We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool little garden off the beaten path”

Dunlawton Sugar Mill Gardens
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Port Orange
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Gardens where you can watch butterflies and learn more about flora and fauna native to Florida. Trails leading past a preserved 19th century sugar mill ruins and statues of dinosaurs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We came here to walk before dinner one night to let the kids burn off some energy. The gardens are a mix of an old sugar mill and a vintage amusement park with cement dinosaurs. Admission is FREE which is great, and there are lots of windy trails to keep kids and adults alike entertained. The dinosaurs are pretty silly, but the kids liked searching to find them all. Also some pretty cool historical markers and information at the mill.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank TDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"botanical gardens"
in 22 reviews
"dinosaur statues"
in 20 reviews
"donation box"
in 14 reviews
"amusement park"
in 16 reviews
"oak trees"
in 10 reviews
"interesting history"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful garden"
in 8 reviews
"early florida"
in 6 reviews
"free admission"
in 6 reviews
"native plants"
in 4 reviews
"nature walk"
in 3 reviews
"kids will love"
in 3 reviews
"off the beaten path"
in 5 reviews
"for sale"
in 6 reviews
"outdoor chapel"
in 3 reviews
"life size dinosaurs"
in 3 reviews
"leisurely walk"
in 3 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is the smallest set of Sugar Mill ruins I have ever visited. You cannot even get very close to the ruins because it is surrounded by a fence. I was there 5 minutes at the most. It's a nice piece of History to see along the way to some other destination but I would not go out of my way to see it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Spledidferstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

My wife and I had a couple of hours on a Saturday morning and found this place. Go. Great History of the area. The volunteers are most helpful in explaining the sugar mill and it’s function and love to talk about it. Fun to see pre Disney theme parks, Bongo Land. Please leave a donation, no admission charge. Also, imagine a steam engine in the middle of no where Florida in the days of Andrew Jackson. Think smoke, thunder, lighting, and sweat. Enjoy.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank LowRider60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We went there today, and we expected more, somehow. The grounds were not well maintained--many plants were diseased, in poor condition, spindly and not healthy. Hanging plants were very dry. It could be that we visited during the wrong time of year?
Dinosaur sculptures might interest kids. Maybe they should have an actual admission fee so it could be professionally maintained and worth seeing. It's free but has donation boxes around the entrance.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Robskaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

very nice and peaceful lots to look at and learn but a lot of up keep needed but a great place to RELAX

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunlawton Sugar Mill Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Dunlawton Sugar Mill Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing