We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bon Aire Resort Motel..................DON'T GO THERE!”
Review of Bon Aire Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bon Aire Resort
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I've stayed in a lot of places. But this one is at the bottom of the barrel. It looks like it was built in the 1940's or 50's and hasn't been renovated since. The faucets leaked. The walls were cracked and left unrepaired. The place stunk so badly of mold or God-knows-what that the stench stuck to our clothing for days. The bathroom door was either warped or so poorly installed that after being closed it 'stuck' closed and literally had to be pulled open using both hands. The furnishings looked like they came over on the Mayflower.

I had a 4 day reservation and bailed out after 2 days and would have left sooner had not a minimum non-refundable deposit of two days been required. The first thing I wanted to do after leaving was TAKE A SHOWER then wash the stink of the room out of my clothes.

Room Tip: Choose one anywhere but at the Bon Aire
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Bon Aire Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our favorite place to escape for a couple of days. The beach is just steps away from any room. All the rooms are clean and comfortable. We have stayed in all room types from efficiency to deluxe and we have always been satisified. Sand bar bills is the perfect place to go for a lunch or sunset supper. All of the food is good but I like the chicken sandwich with pineapple and the nachos are perfect to share foe lunch. The piña colada is very good and you can keep a tab and pay when you check out. There is cabana rental on the beach right in front of the motel. Just claim a spot and someone will collect so have cash.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to send a map of the property. Unless you stay a whole week you can't pick a speci...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestieLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

On our quick weekend trip to FL, we hadn't yet booked a place- but drove up and down St. Pete's beach area and finally (thanks to TripAdvisor) found this perfect spot! It was such a find - we were able to book their most basic room (did turn out to be pretty tiny - but CLEAN!) for under $100. We immediately put on our sandals and bathing suits and walked through the property to the tiki cabana bar - heaven. We ordered a few rounds of house margaritas (for under $4 each) and enjoyed this little piece of paradise right there on the beach. This is what sealed the deal for us - and later returned to order burgers- which also turned out to be really good. We felt like we were staying in an all-inclusive on the beach - and although it was not posh by any means, everything in the rooms and out was clean and SO affordable. And the sand along this area was really powdery and nice. Affordable, clean, heated outside pool, margs ON the beach... it was a lucky find for us!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

1950's era atmosphere with a wonderful neon sign to boot. The property is beautiful with lots of green space and large flowering plants. We had a single queen room and I was very pleased. The room and bathroom were spotless. Each day room service came and made the bed, emptied the trash, and replenished the towels. Shuffleboard, two heated pools, and volleyball all make for nice entertainment. Sandbar Bill's has THE BEST cheeseburger. Oh, and the staff are super friendly (as are the owners)! Do not miss this hidden gem.

Room Tip: Avoid the room directly above the ice machine/laundry facility.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I have been staying at the Bon Aire since 1963. Best place to stay for the price and a real family vacation atmosphere. The beach is great, Sandbar Bills is great and the staff are great! If you are looking for a nice relaxing vacation where you can fish, swim, relax and get refreshed the Bon Aire is the place. 2 pools, nice variety of rooms and a laid back experience. It is like walking back in time and experiencing old Florida. I recommend the Bon Aire to everyone wanting to go home feeling like a new person.

Room Tip: The Bon Aire has a variety of rooms from just a Hotel room to 1 bedroom apts. If you get a room with...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.0 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,743 reviews
1.9 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
561 reviews
0.5 km away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,223 reviews
0.2 km away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.9 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around St. Pete Beach

Been to Bon Aire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Aire Resort

Address: 4350 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3831
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $99 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Aire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Bon Aire Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Bon Aire
Bon Aire Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing