We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magestic Eco tour with many dolphins”

Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: There are so many fun things to do here at Capt. Anderson's Marina that we don't know where to begin! With almost 60 years as North Florida's premier water excursion facility in Panama City Beach, we are the marina "where the fish are always biting and the kids are always smiling"! Capt. Anderson's Marina, located on the Historic Grand Lagoon within minutes of scenic St. Andrews Bay and the bountiful Gulf of Mexico, is open year' round and a must-do on your vacation list - we can help you put the fun stuff in your trip~! FISHING: We offer 5 HR, 6 HR, 8 HR, 10 HR, 12 HR, half-day and all-day Deep Sea Fishing trips on 5 large head boats (party boats) as well as private sport fishing on over 25 smaller charter boats. Come spend the day on the newest boat in the fleet, the Capt. Anderson 10 HR Deep-Sea Fishing boat and experience salt water fishing at its best! We also have a conveniently located Fish Market here at the dock to clean and pack your fish for travel. Just imagine how you will be eating fresh fish for dinner that night! DOLPHINS: The Capt. Anderson III is our double decker boat taking visitors on narrated Dolphin Sightseeing Cruises loaded with fun and adventure! Join us during the day for the 3-1/2 HR cruise which includes a visit to pristine Shell Island, an Eco-Tour (watch a trawl net pulled up to check out the cool sea life of St. Andrews Bay!) and of course go see the Dolphins frolic and play! Or, choose serenity and sunsets with the 1-1/2 HR evening cruise that is the perfect way to get out on the water, listen to music and relax while viewing the Dolphins and the beautiful sunsets that Panama City Beach is famous for! SHELL ISLAND: Our large, comfortable PCB Shell Island Express Ferry will take your family from the Grand Lagoon through St. Andrew's Bay over to the dock at legendary Spanish Shanty Cove on Shell Island where you can spend just a couple hours or the whole day! We have the easiest way to get to Shell Island with a large dockside parking lot (FREE parking!) where you can off-load all your beach equipment right at the shuttle departure area. Upon arriving at Shell Island, it is only a very short boardwalk to get to the pristine clean white sands! Go exploring, swimming, shelling, or just relaxing on a stretch of the sugar sands that is like your own private beach with no condos behind you! The shuttle also offers Paddle Board rentals so you can check out the oyster beds, sea grass, and diverse ecosystem of Spanish Shanty and St. Andrews Bay!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Captain Anderson III. I was very hesitant about getting on a boat in the ocean as I suffer from motion sickness. I was shocked when I didn't get sick at all and enjoyed the music they played making you feel like you was on a tropical excursion. We took the Eco and Dolphin tour to Shell Island. They gave us Cheetos to feed the sea gulls which gave many photo opportunities. Adults and children both could enjoy this trip. The water was absolutely stunning that day going from aqua to emerald. There is a bathroom on the boat I advise using it before getting off the boat as you will be on shell island without a restroom for about an hour. They tell you to time your walk so you can get back to the double decker boat on time, because they will leave without you. We took the 1pm trip. The island itself was beautiful beyond words. I was expecting to find a lot of shells but didn't. The captain was great about pointing out everything of interest including dolphins along the way he stopped when he found a huge pod feeding. He kept his distance so not to disturb them unlike another boat that was almost on top of them. I liked the fact he respected nature and gave them space as they did come over on their own. He suggested recording video as they are harder to snap pictures of. They do have a little snack booth with chips, candy bars, and soda on board. They also dredged a net and put what they find in an aquarium so you can view the findings and released them afterwards. Part of the bottom has a glass bottom. I hope to revisit again.

1  Thank octavia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, marketing at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for the feedback, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your charter to shell island. I agree that this trip is perfect for anyone of any age. The dolphins and seagulls do make for awesome photo opportunities. We cant wait to have you and your loved ones back in the future. Thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour trip"
in 36 reviews
"fish"
in 135 reviews
"north star"
in 7 reviews
"eco tour"
in 14 reviews
"red snapper"
in 19 reviews
"beach boys"
in 4 reviews
"deck hand"
in 16 reviews
"party boat"
in 6 reviews
"anderson iii"
in 4 reviews
"sunset dolphin"
in 5 reviews
"out of season"
in 9 reviews
"the galley"
in 4 reviews
"top deck"
in 5 reviews
"dolphin encounter"
in 13 reviews
"boat ride"
in 15 reviews
"hermit crabs"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 6 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My family and I went on the 1pm dolphin tour and spent the first 2.5 hours having not seen 1 dolphin and trapped on shell island with no cover and no idea we were going there. The boat was over booked and uncomfortable for that long on the water 2 hours going to see dolphin and go home should be fine. Would not recommended to anyone.

Thank Pace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, marketing at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great time one the Capt. Anderson III. The boat is quite large and holds 214 people, maybe next time I can suggest our sunset dolphin cruise. It does not go to shell island and is is only 1.5 hours for only $15. Again I apologize and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Took the 1 PM Shell Island / Dolphin tour. There was ample parking in the marina, but the line for tickets is not the fastest moving. It was quite windy going to Shell Island and the ladies in our group found it uncomfortable without a good wind-breaker on, may have been wiser to sit below in the AC section.
We were really thrilled to see many dolphins, with the Captain and crew doing their utmost to get us close for the best viewing. The 90 minutes on Shell Island was nice but not that much different than our rental in PCB on the beach; there is no shade and no seating so come prepared. They do have a snack bar that was serving decent hot-dogs, but we were frustrated twice trying to get a cup of coffee as the lady was swamped and had not had time make another pot or two.
It was a nice afternoon, but we must agree with another reviewer that we could not make out anything Captain Marc was saying on the PA. The crew were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this tour for most able bodied people. I would return to see the dolphins again.

Thank JPN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, marketing at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I have taken note of your comments and will see what we can do to improve the PA and traffic in the ticket line. We apologize for the wait and hope that you and your friends will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We did the 3 1/2 hour Shell Island Eco tour and Dolphin encounter. You can hear the Captain talking but can’t make out he’s saying because the speakers are so low. Since you can’t hear you miss out on the history and it makes for a pretty boring trip. We’ve gone on tours with smaller boats in the past and had a better experience. We won’t do this one again!

Thank Vacat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, marketing at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We are sorry to hear that you could not make out what Capt Marc was saying and will try our best to get this issue resolved. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Arrived for a 5 hour deep sea fishing trip at 0700 Sunday morning. Once there, we were informed that the 5 hour trip had been cancelled BUT we could go on a 10 hour trip for 50% more. I was absolutely furious at such busch league nonsense. I felt like we were being scammed. Will not be returning.

3  Thank 4gomavs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, Guest Relations Manager at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

We are so sorry to here about this and understand how this could be frustrating. Did you have a reservation for a 5 hr trip? If you did you should of been contacted on Saturday and informed that the trip was being cancelled due to lack of participation and at that time you would of had the option of switching to the 10 hr trip for the same day, a 5 hr trip for a different day, or a full refund. If you weren't contacted then we deeply apologize there must of been a mess up with your phone number because all of our reservations had notes that they were called. We hate when we have to cancel to trips, but unfortunately this time of year we are not the busiest and have to do it sometimes because without a certain amount of people signed up to go out with us we can not go because we wouldn't even make enough to pay for fuel or to pay our crew. This particular day our 10 hr trip had more than enough to go out but unfortunately our 5 hr trip didn't have enough. As far as the prices go I understand how aggravating it can be to expect to pay one price for something and then find out your only option cost a lot more. However our trip prices are based off of how long they are so the 10 hr trip is going to cost more than a 5 hr. If you didn't have a reservation this is why we always recommend making one. Either way we are very sorry for your inconvenience and hope you will re consider booking with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing