We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice location - poor accommodations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishermen's Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fishermen's Village Resort
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice location - poor accommodations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We exchanged our usual time share for Fishermen's Village this year because of a family wedding in Florida. The entire property is badly in need of a makeover. Everything was very worn and outdated. The location right on the marina was good and the town of Punta Gorda is charming. The internet service was free but was not working more than it was working. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating which helped overcome some of our disappointment with the property. If I was going to give the place a number rating I'd give it about a 3 with 10 being the best.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any good rooms at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jawlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishVille, Manager at Fishermen's Village Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for the opportunity to discuss the specific issues that you had during your stay. We always enjoy feedback that helps us to improve our guests' vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    56
    21
    8
    11
See reviews for
47
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Villa was clean and had an outstanding view of the harbor-saw dolphins almost every morning. Loved the restaurants-especially the Village Oyster Bar. Wish the stores were open al iitle later. Villa staff was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Wow, we had a very quiet peaceful visit. I didn't hear all the motorcycles late at night or noise. They do play music but around 9-10pm it all stops. We enjoyed walking down to listen to the music and sometimes get a drink and maybe dance in the courtyard! They seem to be playing more variety of music which was really nice. One day they had a farm market in the courtyard which was a great way to get fresh food for making our dinner for the week. Wishes, that the bathroom was alittle bigger and modern. That they had better and larger barb. area (gas grills?)-maybe a better way to close off the area for the resort/marina people. Same with the staircases-maybe gates with card key to enter the upstairs!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carelomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire. U.K.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

First time at fishermans village and we were glad we chose it. We had a great place overlooking the marina and didn't get the noise that others complain about. Definately a place for families with older kids. We spent the time shopping, fishing, sitting out and admiring the sunsets and visiting sanibel and the other beaches which are well worth the hour or so drive. The staff and shop owners are all friendly and helpful. A very relaxing place to just take things slowly and chill.
On the downside, we didn't think the apartments were as luxurious as some of the others we've had in florida and seemed a bit tatty in places. The pool and pool area could do to be a bit larger too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorcob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

We stayed here for one week in April 2008, we were well pleased with the Villa, size, furnishings etc, bathroom could be bigger though. Pool area small but nice but one annoying thing was there was no restrictions to stop shoppers to the Mall entering the pool area, one family sat round the edge cooling their dirty feet in the pool water eating Ice Creams! First night we ate out at one of the Restaurants and settled down to sleep around 11pm as we had driven over from Palm Beach that day and were quite tired. My husband and I took the smaller bedroom leaving the larger one for the boys as it had the 2nd TV, THEN around 12pm the noise started, Harley's roaring up and down under our bedroom window, this went on till 2am, also Police sirens, people shouting, drunks fighting etc making it impossible to sleep, They were not even supposed to drive bikes past the car park at the top of the resort. They Defo need some extra security and barriers to stop this! On the Pro side, the resort is nice if a bit surreal, takes a bit of a drive to the nearest beach but the views of Charlotte harbour are good. May go back again only if they step up the Security at night.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karmazyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
1.6 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
1.2 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#3 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 km away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#1 of 7 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
10.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
10.5 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishermen's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishermen's Village Resort

Property: Fishermen's Village Resort
Address: 1200 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-5325
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Punta Gorda
Price range (per night): $276 - $295
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishermen's Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishermen's Village Resort Villas are located directly above Fishermen's Village Shops, Boutiques and Restaurants. An all inclusive vacation destination, each villa is 1,000 sq. feet, accommodates up to six people, two bedroom, loft, kitchen and balcony. Free bicycle loaner program, BBQ grills, pool, on site shopping, dining, water recreation activities. Daily/Weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fishermen's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishermen`s Village Villas Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing