We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Ranked #87 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cooper City, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great weekend”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family and I stayed at the Crown Plaza last weekend and we had a wonderful stay. I had stayed there before with my wife while I was on business. We went back this time when all the hotels nearest the park were sold out. We had a great room. My son and his family were in a room close by and everyone raved on how good the service was. The drive to the park was quick and easy. The hospitality made us feel right at home. They even made my 2 year old grandson animal baloons which he loved. My hats off to the managers and crew. we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APVald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the pleasant words. We know we are not the closest hotel choice to the theme parks but we do our best to provide fantastic service that helps keeping our guests coming back time and time again and as you mentioned, it’s just a short drive down the highway to Universal Studios and Walt Disney World.

Thank you once again and we hope to have you as our guest again very soon.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    235
    141
    79
    45
See reviews for
173
217
54
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,251 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

What a beautiful remodel. Everything is new contemporary decor. The front desk staff was warm, efficient and made us feel welcome. We stayed on the 9th floor with a lovely view of a nearby lake ... just idyllic. Three elevators eliminates waiting more than a few seconds to go up or down. The room is wonderful ... coffee for two (instead of a single cup maker), sink, microwave, refrigerator, and a bar with chairs to sit at. The room has a very large desk with free wi-fi and a big flat screen on the wall. As always, the beds at Crowne Plaza are sweet dreams-inducing. And I love the large selection of pillows ... you can find one just right for you. Plenty of large towels are provided, and toiletries include shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bar soap, and a shower cap. A quality hair dryer and a large free standing make up mirror are much appreciated extras.
The shower head had lots of water pressure there was no fluctuation in pressure or water temperature. The bathtub was inviting and comfortable for a relaxing soak. One thing I like about Crowne Plaza hotels is that when you forget a personal care item, such as toothpaste, toothbrush, or comb, etc the hotel will provide you with a free sample size. I've had to use this service on more than one occasion.
We were exhausted when we arrived after arising early and traveling much of the day. We just wanted a good night sleep. To our surprise, we ended up sleeping 12 hours and awoke past 11:00 check out time ! (That's a great bed.) But none of the staff gave us any difficulty when we checked out an hour late.
We were too tired to go to dinner last night after we arrived, so we phoned the desk and asked if they could recommend a pizza delivery restaurant. They most certainly could, and they provided the menu and coupons for nearby Panino's, which was far more than a pizza delivery service. Panino's had a full Italian menu, very reasonable prices, and delivered in 45 minutes directly to our room. We had a fantastic meal in bed. We were pleased that the desk was able to make such a wonderful recommendation.
We were somewhat concerned after learning that we'd checked in on the eve of the old Amway Arena's planned implosion, just a few blocks away. The desk warned us to expect noise sounding like fireworks at about 7:30 this morning and to keep our AC off for about an hour after the implosion to prevent debris dust from contaminating our air. It turned out to be no cause for concern. The rooms are apparently very sound-proofed and we heard only what sounded like a muffled poof at 7:32 a.m. and went back to sleep. But we appreciated the warning. Neither did we hear any traffic noise despite the hotel being located almost on top of I-4.
Because this hotel is downtown, plan to pay for parking ... $13 for self park or $18 for valet. Self-parking is only a few feet away from the lobby entrance, so you won't have to walk half a mile if you don't choose valet.
We'll stay here again anytime we're in Orlando.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Well thank you very much!!! It’s always great to hear from someone who had such a great time and it shows that you did from all the small details that you remember. It’s by paying attention to the details that we at the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown set ourselves apart from the other hotel choices when it comes to exceeding our guest’s expectations.

Very glad to hear that the Amway Implosion wasn’t in anyway a disturbance to you, we hoped it wouldn’t be but we took the extra step to ensure each of our guests knew and understood what was happening. It was quite the event!

We look forward to your return and hope that it isn’t too far off in the future.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ont
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great hotel. Large room, super comfy beds, larger bathroom and all was very clean. Our room rated a bolstered "two thumbs up" from our 17 yr old lad who immediately tried to get onto the 2 ft wide balcony ... luckily the french doors to the balcony are locked solid so no worries about freak accidents (we were on the 8th floor). We could hear the freeway traffic as low background noise but it did not keep us from sleeping. Our room had coffee, a microwave, ironing board, in room safe but no fridge.

The welcoming committee was awesome, right from the staff at the valet parking, $18 ($13 for self parking) to the transplanted Cdn Maritimer who saw to our check-in and looked after our every need. On the day we arrived Crowne Plaza was shooting a commercial in their front lobby and I still felt as if my family and I were their most important client. From car drop to check-in to my room was about 12 minutes. It has been a long time since I felt that my business was important to a hotel chain and the staff, on this day, looked after us very well.

This is a great hotel for seeing the Magic play at the Amway Stadium. The hotel is on the same street as The Amway Centre and we walked there in 20-25 minutes. The return walk after the game (11 pm) was fine with no safety worries. Go to the game early (doors open at 6:30 for an 8 pm start) and see the action on the side street which becomes a pedestrian street for the evening. Music, jumping castles, basketball shooting and buskers were around on this night.

Room Tip: The higher the better if you are a super light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XoverYtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown for your stay. I’m very happy to hear that you had such an excellent experience as our guest. As you mentioned, we do value the business of each and every one of our guests and treat them as if they were sitting in our very own living room.

Be sure to look for that Crowne Plaza commercial you saw being filmed at our hotel during this seasons PGA Tour and we’ll be looking for you on your next trip to the Orlando area! And for next time, in case you didn’t know we also run a complimentary shuttle back and forth to the Amway Arena as well as anywhere within 3 miles (4.83km) into downtown.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I must rave about the service provided by this fine hotel!! EVERY staff member was friendly, courteous and went out of their way to ensure that my stay was comfortable. Each person from the staff made eye contact, asked how I was, engaged in conversation etc. The complimentary shuttle service was a major bonus. The grounds were immaculate. The only thing that I could say that I was not happy about was the fact that there were no vegan/gluten free/dairy free options noted on the menu for the restaurant - HOWEVER - the Chef made awesome dishes for me once one of the fine servers notified him of my issues!

Just note - bring your ear plugs the train is a bit loud all night long on one side of the building - but from what I understand in about 10-12 months this will no longer be an issue since they are changing the train service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millersimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown for your stay here in Orlando. We know you have a quite a lot of choices when looking for a hotel and that is the reason we strive to provide the level of service that you experienced during your stay for each and every one of our guests.

Our kitchen does its best to provide as many options for all of our guest’s dietary needs as we can and our menu is always evolving to meet the ever changing wants and needs of our guests. Be sure to check out Bite Bistro again when you are here!

And yes, we are working on creating a lower level of noise in the rooms through various channels but in the mean time those ear plugs you mentions…we have them for free at the front desk for all of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again when you’re in Orlando.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This property is very nice and has an excellent staff that is extremely personable. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the great review and hope to see you again when you make another trip to Orlando!

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#110 of 339 in Orlando
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Address: 304 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32801-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): $126 - $249
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, the newest choice among downtown Orlando hotels. Located off I-4 in downtown Orlando, this address provides easy access to everything to see and do in Orlando. The urban, chic Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is walking distance to downtown's impressive entertainment venues such as Amway Center home of Orlando Magic, the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, 6 miles from Universal Studios, Sea World Orlando and 15 miles from Walt Disney World Theme Parks. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is 4 miles from Orlando Executive Airport (ORL), fabulous shopping, and a vast array of restaurants and nightclubs. We are only 13 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO) and 10 miles to the Orange County Convention Center, Daytona 500 is only 48 miles away, and we are only blocks from Camping World Stadium home of the Russell Athletic Bowl, AutoNation Cure Bowl, and the Florida Classic. Known as The Place to Meet, the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is a premier venue for meetings and groups, and is located close to industry leaders such as Sun Trust, Wells Fargo, HD Supply, Orange County Courthouse, FAMU Law School, and Orlando Regional Medical Center. We are proud to be a Green Lodging hotel and our dedicated team of professionals look forward to providing the ultimate in service. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing