We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”

Monty's Restaurant and Pizzeria
Ranked #53 of 169 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Punta Gorda's first authentic Italian restaurant and pizzeria. Established in 1983. Simply said "the best Italian food and pizza around". Ask anyone! Voted Best Pizza year after year by the Harbor Style Magazine Readers. Happy Hour daily 3-7pm. Lunch specials.
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Came into Monty's on a whim, as it is close to home. While we did have to wait for several minutes to be seated, it was worth the wait. The lasagna was great and very cheesy and the happy hour specials were pretty good. Service by our server Joyce was extremely friendly. Server was probably the highlight of the evening. We will we back! :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I are new to Punta Gorda and we're in the mood for a pizza. We did want to do the same "chain" pizza as we had elsewhere so we decided to fine a local place. We were not disappointed.
The pizza was Excellent and the Service friendly with very reasonable prices.
We will be going back again soon. The 2 for 1 Happy Hour was a nice surprise as well.

4  Thank Michaelfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Fantastic! Service was great and the food was the best. A gem in the middle of punta gorda. This part of the year was refreshing to not be the only patrons in the establishment. 30+ years in business was obvious!

6  Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnBehalfOf, Owner at Monty's Restaurant and Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017


That's a big compliment, Jesse, and we're flattered! We couldn't be happier, and we appreciate you spreading the word. Thank you so much for the nice review and be sure to let us now if we ever slip, Five stars are always our goal. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. ​

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

My wife had garlic knots which she said were great. The guys across the bar complained of being charged twice, and my wife was charged twice (cash payments). She didn't complain on account of the chaos that followed, but we can't let it go. If you go for the good food, use a credit card because two servers serve and charge the bar. A credit card gives you a record that you paid, as the servers don't know (or care).

2  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnBehalfOf, Owner at Monty's Restaurant and Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

We take our reviews very seriously if you would please email us the details of your visit. Our email address is montyspizza@embarqmail.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We have been here by ourselves and in Big groups. We have always enjoyed Monty's but this time we had the Calzones. The first time we had onions in it and the water was a problem from the onions. We did the same on this last visit but without the onions WOW what a difference. No watery drippings just the meat and the cheese. The wait staff has ALWAYS been great and very accommodating ALWAYS. We enjoy Monty's and will miss this place when we go back North for the summer. You will enjoy as we did.

7  Thank AlnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnBehalfOf, Owner at Monty's Restaurant and Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks so much for leaving us such a flattering review. Nothing makes us happier than guests who frequent our restaurant and continuously enjoy their meals. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you as our guest again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monty's Restaurant and Pizzeria also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Monty's Restaurant and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing