We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than CALGON!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Purple Parrot Village Resort
Laurel, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than CALGON!!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The MINUTE I drove through the gate I was IMMEDIATELY de-stressed!! The office was so very helpful and accomodating!! "NO PROBLEM" is the unit we've used and it's FULLY supplied with anything you could need or want. Beautifully decorated as well! I would come back in a second and no doubt will be visiting again soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countess531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    32
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
72
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gonzales, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2011

we rented directly from an owner and loved this place. It was too cold to swim in the outdoor pool but it was beautiful. We especially loved the Tiki Bar and grill. We enjoyed ringing in the new year with "snowbirds" and locals alike in the friendly little bar with great music. We were able to walk back to our lovely little two bedroom cottage without having to get behind the wheel. Only minutes from the beach, you can hear the ocean waves from your porch. We will definitely return for our summer vacation this year and cant wait to use the outdoor pool and sip frozen drinks poolside from the Tiki Bar when we are not sunning on the beach.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scout821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Very pleased. Nice place to stay & vacation. Everything was handled nicely. Rooms nice, clean. Enjoyed the indoor /outdoor pool area, weather was perfect! Yes I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Me and my family stayed at the purple parrot for the weekend in august.The overall experience was pretty good. The condo we stayed at was very nice and we rented through a owner not the company. The outdoor pool is out of this world! We spent the whole weekend swimming away relaxing under the waterfall, chilling in the hottub. The condo we rented was steps away from the pool and bar area so we sat on our porch and listened to the bands play at night. The people can get pretty drunk and loud if you have kids you might want to get a condo in the back. Theres just a couple things bad i could say about the purple parrot....First was when we arrived at the condo we drove past the office and we werent sure where exactly our condo was located so we drove slow.. We noticed a man (a employee) standing outside watching us. We found the condo which was around the corner and down a little bit and parked and started towards our condo. We then noticed that the man had followed us (walking) and began looking at our parking passes in my car and my moms car.(we had print out one's since our renter lives out of town) which he kept walking back and forth looking. I just found it rude. I know they keep track of who comes and goes but really!! you follow us just to look...Well we let that go then later the same day me and my husband walked over to the indoor pool where once again the same man was staring at us like we shouldnt be there....He even made it a point to walk in and check on us for what reason i have no idea. We had our wristband and i didnt see the problem. In my opinion i just felt almost harassed. Like we wanted to relax and enjoy the weekend we paid for and the guy just made it uncomfortable. Next is the condo was on the bottom floor and you could hear every single foot step from the top floor. Very noisy at night. Other than that i enjoyed my vacation and will return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeAtHeR850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We booked our stay at the Purple Parrot back in February. We had a large group with us, 9 villas were booked. We were told that we could bring our ice chest in as long as the bar wasn’t open. I called again in June to make sure that this rule hasn’t changed and I was told that the Tiki Bar was closed. Now, understand that we were here for a baseball World Series. We checked in on Sunday. Everyone was so impressed at the place. Every villa was decorated differently, each so cute. Looked to be a little piece of Paradise! They only problem we saw right off was a sign at the front gate that said "OPEN TO PUBLIC!" Which worried us, because we thought this was a gated community.
As the night went on we saw people from the outside come into the pool and bar area. We had a large group of kids with us playing baseball in the pool. The people in the bar area, told them they need to be quite and that they were being too loud! Isn’t that what kids do in a pool? Play? Then we find out the Tiki Bar has a new owner. His way of addressing us was Rude and Unprofessional. Of course not realizing that we could not bring drinks from our rooms which were only steps away. He came over to us with a nasty attitude telling us, “You can’t have ice chest on the pool deck!" So the mom that had the ice chest poured her drink into a cup and went to move the ice chest outside. He then said, "You can’t bring outside drinks to the pool area!" We were never told that I could walk from my villa to the poolside with drink in my hand because it wasn’t purchased from the bar! But, to try and keep the peace we decided to go to the bar and buy a drink to maybe make him happy. Next thing we know the Lady Manager comes over and tells us we are being bleating disrespectful and not following the rules. I asked, "What rules?" She tells me that we are still bringing outside drinks inside. I said, "I just left your bar and bought this drink!!" She told us we were going to have to leave if we didn’t buy all of our drinks from the bar. A short time later another guy comes over from the bar and tells us he has to lock up the pool. We told him no problem we were leaving anyway. He then tells us, "We are not going to have any more problems, right?" Like we are children! Our ages range from 30-50 not, kids! I have never been to a condo/hotel/villa that you couldn’t make a drink inside your place and bring it to the poolside! If this was told up front we would have been prepared for this.
As a group we went to the front office and addressed this problem with JD. He was very nice and helpful. He spent most of his day on the phone the board members of Purple Parrott and the bar owner trying to come to some agreement. The Bar owner was very unhelpful...
We were all ready to leave. We hated to have all of those property owners out of this money because of the way we were treated by the Tiki Bar. We didn’t come here because of the Tiki Bar.
Monday by the pool, they would constantly come over and ask the same people over and over if they had their armbands. So, you felt harassed almost. But, the people that would come in from the outside would have free range of the complex. Even if our room was just steps from the pool we still have to lock up everything! Isn't that why we were staying in a gated community so, we would know who was there?
By Wednesday they lost they liquor licenses and gave away free beer and wine. Thursday rules were changed again!
The complex was really nice. The manger JD was great! The Tiki Bar, we will not come back. I think if the owners of the Purple Parrot really know how people were treated they would make sure things would be changed!
Sorry to say, but we will not come back! We cancelled 6 reservations for August because of this!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jabbg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perdido Key
16.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
26.9 km away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
17.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
15.3 km away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
20.4 km away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#15 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Parrot Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Parrot Village Resort

Property: Purple Parrot Village Resort
Address: 13555 Perdido Key Dr, Perdido Key, FL 32507-4650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Perdido Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Perdido Key
Price range (per night): $234 - $482
Hotel Class:3 star — Purple Parrot Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Purple Parrot Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Parrot Village Hotel Perdido Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing