We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Close, Convenient, Clean”

Review of Ebb Tide

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St. George Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jimdawg66
Acworth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ebb Tide is a 4 - Resort Vacation Properties is a 2 - Result of Stay a 3”
Reviewed 4 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

First, the house is a good value. It's a very short walk to the beach. Normally, I will only stay directly on a beach. In this case, with two dogs and very short notice, I had to settle for being just off the beach, In the case of Ebb Tide, it is very close to the beach and you still have views of the water from the home. Personally, I was pleasantly surprised.

The home is plenty large for 6-8 people and a couple of small dogs. It does need a furniture update but if I was running a beach rental property, I'd struggle to invest in that as well. The kitchen set-up is perfect for staying in and cooking (a good idea with St. George restaurants......yuk). And the shower and faucet set-up at the lowest level are perfect to clean yourself off before re-entering the home after a day at the beach. Again, I was pleased.

As for Resort Vacation Properties, well it got off to a nice start. Since the home was not rented for days prior to our stay, we were allowed in at 1pm. Upon entering, we found 4 dead roaches in different rooms. I am not freaked out about stuff like that. In fact, I'm glad they use an exterminator. But for others during our stay, it made them very uncomfortable. Had RVP made a simple same day look (their office is only one block away) at the house on the day we arrived, they could have easily taken care of this. The floors, beds, and furniture also had sand on them. Housekeeping was simply unacceptable.

The thing that really upset me was the fact our master bedroom had no working TV. On the evening of Day 1, we realized both the internet didn't work and the master bedroom TV was broken. No big deal for one day. So we called it in the next morning. A hour or so later, maintenance comes out and confirms both issues. They leave, and we never hear from them again. A phone call and an email went entirely unreturned. For what I paid for a three night stay, I deserved to hear something. And no.....the beach was not packed this weekend. It was a very quiet weekend at the end of the season. They did send the internet company. That group did fix that problem. But they weren't willing to address or discuss the TV issue. Had they called us back, I would have also asked for more than the one bath towel we had per bathroom.

If you can get a deal on this home, I'd still suggest staying at Ebb Tide. Just don't expect great service from RVP. Service appears to be the same as what you'll find in most of the area restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation rental experience with us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ebb Tide. We are disappointed that your experience with our company wasn't as positive. There is no excuse for not receiving a call back and we apologize. Upon researching the situation, it appears we did receive your messages but they were not forwarded to all of the appropriate departments. As our overall TripAdvisor Rating attests to, it is not normal for our company to provide anything less than stellar customer service and we will use this scenario in future training opportunities. Our Housekeeping Department consistently maintains high standards, but in this instance, it appears we did not and we are sorry for the discomfort this caused you and your guests. You are correct in that the home should have been better inspected prior to your arrival and we have forwarded this information to them. For our guests' convenience, it is our policy to provide one bath and hand towel plus a wash cloth for each person in the party and at anytime, we are happy to bring more. With regards to the TV, just after your departure it was determined that it would not be able to be repaired & so it has been replaced. We appreciate your willingness to share your experience and your honest feedback has provided us the opportunity to address these issues and to ensure that our policies are understood within each department. Again, please accept our apologies and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust. Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Reviewed 28 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing Noteworthy
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TN
Reviewed 7 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michigan
Reviewed 4 June 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Very near "downtown".
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jun 2010
Thank you for sharing your rental experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation on St. George Island and your stay at Ebb Tide. We are delighted you had a "weeks worth of paradise!" We value your patronage and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Be sure to check our website regularly for new specials and discounts.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MAGOG, QC.Canada .
Reviewed 22 December 2009 for a stay in March 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing