longer stroll. They had bikes to borrow, although we did not take advantage of it. The staff is super friendly. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The small building near the office has great views of the beach from the 2nd floor (there are 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdueGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just returned from a short stay at the Seaside Inn and only have great things to say about the place. Staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in, giving us lots of info about local restaurants etc. We stayed in a cottage, which was spacious and had obviously been recently renovated with modern fittings and a lovely bathroom with a great shower. Probably the best thing about the Seaside Inn is the location, it's right on the beach in lovely gardens, only a short bike ride from most of the main shops and restaurants. (taxis to the other side of the island and Captiva are fixed price from $10 - $30). I'd reccomend taking a couple of bikes and having a ride around the island, there are dedicated cycle paths everywhere and cars have to give way to pedestrians and bikes which makes travelling by bike very easy. I spotted a review here complaining that the bikes that you can take for free from the Seaside Inn 'don't have breaks', but to me that's just someone trying to find fault. They are fixed gear bikes, so you simply peddle backwards to stop - hardly a major inconvenience!?

All in all, the Seaside Inn is a fantastic place to stay, only downsides were that the wi-fi was a little hit and miss, and there is no bar or restaurant on site, but there is a bar at their sister property a short walk away.

I'd suggest driving up to watch the sunset at the mucky duck on Captiva. The food is fairly average, but the location and the ambiance are second to none. Timbers restaurant was the best food by far - amazing seafood and brilliant service.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterCouple1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
1.0 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.1 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
7.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
1.1 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 541 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price range (per night): $263 - $670
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Inn invites you to rediscover the charm of a quaint beachfront inn on beautiful Sanibel Island where life’s pace is slower. Unwind by the pool or enjoy a day at the beach looking for shells or soaking up the sun. Seaside Inn offers personalized service along with 32 newly renovated guestrooms, suites and cottages with interiors inspired by the sun bleached sand beyond the dune. Each guestroom and suite is furnished with a comfortable king or queen beds with views of the pool or beach. The cottages offer a separate living area with a new sleeper sofa, full kitchen and one bedroom with a king bed. Each cottage has a deck just off the living area to enjoy the Florida sun with family while overlooking the pool. Each day a complimentary continental breakfast basket is delivered to the rooms for the next morning’s enjoyment. While on Sanibel enjoy the wide variety of outdoor adventures. Spend time exploring the 23 miles of paved nature trails that wind through the wetlands with one of the bikes provided by Seaside Inn. Visit the J.N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to view a wide variety of migratory birds and explore an unspoiled mangrove ecosystem. For more active play, Sanibel Island offers 18 holes of golf on 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands at the Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. For play and relaxation, let Seaside Inn welcome you to the pace of island living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Sanibel Island
Seaside Inn Sanibel Island
Seaside Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing