We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,013)
Filter reviews
2,013 results
Traveller rating
1,078
522
244
100
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,078
522
244
100
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel premium room flagler college resort fee beach club lightner museum lobby bar luxury hotel per day pool area valet staff within walking distance hotel restaurant perfect location hotel in st oldest city george street
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 2,013 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We took a corporate group visiting from all over the United States for dinner/dessert. Alex, the GM took care of all the details with little effort from our end. We were greeted by Jessica, the beverage manger, who checked on our group several times after seating us. Our waiter Jason gave each guest one on one attention. Truly a dining experience, not your average restaurant/hotel. Highly recommended if you want to impress your guests. Thank you for a 5 star evening.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Niki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We recently stayed at the Casa Monica upon reading a review about its history, location and upscale service. Upon arrival, its grand appearance in the center of town was everything we had hoped it would be.

We decided to use the valet parking, as the parking area on the street was quite limited. The valet were very helpful and quick to unload our car and directed us to the lobby so we could check-in.

The lobby is beautifully decorated in antiques and furnishings from the Spanish era. There are pictures throughout the lobby and shops showing the history of the hotel and the changes that occurred along the way to present day.

Upon check-in the Guest Services were prompt and polite. We were given a room on the 3rd floor with of view of the Square. Our Bellman escorted us to our room and gave us a thorough rundown on all the "must-do's" in the area.

The room was quite large and impeccably clean and very comfortable. As this is an older hotel we were expecting the rooms to be smaller, so this was a very nice surprise.

The hotel has a very nice bar to help you unwind and the restaurant is lovely. There is a small pool and sunning area, as well as an exercise room.

Casa Monica is listed in the Register of Historic Hotels and is one of the oldest in the United States. It has charm and a lot of character for you to explore. It is also haunted which was one of the reasons we decided to stay there on this visit Although we did not have any paranormal experiences, we did have too many strange and unexplainable events happen while we were there. Mind you, we only stayed 1 night! The best conclusion we can come to is that we were toyed with for the enjoyment of our ghostly acquaintances. Definitely do your homework before you go, so you can enjoy your time there.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MKratochvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

The level of service you receive from the guest services team is very good. The lobby of the hotel is nice and the bar is a nice place to have a drink and relax. Unfortunately, the rooms aren't very nice. The bathroom needed a renovation. The water pressure was awful. The walls seem paper thin so you are bound to be woken up by anyone making noise next door or in the hall. It was as if they were in the room with us. The pool area is small but nice. What was disappointing was that they didn't have anything happening out there. We were there the first weekend in February, but the weather was warm enough to enjoy sitting out by the pool and in the evenings with the heaters on. The fees they charge are absolutely ridiculous. We paid a $22 per day resort fee and of course a fee for parking because there's nowhere to park other than valet. We ended up with almost $400 in charges from resort fees and parking. Although the hotel overall was nice, I wouldn't consider it a resort in any way and don't think we should be charged so much for the level of the rooms and lack of overall amenities. The hotel is very pretty, but we wouldn't stay there again. The value you receive for the high costs aren't worth it. There's a lot of places to stay in St. Augustine you could try instead. Oh...we stayed at a Hilton Double Tree when our flight got cancelled going home. It cost about $300 less per night and the hotel room was MUCH nicer. Casa Monica, could you please upgrade your toilet paper. Most hotels have 1-ply, but what you offer is even below those standards.

Room Tip: We only saw our room so I'm not sure how to choose a better one. You'd pay more and probably not get more out of it.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TCInman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meredith k, Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Casa Monica. We are delighted you received excellent service from the guest service team. However, we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your entire experience. I can understand how frustrating this could have been for you. Our toilet paper is Kleenex Cottonelle 2ply. We can use this feedback to possibly enhance our current spec in the future. If you will contact me directly I would be happy to review your statement and refund your resort fee charges. We are in the planning phase of a bathroom renovation and hope that you will visit us again if your travels bring you back to St. Augustine. Please contact me directly and I can share any progress on updates to the property and ensure a nice quiet room upgrade for you.
Kind Regards,
Meredith Klindtworth
904-827-1888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Cannot say enough good words about our stay this weekend! Our room was very spacious and had a full sitting area overlooking the park. Even though it has historic furnishings it doesn't feel "old" by any means.
I contacted the concierge (Amazing Allie!!!)
and talked to her about ideas to celebrate my husbands birthday weekend and she really came through! We visited the San Sebastian winery, took a romantic carriage ride and dined at the Raintree restaurant- and Allie arranged every thing!

We have stayed in St Augustine many times (we live nearby) but this was our first stay at the Casa Monica- this will be our "go-to" from now on
The entire staff was friendly and professional- room service was prompt and delicious. Thank you for a great weekend!!! Especially to Allie who made it all come together

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Loved this hotel! It has everything under one roof, including a great restaurant (Costa Brava), a fun bar (Cobalt Lounge, includes live jazz some evenings), a handy Starbucks coffee shop (Cafe Cordova), pool and hot tub, art gallery and spa. Plus the staff is great - helpful, pleasant and attentive. If you want to go somewhere to just relax and put your feet up, this is the place.

First, the hotel is beautiful, inside and out. It is decorated Moroccan-style, and authentically, as we can attest, having just been to Morocco last fall. It's an impressive building from the outside, and the interior is luxurious with an exotic flair. The rooms are very nice with plenty of space, nice bathroom with large shower enclosure, plenty of counter space and good water pressure. The beds were comfortable with lots of extra pillows and fluffy comforters.

The service was excellent. The staff was helpful and friendly at check in. They took care of reservations for the hotel restaurant, Costa Brava (also fantastic!). We ordered room service one evening and it was quick and easy (and not overpriced). The front desk helped with maps and tickets to Hop-On, Hop-Off Trolley tour (which stops right across the street). The service at the bar in the lobby was great too - very personable staff - as well as at the restaurant. All top notch, as you would expect in a good hotel.

We recommend getting a drink at the bar, Cobalt Lounge. It's an inviting area with comfortable seating and gets very popular in the evenings, especially when the jazz ensemble is playing. Lots of energy and activity as the bar is right off the lobby and great for watching people come and go. Also highly recommend trying the restaurant, Costa Bravo. It's a very good restaurant for fine dining, a notch above many others in the area. We had dinner at Costa Brava our first night and every dish was delicious. We had two of the salads and the filet mignon and lamb chops. All the dishes had interesting, flavorful ingredients. It's a quiet, comfortable restaurant too, with attentive service, which is really nice after a day of travel.

The other great asset about this place is its location. Perfect!! You are right in the best spot to walk to the main shopping area, just across the street, as well as the "oldest street" a few blocks down. There are numerous art galleries and high-end shops nearby, including the art gallery attached to the hotel, which is worth a look or two. And it's just a few blocks from the famous Lion Bridge and a brisk walk to the Fort. The funky Lightner Museum is right across the street, as is the community park which was beautifully decorated with white night lights while we were there. There is a handy stop for the Hop-On, Hop-Off Trolley across the street in front of the museum too. We recommend the trolley tour to get the lay of the land and hear some great stories about St Augustine.

All in all, this is the place to stay, whether you want to just relax in a nice spa hotel, or have a place as base for sight-seeing. St Augustine is a really beautiful town and the perfect destination for a long weekend of picture taking, shopping, sight-seeing and eating in sunny Florida.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hungry Thompson... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews