We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location and more...”
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Location, location, location and more...”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Two senior couples shared a Castillo Suite for a 1-night getaway recently. We arrive two hours before check in but were warmly welcomed and accommodated. We were somewhat confused about the parking from the directions on the website, but when we slowed to ask at the office, a staffer jumped out to direct us to a nearby parking spot. He unloaded the luggage while we checked in. The room was not ready, but the front desk called and instructed cleaning staff to ready the room a.s.a.p. We received a parking pass which allowed us to bypass the $10.00 parking garage charge. Instead a $5.00 per day charge was added to our room. We didn't need our car at all, since the Inn is so well placed in the historic old city. We were within walking distance to most of the historic sites and a slew of fun shops and old churches. Great restaurants were mere blocks - or at farthest, a trolley ride away. (We highly recommend the using the trolley.) All of the rooms occupy the second floors of neighboring houses. Our suite faced the old Spanish fort and had a view of the Lion's bridge and bay. The rear porch faced the oldest wooden school house in the country. The side view was a court yard with water powered wheel and an ancient blacksmith shop. The covered porch that we shared with one other suite ran around three sides of the building and had comfortable rockers. Additional security was present in a picturesque iron gate at the porch entrance that unlocked with our room key. The suite was very clean, nicely decorated and quite spacious with a separate queen bedroom, full closet, large bathroom with ample towels, dining area and living area. One couple slept on a comfortable pull-out queen size sofa. A small refrigerator and coffee/tea maker made living and snacking easy. The excellent continental breakfast included a variety of baked goods, yogurts, meats and fruit. We took ours up to our dining area - but the courtyard outside the front office was also a nice place to sit and eat. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. The area was very quiet on this early March weekday evening. On our way back from dinner, all the shops were already closed and shuttered. We enjoyed the peaceful walk, but know it isn't everyone's cup of tea. We loved everything about the St. George Inn, especially the convenient location, historic atmosphere and ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    191
    51
    13
    4
See reviews for
221
500
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We just stayed at the St. George Inn and it was an amazing experience! The customer service was beyond compare! Everyone that worked there was kind, helpful and fountains of information! Our room overlooked St. George St. with a balcony complete with rocking chairs. The view was wonderful, the room was beautiful and the staff remarkable! Not to mention the location! We arrived, unloaded, parked in the parking garage and never had to get back in the vehicle until we left! Now THAT'S a vacation! I would highly recommend the St. George Inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a wonderful Inn with a wonderful staff who are more than happy to help you or answer any question you may have about the Inn or about the area. The rooms a comfortable and have everything you will need (except a curling iron :) ) It is nicely located and the Trolley stops 50 feet away should you want to use it. My Thanks to the entire staff of St. George Inn for being part of a wonderful weekend I spent with my sister. The only down side was where you had to park to unload but that is the only downside.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. But if you don't like stairs ask for the one with an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapycapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwestern USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

All of the positive comments about this VERY special boutique hotel are exactly as we found it also...except that they also are pet friendly! The entire staff could not have been more welcoming of all of us. The location is excellent. Walking to the sights and the fort. We had a bay view room, very bright and spacous. Ask for #'s 23, 24, or 25. Wonderful wrap around porch with soft southern breeze AND rocking chairs. WOW, a little piece of heaven for weary travelers. Walked to dinner at COLLAGE, 60 Hypolita, 904-829-0055. THE BEST DINING EXPERIENCE WE HAVE HAD IN THE USA! (and we live here!) The St. George Inn is a jewel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhb9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

There has been so much said about this great Inn that I'll focus on some other info.

Checkin was smooth and the girl at the front desk helped my wife take the luggage up to the room while I parked at the nearby above ground parking garage that was large, well lite and secure. Just 2 block walk back to the Inn.

Had the Nina room which was plenty spacious for 2 adults 2 children with 2 queen beds and one large bathroom. Our room was on the third floor without an elevator so quite a hike up the small wooden stairs. View was great, overlooking the fort out one window and the courtyard out another. No balcony on our Nina, not sure if other Nina's have one.

The courtyard in the morning is very relaxing to sit and eat your breakfast. The Inn provides a solid continental breakfast of muffins, bread, begals, croissants, sweet breads, fruit, yogurt, jams, cheese, deli meat and juices and great coffee. Small crowded area to get your breakfast, but plenty of space outside to enjoy it in the courtyard.

Many have spoken of the noise from the nearby bar/pub at night and the school bell in the morning. We heard nothing like that and found it quite quiet, perhaps because of the third floor, our exposure and the lack of a balcony.

Finally, all I can say is the location is surperb. When you stay in a historic town like St. Augustine (similar to San Antonio, Key West, Charlotte, Old Montreal, Cape Cod, etc), you want to stay right in the middle of it. And in St. Augustine, this is your place.

If you'd rather another great location but full service hotel, the Hilton was excellent as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DowntownCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 km away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.9 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
597 reviews
6.9 km away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Property: St. George Inn
Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price range (per night): $258 - $406
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing