We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Port Richey
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Port Richey
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Spent four nights in this hotel while visiting family in the area. Got in late (almost midnight) and check-in was nice and quick. The room (which included microwave & fridge - as I believe all first floor rooms do), was clean and just fine - we were not looking for luxury accomodations. The beds were comfortbale enough, pillows OK but a little on the soft side. I always enjoy having a coffee maker in the room as well, another plus. Main negatives: some of the furniture was a little worn/damaged and the water pressure in the shower was terrible. But for the price we were paying (AAA rate $63/ night ), these things can easily be tolerated. WiFi in the room worked just fine.

The pool area was nice, kind of small. But since we were the only people there the two times we used it, it was ok. If there were a lot of people using it, I can see it being uncomfortable. Didn't use the "fitness center" which was just 3 or 4 machines. Computer in the lobby was in working order (not always a guarantee in all hotels) so we were able to print our boarding passes for the flight home when checking out.

Lastly, I must mention the free breakfast. Compared to similar hotels offering similar "complimentary" brekfasts, this one was very good. The attendant kept everything full and the area very clean. There was always fresh fruit available - not always the case at these things in other hotels I've been to. There were the usual standards - cold cerals, instant oatmeal, yogurt, bagels/toast/english muffins, danishes, mini muffins & donuts, juice (orange and apple) and of course, coffee and tea. The DIY waffles were excellent. I also enjoyed the biscuits & gravy (something us northerners rarely see back home). Free newspapers (USA Today) were provided in the breakfast room as well.

In summary, for the price we paid I feel it was an outstanding value. If returning to the area, I would have no problem staying here again. We spent very little time at the hotel/in our room during the day, so it provided as much as we needed. One note...it is located on a main road (therefore lots of shopping/dining options within minutes), so you may want to ask for a room towards the back of the hotel to avoid road noise if that bothers you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcd2745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Port Richey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 398 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2010

We booked this hotel as we were in transit from south Fla to north Fla and needed a room over night. By chance we got room 108 and for the price this hotel including the desk people were wonderful. The room was a nice size, very very clean and as we were traveling for quite a while visiting Fla. I just wanted to crash this night. Well we open the door and WOW a big comfy overstuffed recliner with massage and electric up/down. Turns out they purchased this recliner for patients who come out of a near by hospital (or something to that nature). Now if that isn't going the extra mile I don't know what is. I never felt more at home than sitting in that chair. The breakfast was good and I have only good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepperpot53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We were not on vacation when we stayed here. We booked our week stay here because it was close to a relative's house who was very sick and we came to help but didn't want to be a burden in their house. The room was very pleasant, clean and we got the refrigerator and microwave we asked for. The next morning we were pleasantly surprised by the full breakfast that was offered. The staff there was nice and friendly. There was free internet in the rooms and also free use of the computer in the lobby. There was also a small workout room but we did not have time to use it. The pool also looked nice but it rained all week so we did not use it either. Very nice place though there wasn't much of an area to 'relieve' our pets. We will defintely stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Stayed for 14 nights with our two dogs while on vacation. Nice place and reasonable, close to shopping and other attractions.
Reasonable drive to Clearwater Beach. Short distance to Tarpon Springs. Friendly staff and owner, neat and tidy pool area. Going back again in 2009. Very pet friendly. Great doggy day care 5 minutes away. Timber Oaks Dog Spa highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wayne99Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

We booked this hotel because it's pet friendly. We stayed 4 nights because we were visiting relatives. Not the quality of hotel were used to but it was ok. When we got there my wife insisted we look at the room before we checked in. The room was clean but the smell of what they used to clean it was overwhelming. We were tired so we checked in anyway. We were going to check out the next day but decided to stay. Once we aired out the room for 3 or 4 hours it was better. Overall it was clean & the beds were comfortable. Pillows a little hard. The tub needs to be replaced. If you have a dog it's real convienent. We were on the first floor so you can walk your dog right out the door. Plus your car is parked right in front of the room. The staff ,everyone from the front desk to the maids were very friendly. We did'nt have them clean again till the 3rd day & when they did they left the air on so the room smelled a lot better than when we checked in In the end the stay was ok the continental breakfast was above average, but very limited seating. Lots of places to eat nearby

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Richey
1.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa-Port Richey
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Richey
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Richey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Weeki Wachee
157 reviews
19.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Spring Hill/Weeki Wachee
19.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Spring Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Port Richey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Port Richey

Address: 11810 US Highway 19, Port Richey, FL 34668-1053 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Port Richey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Port Richey
Price Range: $67 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Port Richey 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Port Richey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Port Richey Hotel Port Richey
Port Richey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing