We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food-overpriced for what you get”

Salt Life Food Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 20
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Proud winner of the 2017 Best of St. Augustine Competition for the following categories: Best Seafood Restaurant, Best Restaurant Overall, Best Family Restaurant, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Servers and Best Fish Tacos. We offer a carefully crafted eclectic menu to cater to all tastes and personalities. Enjoy a wide array of specialty menu items, some favorites we have picked up along the way, including a Tuna Poke Bowl (straight from Wishbones in Costa Rica), Fresh Rolled Sushi, Local Fried Shrimp and Local Fresh Catch Rainforest Shack Fish. There are plenty of options to suit your many cravings. We also feature a full bar with twenty different beers on tap.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We thought this was an independent beach restaurant, but realized it’s actually more of a chain type place. It reminds me of Joe’s Crab Shack. The food is ok, but nothing super special. The service was really good and you’re paying for the fun, beach atmosphere, but there are much better places to go if you’d like some really good seafood in the area.

1  Thank autumnotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Life F, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Life Food Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the service and atmosphere. We take a great deal of pride in our scratch kitchen and daily fresh fish deliveries.

Salt Life Food Shack is well known for our award winning food; in fact, we were just voted best seafood restaurant, best restaurant overall, best family restaurant, best outdoor dining, best servers and best fish tacos.

We were also runner up for best sushi bar, best happy hour, best chowder and best oysters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 345 of 4,261 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

It's crowded, and have a long wait list, and difficult parking. The atmosphere of this restaurant is great, loved seating outside with a nice weather. Staff is nice, but don't expect to be check all the time. Ours disappear for a while and I have to go ask for my butter and check cause the place is busy. The have live music outside, and ya can seat w drinks. Food was great, Seafood and pasta seafood was very good. Drinks are good. Price is not cheap, but not expensive either, average. This place is know as one of the best around town, so expect to be busy and crowded.

Thank carviana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Life F, Public Relations Manager at Salt Life Food Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the music, drinks and food. We take a great deal of pride in our scratch kitchen and fresh fish deliveries at an affordable price. Salt Life Food Shack offers free valet service so on your next visit this might be a better option for you if you find parking to be difficult.

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience with service. We assure you that your experience with the staff members is not the norm. We have great staff members who have a true understanding of genuine hospitality. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future! Stay salty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I recently dined at Salt Life Food Shack and really enjoyed my experience. The servers were attentive and took my order quickly. They have a good knowledge of their product and recommended a sushi roll. This was excellent. The atmosphere was fun. They have nightly live entertainment on the patio. I would highly recommend this place

    • Value
    • Food
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This place is awesome! Great food, great fun, great atmosphere, And great view from upstairs. I love going here just to relax and enjoy beverageThe sceneryIn the food. I highly recommended anyone Visiting St. Augustine Florida. The locals love it too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bodydoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Well, we tried. First night we arrived, they weren’t seating anymore people and informed us it was a 3-hour wait. Attempted again tonight but called first before driving back out. We were informed that it was against their policy to give wait times over the phone and it was first come, first served. Even after my husband told the young lady we were visitors in the area and wanted to know before driving the distance, she wouldn’t budge. I think they need to either rethink the policy or provide priority seating via OpenTable or over the phone. Sheesh!

Thank Mill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Life F, Public Relations Manager at Salt Life Food Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Salt Life Food Shack believes in total guest satisfaction and we work hard to achieve that goal. We're truly sorry to hear you gave up on us due to us not giving you a wait time. We do have a policy not to give wait times over the phone for several different reasons. We offer regular seating by a host for our dining room, patio and upstairs that is managed by our hostess however we also also high tops that are first come, first serve tables inside, outside and upstairs that may allow for you to not have a wait at all, even at our busiest point of the night. We would hate to give you a wait time over the phone and it not be correct when you walk through the door. We truly would appreciate your business and hope you will give us another try in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Life Food Shack also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Salt Life Food Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing