We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Break long weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2015

I took my family of four (two kids ages 14 and 12) to Sandpiper for a four night stay over a Fall Break weekend. I had done a fair amount of research, and I was aware that some folks had said that the rooms were at times dirty. This was definitely not the case for our room. We got a pretty basic room. A "motel" style room facing Front Beach Road that had a king sized bed and bunk beds. The room was VERY clean. The carpet was well vacuumed and the bathroom was spotless. The shower and sink worked fine, and I like the fact that the bathroom and the room had a lot of cabinet space where we could put our stuff down. The room had a mini-fridge and a microwave, which came in handy for heating up leftovers, cereal for breakfast, etc.

The bunk beds worked well for the the kids, and there was an additional closet with a room safe (although we never used the safe). There was not a chair in the room, which I thought was a bit odd. It is my understanding that there is quite a bit of variety of room types you can book, so you probably want to research the Sandpiper and plan accordingly.

There was some amount of noise the first couple of nights--kids running down the corridor and the like. However, the noise died down by 11 or so. Plus, after full days at the beach, we were so tired we did not notice most of the time anyway.

The location is great. Right on the beach, which is a fantastic clear-water, calm ocean experience. We saw dophins off shore swimming around, and it was nice to see the botton of the ocean. Bring goggles or a scuba mask--you can have a pretty good time just swimming around that part of the Gulf.

There is a restaurant right across from the hotel. We had a good breakfast there the first morning. Pier Park is close by, although it would most likely be too tough to walk it. You're better off driving. I do recommend checking out Pier Park. Also, Diego's for burritos--just a little farther down Front Beach Road from Pier Park.

I did get a drink from the "Tiki Bar" but it was a little too much of a "fruity beach drink" for me. They did have a full bar there, though, with daily specials. Lots of kids activities and karaoke--lots of TV screens for games. A true "beachside bar."

I think the best feature of the Sandipiper is they do take advantage of the location to give it a beach feel all across the back of the hotel (the side facing the Gulf). They have lots of tables with shade, the Tiki Bar, chairs on the beach for rent (with shade umbrellas) at reasonable rates. Sand volleyball courts and a mini-golf area. The hot tub was HOT but that came in handy for the colder October days.

I would definitely stay here again. I would probably look into one of the "suite" options for a longer stay. The prices were reasonable and the desk staff were attentive and extremely courteous and helpful.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank MeGusta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

823 - 827 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2015

We stayed Labor Day weekend 2015, but we have been going to the Sandpipper Beacon Beach Resort for more than 20 years & we love it!! The staff is always accommodating to whatever we need & there are so many fun things to do. This is a family oriented resort with lots to do for the kids. The Beach grill has great food too. We also have our favorite rooms depending on how many of the family tags along. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Vickie731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

There's something, "homey", about this place. It's not ultra fancy or high rise, but it is on the beach with guest parking across the street. The staff is very friendly and welcoming to the guests. I guess due to the atmosphere I've found that the guests at this resort happen to be a little more friendly. There are rooms right on the beach and some that face the street. There are a range of activities which you may or may not want to partake. The Coconut's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late drinks and meals. The waitstaff there is just as pleasant as the others on the property. There's also the Tiki if you don't want to venture off the property. A good place to enjoy the sand and surf.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelon2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

The hotel is a little old could use some up keep done but the friendliness of all their staff made up for it. Checking in was a breeze everyone was great. We had a small problem with our room went to the office move us to a different room we were pleased. Even the guys who sat up the chairs on the beach were awesome. Now for all their activities free was minuatue golf -karoke-gamed for children-who looping -dancing -limbo pool table-ping ball. I know probably forgot some three swimming pools-hot tub and of course beautiful beach. We had a great time for the cost I think we got our moneys worth. This is great for family get a ways now its not fancy so your looking something to pamper yourself this not it but your looking for something for a good price and things for families to do this is it. When I stay again? yes I would

Room Tip: best rooms for wifi were second or third floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Our stay was awesome, and as a former hospitality manager, I was very impressed! From the beginning, the staff at the Front desk- Chris B. was exceptionally hospitable and accommodating checking us in early to our room. This was my son's first time at the beach and the sandpiper's many free amenities made it awesome. We did put put golf, ice cream at the shop there nightly, lazy river, pool (was heated on cold days) and hot tub. The kids complimentary movie on the grassy lawn by the hotel was such a cool experience! there was even free popcorn! Having all of these free services made it affordable and easy to stay at the hotel and not have to spend money and time running around to other places, not to mention the tiki bar made for an enjoyable time for us adults with the fire pit seating areas and hammocks.
During the trip we had to move rooms due to unforeseen circumstances and Steve the Front office manager upgraded us, giving us the option between two sets of accommodations to make sure we had what best fit us. Then Chris B. again was amazing and walked us through those two different rooms and made sure every need we had was taken care of. This warm personable spirit, coupled with the excellent amenities for all, and kind and exceptional housekeeping staff make this the place we will return to year after year. Thank you all so much!!!- The Daugherty/Gardner Family

Room Tip: Tell Front desk your needs and they will place you in a room that best suits you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaughertyFlaugherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
6.4 km away
Beachside Resort Panama City Beach
Beachside Resort Panama City Bea...
#10 of 49 in Panama City Beach
585 reviews
3.8 km away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 49 in Panama City Beach
899 reviews
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 49 in Panama City Beach
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Panama City Beach
584 reviews
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Panama City Beach - Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#9 of 49 in Panama City Beach
96 reviews
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Pier Park Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#8 of 49 in Panama City Beach
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: AU$62 - AU$277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing