We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Winner!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another Winner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Just got back from another heavenly week at the Bay Palms. . . the weather was gorgeous and the hospitality of the staff was at its usual high level. For those of you trying to decide if you want to stay there - the best things I can say are that the property is spotless, the decor is modern and comfortable and the people will go out of their way to help you and make sure you're comfortable. Robert seems to always be around making sure things are OK (we found him one night straightening out the chairs on the deck, not something you'd necessarily expect from one of the "higher ups"), the housekeeping staff are polite and friendly (one of the girls made a point to tell us how much they appreciated us staying there) and the front desk staff could answer any question. Ample chairs on the huge deck if you want to spend some time tanning or fishing; outdoor bar-b-ques for guest use; pet friendly. Recycling is a big thing here, too. Our only (SLIGHT) disappointments on this trip were that we weren't able to book the room we stayed in last year and the quality of the bedding. As much time and money as the owners have put into decorating and modernizing the property, they need to do an upgrade on the bed linens - they seemed a little "thin" after sleeping on them for a few nights. This is really a place you'll want to come back to year after year - I know we do!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 109 (just not when we're there ; ); fantastic view of the bay, spacious and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    128
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
186
226
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

What a well kept secret the Bay Palms is. If you want a quiet, restful, clean place to stay, the Bay Palms is perfect. It is on Boca Ciega Bay directly across Gulf Blvd. from the Gulf of Mexico. My room, a one bedroom efficiency, was kept immaculately clean by the house maid Yougita. The people, including the owners, were friendly and courteous. I enjoyed the pets from both the Bay Palms and the Bay View. And what a great location. I could walk to any thing that I needed (Walgreens, Publix, Dollar Tree, etc.). I really liked sitting on the dock in the morning having my coffee and visiting with the customers. I also enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidoswego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Overall, this was a pretty ok place, which is why I'm giving it 3 stars. This is a group of three very small properties, The Plaza Beach Resort (which is separate and a short drive down the street) and the Bay Palms/Bay View Plaza, which are right next door to each other. However, only one, the Bay Palms, accepts dogs, which is why we stayed here, with our two Pomeranians. The room was a nice size and very clean, which was nice. Also, there is a nice seating area outside each room, that overlooks the bay, with a couple chairs and a table. HOWEVER, upon arrival we found that there is NO place for the dogs to pee ANYWHERE ON HOTEL PROPERTY, since the entire place (and the one next door) is done in pavers and cement! There is a very small patch of grass about a block (!) down from this hotel, which you have to walk down Gulf Blvd. (a VERY busy thoroughfare with skinny sidewalks right NEXT to the traffic) to get to. Note, this grassy area is tiny and is not even part of the hotel's property, it's someone ELSE's property! You also cannot cut through the pool area with a dog and the pool is between the Bay Palms and the grassy area, so walking all the way around on busy Gulf Blvd. is the ONLY way to get to this small patch of grass. The patch, itself, is adjacent to a parking lot (I think it's overflow parking for the Italian restaurant) but the parking lot was deserted and very dark, at night, so probably not very safe, either. I believe they need to either make the hotel that is adjacent to the patch of grass the one that takes dogs or don't allow them at all because this place is certainly not what I would call dog-friendly. It takes more than just "accepting" dogs to make a place dog friendly. Housebroken dogs (as mine are, very well trained) have to relieve themselves, somewhere! I was very upset that there was NO place for my dogs to do so. It's also very inconvenient, first thing in the morning, when the dogs really, really, have to GO and you have to walk them a full block away, in traffic, even before your morning coffee! And it's not like the hotel doesn't have the space, because, In between the two properties, there is a cute, small fenced in area with a lawn swing and a couple of chairs. This would be an EXCELLENT place for a small dog area. Unfortunately, that, too is all pavers and cement! If they are going to accept dogs (and attract the business that accepting dogs brings) then the owners of this hotel might want to think about making their property a little more "welcoming" to dog owners, rather than just saying, "We allow dogs", then not making a place to accommodate them. Why, on earth, would you advertise that you accept dogs when there is absolutely no place for dogs to go potty?? I won't stay here again, unfortunately. And it is unfortunate because my husband really liked the bay and the fishing dock. :( The other thing I wasn't happy about was that there was no one in the office of the Bay Palms or the Bay View Plaza, while we were there. The only office that is manned is the Plaza Beach Resort down the street. So if you have any sort of problem or question, you can't just pick up the phone in your room and hit "0" to dial the front desk, because there is no one there and no one will answer. You will have to look up the number for the Plaza Beach Resort down the street and call there and wait for someone to come and fix your problem.

Room Tip: My only tip would be DO NOT stay here with your dog. It sucks to have to walk them so far away and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you so for your review of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. I’m pleased to hear that you were happy with your room accommodations, and found the rooms to be clean and spacious. However, I do apologize that we fell short satisfying your pet needs. The Bay Palms Waterfront Resort does have pet friendly rooms, not all the rooms are pet friendly, but we do accommodate guest with pets in some of our rooms.

I reviewed your comments, as I do with all comments posted and you made some great points. I am happy to let you know, that because of your review, we will be designing the fencing around the pool area as well as providing a small grassy area for our pets. There are two dog parks within 100 yards of the property; which have always served and will continue to serve their purpose and offer a large area for pets. However, you make a good point that not all dogs are house trained, and some may need a closer grassy area. The new fence will now just enclose the pool itself, not all the common area, which will allow you to walk through the pool area. There will also be a small grassy area, where pets can do their business. We will provide doggy poop bags and hope that pet owners keep the area clean.

These new improvements will take place in the coming weeks and should be done by May.01.2012. We welcome you back after that date, to see our new and improved Pet Friendly hotel at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Thank you again for your review and for helping us improve our property for future guest.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager/Owner
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach
“Traditions Start Here”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manito, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is our fourth year of staying at the Bay Palms. This hotel is very affordable, clean, quiet, and close to everything. The big deck over the bay is great for relaxing or fishing. The rooms are older, but very clean and well maintained. Access to the beach is just across the road, or through the sister hotel a short block away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. We have our reservations already made for next winter!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterbreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you for ANOTHER superb review. I am so happy that the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is your yearly retreat. It’s great repeat guest like yourselves that really make the hotel wonderful and provide a great atmosphere. We are always upgrading and improving and we’ll have more great things to show you next year. Try to stay warm in Illinois, we’ll be thinking about you.

See you in 2013

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts- St Pete Beach
Family Owned and Operated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was a really cute place - the outside is as nice as shown in the photos. The piers and decks out over the water give a great morning spot for watching the sun come up with a cup of coffee. Pool is small but clean. Rooms were showing their age, but looks like they try hard to maintain them. Bed left a lot to be desired! Good home base if you don't plan to spend too much time in your bedroom.

Room Tip: I think this place has a nicer outdoor area/pool than the sister hotel across the street on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.6 km away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
1.0 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
1.1 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,741 reviews
1.7 km away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Property: Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price range (per night): $161 - $412
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing