We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We loved the ambiance of the hotel, the closeness to the beach and the comfortable, quaint room with a view to the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was a nice treat with quite a few choices that were well stocked. We really enjoyed our stay and we would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 403 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our stay at the Song of the Sea was very nice. It has a great location with just a short walk to the beach. We had a Gulf view room and the upstairs rooms have a better view. The room was clean and the king size bed comfortable but the tile floors need updating. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose the upstair room on the gulf if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bocamalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at Song of the Sea in less than a year, and I thoroughly enjoy this property. Big props go to Cheryl at the front office for her wonderful and helpful attitude; she is a blessing on their front lines. This property is small, which is nice as it offers a more intimate atmosphere, but it is next door to a sister property that has a 'bigger hotel' feel. Small pool (and detached hot tub) in the courtyard - but big enough for my 4 teenagers to horse around in and have fun. Heavy Continental breakfast runs from 7:30-10: pastries, make-your-own-waffles, fresh fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal and hard-boiled eggs - and you can take it to your room for privacy or eat in their front office courtyard. 2 shuffleboard courts; a gas grill that you can use for on-locale dining; tables and chairs dotting the grounds for out-of-room dining; and about 20 lounge chairs on the beach under umbrellas. Beach loungers and complimentary bikes are first-come. There is guest laundry on site, which is nice, and the hotel provides beach/pool towels so you don't need to pack your own. Each room has a screened in porch with 2 chairs and a table. The bed linens are comfortable and there is no shortage of towels. Sanibel does not offer a true luxury, 5-star hotel, nor does Captiva; but Song of the Sea is a lovely alternative. I've been going to Sanibel for almost 40 years and have stayed all over the island; this is a property I recommend because it is comfortable, friendly and inviting. Avid shellers beware - the mounds of shells of ages ago are no more. You can always find something on the beach, but the really special, rare shells have evaded me for years. That's my only complaint - and it has nothing to do with the property!

Room Tip: We've stayed in both ground floor and second floor rooms - there is no elevator on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel's major advantage is its location to the beach. It is a short walk as compared to some of the other hotels in the area. The rooms was a nice size and the beds were comfortable. This issue I had was the room was not very clean. THe tile floor was filthy and needed to be scrubbed since Hoover was president. The grout was mostly black where it had been gray. The texturing in the tile was black. And yes, I took a cloth and scrubbed a small area to test if it was dirt or the tile color. It was actulaay sticky in places. When I complained, the result was a damp towel wipe on the sticky parts. Asking for an extra towell had to be repeated several time before that happened. I still gave it two stars because of its outer appearance and, as I said, closeness to the beach. Would I go back? No.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

As usual a peaceful getaway, our 4th time here! Since we have been here before, we know what to expect especially in housekeeping. The first housekeeper did not do everything as expected and the room inspector didn't check out the room, especially standing from the door way! Our luck changed, we got the supervisior to do our room! I explained everything, she was awesome, her name is Diane, she did our room the rest of our stay! Everyone was pleasant, friendly and helpful! Definitely we will go back for number 5!

Room Tip: We would recommend the first building, you have a great view of the ocean and pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,447 reviews
1.1 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,956 reviews
0.2 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,339 reviews
6.6 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $276 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing