We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced disappointment”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews, we had expected a wonderful hotel. We were very disappointed. The room was dirty, including the screen, ledge, and floor of the room. The bed, advertised as luxurious, was nothing of the sort. The mattress was lumpy and saggy. The linens were of a low quality. Three bathroom was very tight, hardly enough space to turn around in.

All the poolside suites are right on the pool and the noise carried in. The setup certainly did not feel like a romantic couples retreat.

When you drive up, the hotel looks decrepit and nothing in the room would change your opinion of it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russodavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

Excellent value considering: on the beach, very comfortable room with screened in lanai; kitchenette; free loner bikes; very adequate continental breakfast; free use of beach chairs & beach umbrellas; & very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brnxbmbrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Song of the Sea for their seven day package. This was our third stay at the resort. We find the accomodations are very comfortable and are first rate. The breakfast is included and was one of the reasons we chose Song of the Sea. The staff are very friendly and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Was very relaxing, and the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We were not expecting so many kids as the reviews had said this was more for adults, but we still enjoyed our stay. I wish the units had a broom so as to try to keep the sand out.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor king, It was not worth the extra money, could just barely see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgiagal35377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We were stalwart guests of Capitva's South Seas Plantation, until along came Charley and then Wilma; wiping out the place we loved to spend our anniversary. We were offered Song of the Sea, and we decided to never go back to South Seas. We've stayed 7 years in a row. It's our getaway place. No kids. No teens. No craziness. Just a quiet, pretty, well maintained place that has everything you want nearby...just not there.

Room Tip: gulf facing suites are dandy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
1.1 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,960 reviews
0.2 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,339 reviews
6.6 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $275 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing