We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 4:00 am - 8:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Sunset Dolphin Cruise

Great price. Cruised on the Capt Anderson 3. This is an older double decker boat but in decent... read more

Reviewed 15 August 2018
Wayne G
SHELL ISLAND ECO TOUR & DOLPHIN ENCOUNTER

This was our 1st trip to Shell Island. The kids enjoyed the ride out. They gave us Cheetos to feed... read more

Reviewed 7 August 2018
LunarBat66
,
Dallas, Georgia
Read all 348 reviews
  
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
206
66
26
15
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
66
26
15
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour trip fish north star eco tour feed the sea gulls red snapper beach boys deck hand anderson iii party boat out of season sunset dolphin the galley top deck dolphin encounter boat ride great trip
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My family and I went on the 1pm dolphin tour and spent the first 2.5 hours having not seen 1 dolphin and trapped on shell island with no cover and no idea we were going there. The boat was over booked and uncomfortable for that long on the water 2 hours going to see dolphin and go home should be fine. Would not recommended to anyone.

Thank Pace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, marketing at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great time one the Capt. Anderson III. The boat is quite large and holds 214 people, maybe next time I can suggest our sunset dolphin cruise. It does not go to shell island and is is only 1.5 hours for only $15. Again I apologize and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Took the 1 PM Shell Island / Dolphin tour. There was ample parking in the marina, but the line for tickets is not the fastest moving. It was quite windy going to Shell Island and the ladies in our group found it uncomfortable without a good wind-breaker on, may have been wiser to sit below in the AC section.
We were really thrilled to see many dolphins, with the Captain and crew doing their utmost to get us close for the best viewing. The 90 minutes on Shell Island was nice but not that much different than our rental in PCB on the beach; there is no shade and no seating so come prepared. They do have a snack bar that was serving decent hot-dogs, but we were frustrated twice trying to get a cup of coffee as the lady was swamped and had not had time make another pot or two.
It was a nice afternoon, but we must agree with another reviewer that we could not make out anything Captain Marc was saying on the PA. The crew were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this tour for most able bodied people. I would return to see the dolphins again.

Thank Jean-Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, marketing at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I have taken note of your comments and will see what we can do to improve the PA and traffic in the ticket line. We apologize for the wait and hope that you and your friends will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We did the 3 1/2 hour Shell Island Eco tour and Dolphin encounter. You can hear the Captain talking but can’t make out he’s saying because the speakers are so low. Since you can’t hear you miss out on the history and it makes for a pretty boring trip. We’ve gone on tours with smaller boats in the past and had a better experience. We won’t do this one again!

Thank Vacat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, marketing at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We are sorry to hear that you could not make out what Capt Marc was saying and will try our best to get this issue resolved. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Arrived for a 5 hour deep sea fishing trip at 0700 Sunday morning. Once there, we were informed that the 5 hour trip had been cancelled BUT we could go on a 10 hour trip for 50% more. I was absolutely furious at such busch league nonsense. I felt like we were being scammed. Will not be returning.

3  Thank 4gomavs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, Guest Relations Manager at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

We are so sorry to here about this and understand how this could be frustrating. Did you have a reservation for a 5 hr trip? If you did you should of been contacted on Saturday and informed that the trip was being cancelled due to lack of participation and at that time you would of had the option of switching to the 10 hr trip for the same day, a 5 hr trip for a different day, or a full refund. If you weren't contacted then we deeply apologize there must of been a mess up with your phone number because all of our reservations had notes that they were called. We hate when we have to cancel to trips, but unfortunately this time of year we are not the busiest and have to do it sometimes because without a certain amount of people signed up to go out with us we can not go because we wouldn't even make enough to pay for fuel or to pay our crew. This particular day our 10 hr trip had more than enough to go out but unfortunately our 5 hr trip didn't have enough. As far as the prices go I understand how aggravating it can be to expect to pay one price for something and then find out your only option cost a lot more. However our trip prices are based off of how long they are so the 10 hr trip is going to cost more than a 5 hr. If you didn't have a reservation this is why we always recommend making one. Either way we are very sorry for your inconvenience and hope you will re consider booking with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

It's a nice little tour viewing dolphins along the way. But you cannot hear one word of the captain as he pointed out items along the way.

If you just want a boat ride with no narrative, this is a perfect choice

Thank Eherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyLee_13192, Guest Relations Manager at Capt. Anderson's Marina - Fishing & Cruising Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the sightseeing part of the tour, and we apologize for any issues there were with not hearing the Captain narrate the tour. We are working on getting the speakers fixed on that boat. Thank you for booking with us, we hope you will again in the future =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews