We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
329
76
24
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
76
24
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley friendly staff new england style high quality fish main course lunch buffet main restaurant spa area fantastic hotel be aware sea view small harbour steak meeting facilities front desk staff relaxing experience
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

This hotel has a lot to offer - a spa with several saunas, an indoor/outdoor pool and jacuzzis, a decent restaurant, good meeting facilities, spacious and clean rooms, professional and welcoming staff, its own beach - and even a few facilities that I didn't try out, namely a bowling alley and a cinema (don't know if any movies were running). No drawbacks, it would seem? Had a very comfortable stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tobias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrik L, Food & Beverage Manager at Stotvig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Tobias J,
Thank you for your review.
We hope that you will return to try out our cinema and our shuffle board/bowling alley also.
Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in this hotel we had cycled through our seventh country to raise money for charity for people with disabilities back home, cycling from the hotel to Oslo was the last part of our charity ride which unfortunately was taken away from us by a thief then followed by a trip to the police station with a really expensive taxi. All I would recommend is if you are staying here with a bike that you do not use their outdoor bike facilities as it is easy for people to see from the road, we have been left devastated about our trip. I use my bike at home like a car so it’s added £700 on to our trip and we he brilliant expensive bike locks!

On the positive the staff on at the time were lovely and really helpful.
The spa is lovely but nicer in the evening when it’s not like a kids playground.
Make sure you book the restaurant for lunch, we didn’t know. The breakfast was lovely and we definitely felt relaxed and our legs rested for what was going to be our last big cycle. :(

The hotel is gorgeous!

Just don’t lock your bikes up outside, find alternatives in the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sianfisher021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrik L, Food & Beverage Manager at Stotvig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear sianfisher021,
thank you for your review.

Sad to hear that your bike was stolen, I hope it will be found.
I am pleased to hear that you got help from our staff in your unfortunate situation.
Thank you for the compliments about the spa and breakfast.

We hope to see you back at Støtvig Hotel shortly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is extra mega clean, including spa and area around the hotel.
High quality food and service.
When we arrived the room was not ready yet, but we were offered to use spa facility while waiting for the room.
Cosy American style bar with bowling area.
Replica of white house movie theater available to enjoy your cosy evening!
Was only here for the buffet/lunch. Wonderful staff. Very welcoming hotel. Delicious food. Buffet had plenty of variety and tasted delicious. Enjoyed drinks afterwards in the bar downstairs and played a game of shuffleboard (in the same room as the bowling alley). Definitely coming back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank FaheemFarooquef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Støtvig hotel is a hidden gem well worth visiting. My only surprise is that I have never been to this place before. No hotel chain mass produced in this place, this is one of few remaining classical stand alone hotels. The location and interior is classical yet modern and functional. Some summer staff is not fully trained, but they don't mess up too much. The breakfst table is fully stocked and there is an abundance of choices. Spa, surroundings, dinner, rooms (and beds), everything was to our liking.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Knuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Støtvig is definitely one of the top hotels in Scandinavia, no doubt about it. The location and atmosphere is outstanding, both interior and exterior. However, the dinner we had last night was not quite up to its usual high standard. We started with fish- and shellfish soup, which was elegantly served and tasted fantastic. For main course, two of us tried the duck, and one the steak. Both were overcooked, and tasted very little. The fourth person had carpachio with beats which tasted nothing. Even salt and pepper could not bring out the desired taste. The wine was excellent, but the overall experience was not as expected. More taste is highly recommended. When we mentioned this to the waiter, she was very apologetic, and offered us free desert on the house, a very nice gesture. We will absolutely be back:-)

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank TorErik64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews