We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Song of the Sea..Beautiful and relaxing”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As soon as we arrived at Song of the Sea in early November 2017 we felt this was a special place. First of all, the setting is absolutely gorgeous, the island is so beautiful and pristine it instantly lifted our spirits. Second, the hotel itself is very comfortable, clean, with meticulous landscaping and some luxury amenities, and offers some very special touches that we appreciated very much: the breakfasts on the terrace, the beach access, the bikes, paddleboards and kayaks, and the wonderful staff who were always in a good mood and always ready to help us. Did we mention the fresh-baked cookies? We will be back, Song of the Sea, you have sung your way into our hearts!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ALinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ALinden,

Thank you for sharing such a nice review of your visit. Your description of Song of the Sea as a relaxing, luxurious getaway with special touches throughout is spot-on. I'm so glad you had a great stay and appreciate your glowing comments regarding the hotel, our setting and our amenities. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff as well.

It's great to see you found everything to your liking - we looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com
239-472-3181

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from our stay at Song of the Sea and I have to say it was wonderful. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The resort is well maintained and was a nice quiet place for our romantic get-a-way. Our room was gulf front on the top floor and we had a very nice view. But I could see that any room in the resort would have been a good choice.

I would also like to say I am not usually a continental breakfast person, but they put out a very nice spread. We ate there every morning.

There is a new restaurant right next door, Dante’s. They advertise as coal fire pizza, and it was delicious, but they have much more. I hear they may add room service or at the least, take out soon.

I highly recommend Song of the Sea and would gladly stay there again if we return to Sanibel.

Note: If you want to find nice shells, you have to dig in the water. You can purchase a sand rake at some of the local shops. The resort should consider adding that to the list of rentals—like the bikes.

Room Tip: 2nd floors offer better view. All have screen enclosed porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreversummer_pnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Foreversummer PNJ,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share such a glowing and detailed review of your experience.

I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff and also let them know how much you enjoyed your room, the overall upkeep of the resort, and our complimentary breakfast on the patio.

I'm glad you had an opportunity to enjoy Dante's, at our sister property next door, the Sanibel Inn. They do indeed have so much more to offer beyond great pizza and we're excited about how well-received this new restaurant has been!

We look forward to seeing you again soon, when your travels bring you back to Sanibel Island.

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com
239-472-3181

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Over the past 27 years we have stayed here 12 times when in the Florida area. This has always been our favorite place. We hadn't been to the song of the sea for 3 years til this month. It needs some definite updating and maintenance work. We stayed in room 4106 on the first level, never stayed in that room before. There were quite a few dead buds on the screens and around the outside door. The patio screen had patches on it. The bed was lumpy and the pillows flat. The cleaning service was not that good. One day no one came and another day we had to flag someone down at 4 pm before we left for dinner to clean the room. The pool , gulf /beach area, and breakfast were exceptional. We will be in the area again next year. Would like to give it another try..but not sure. Use to LOVE this place. Hopefully things will improve.

Room Tip: Room 4106 needs updating. First floor rooms walk right out to the pool..very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Susan,

I'm so sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your loyalty over so many years and never intended to let you down this time.

Please be assured, especially in light of the many positive experiences you've had at Song of the Sea in the past, that the items you mentioned are clearly exceptions to our usually high standards of service, cleaning, and quality. I am addressing the issues to ensure that what you experienced will not recur.

I would like to make sure that you continue to love Song of the Sea and it would mean a great deal to us if we could discuss what we can do to renew your loyalty. Please contact me at your earliest convenience or prior to your next trip so that I may personally ensure you have a stay that exceeds the standards you've seen in the past.

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com
239-472-3181

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Song of the Sea is amazing. The grounds are beautiful. The room has an old world charm and was exactly as described on their website. The room was very clean and comfortable. The 2nd floor gulf view was amazing. This resort makes you feel like your in a tropical paradise. The hotel staff was great. Sue helped us get to know the island. She was absolutely amazing. Made us feel right at home!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

My wife and I visited the Song of the Seas for a four night stay two weeks after the hurricanes. We were delighted to see that the property was remarkably in tact and everything looked great. This is due in no small part to the friendly and highly effective maintenance crews we frequently saw on the grounds.
We had a very nice end unit room that consisted of a main bedroom, a small kitchenette, a small bathroom, and a small bonus room at the rear of the unit. The bonus room was a bit odd but we used that to stow our gear and as a dressing room - worked out great. The buildings and rooms are a bit dated, the bathroom, while clean, had some condition and size issues (it is very small), and the furniture is just worn. On the upside, the kitchenette was very well outfitted with plates and utensils, the furnished screened in porch was great, and the bed was comfortable.
We were looking for a quiet place to just unwind for a few days and The SOS delivered. Great pool deck, lovely grounds, great beach with complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas just steps from the room, and lovely grounds. They have complimentary bikes and kayaks if the spirit strikes you. The pool bar at the sister property next door is a don't miss - great happy hour and an OUTSTANDING cheeseburger. Its a 2 minute walk through the new hardscape.
The complimentary breakfast is so-so. mostly bagels/pastry, coffee, and juice. Nothing special. The location of the Song of the Seas on the island makes it very convenient to the best breakfast (and dinner) spots on the island. All in all it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Second floor has best views, ground floor has best access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioLaxDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,447 reviews
1.1 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,954 reviews
0.2 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,339 reviews
6.6 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $276 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing