We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around St. Petersburg
from USD 950.00
More Info
from USD 74.79
More Info
from USD 107.00
More Info
from USD 45.00
More Info
Reviews (1,632)
Filter reviews
1,632 results
Traveller rating
805
597
180
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
597
180
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tropical plants koi fish water features butterfly garden snapping turtle sink hole old florida plant life children's museum nice stroll gift shop flora and fauna couple of hours st pete on display downtown st flamingos
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 1,632 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

What a pleasant oasis in the middle of the city. We strolled through the gardens on a weekday morning before heading off to the beach. Found it to be just the right amount of peace and quiet, exercise, visual stimulation and learning experience. Check local attraction brochures for half-price coupons, and you'll easily feel you got your money's worth! Lots of free parking.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BlueJay89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I liked Sunken Gardens better than i thought i would. It is a commercial venue, rather than a public park, and is in an otherwise developed commercial area. But once you are inside, you are in a different world, a tropic setting with plants from around the world's tropical regions. It is not large, but that is OK because it is best toured slowly. There are myriad interesting and attractive trees, vine, flower plants, and other flora (many of which are marked with identifiers), and you will appreciate them best if you take the time to stop and look carefully at them. To that end, there are lots of benches along the well-marked trails. I'd set aside about two hours to experience the gardens. My recommendation is to get there when the gardens open. It will be quieter with fewer guests and, during most of the year, you can also avoid the afternoon heat. I can recall what the entrance fee was, but it was moderate and a good value.. There is a small gift shop, and an the adjacent small plaza has an Italian restaurant that was OK and around the corner a very good bakery, ice cream, and other goodies place.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank freetogoConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Lush tropical gardens convenient to center offers much in a compact space. Huge palms and Live Oak trees provide cooling shade on a hot day. Great variety of flowering trees and flowers assure something always in bloom. Meandering paths offer a new view around each corner. Koi fish ponds and talking tropical parrots and to the mix. Check local tourist flyers for BOGO discount coupons.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Georgia2Qs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This attraction is so old Florida-charming and authentic. Two of the flamingos were born in the '50's; who knew? Of note, the young lady at the reception area was too involved with her personal phone to exude any kind of greeting or interest in customer care. This place is so awesome and it is a shame a staff member's enthusiasm does not match the beauty. A greeter is the manager of first impressions, after all.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank happy1969_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We visited Sunken Gardens with friends who we were taking to the airport. We budgeted a couple of hours for the visit and that was more than enough time. The gardens are located in the city itself but, since they are about 15-20 feet lower than the streets which surround them, you do not even realize you're in a developed area. The pathways throughout are easy to follow and the plant life is interesting and colorful. There is a butterfly garden and flock(?) of flamingos to enjoy, as well. If you're visiting the city, this would be a relaxing stop, but I would couple it with visits to other attractions.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews